We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but we won't be recommending it to friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #12 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but we won't be recommending it to friends”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our stay was filled with more negatives than positives. We are living in Asia for the 3rd time and cherish our quiet and relaxing time off. The four days we were at Puripunn where less than relaxing. The number one issue was our room (101). It was located on the ground floor next to the lobby. There were several Chinese families that brought their small children to a boutique hotel. There was nothing for children to do at this hotel and they ran around the lobby at all hours of the day & night screaming, crying and jumping on furniture in the lobby. We were awoken on our 1st morning at 8:00 a.m. to screaming children, this went on for 4 days. Room 101 is also next to the lobby staffs office. Every time the staff would get out of a chair and scrap it across the floor it is heard in the room, that happens 24/7. The pool is nothing special. The DVD player did not work, so the DVD we bought at the night market could not be played. The internet was spotty as best. If you need to do work or stay in contact with family overseas via internet it will be very frustrating. On our 3rd morning we ordered omelets, we were 2nd & 3rd in the que. After people who were behind us in the que were severed their eggs I questioned the staff. I was told, “well they only orded fried eggs”. When they finally brought my order, it was a mushroom & egg omelet not the cheese, tomato & pepper omelet I ordered. Both my husband & I had an aroma massage. The spa is nice and clean but the staff is not experienced. These were some of the worst massages we had ever had & there was no aroma. You can get a much better massage for ½ the price & double the time in the town of Chiang Mai. Don’t waste your money on the over expensive and mediocre spa at Puripunn. Lastly, the language skills of the staff was lacking. There were several occasions when it was clear we were not understood. We live in Asia and know to speak clearly and not too fast when communicating. Still we were not understood. I phoned to the lobby to say I could not find the hair dryer. They said they would bring one. A few minutes later a man shows up with an ironing board & iron. If you want to be able to walk out for your dinner, massage or to the night market area then don’t stay at Puripunn. You need to take a tuk-tuk to get to everything in the old city area or the night market.

The positives: the room was clean, the breakfast delicious, and the staff did try very hard to please. The grounds were nicely done.

I realize we may have picked a bad week to stay at Puripunn but I will not be recommending it to other expat friends who need to get away and relax with peace & quiet. The other guests with their bad manners and parenting skills made our stay less than relaxing.

Room Tip: Do not take room 101. You will here all the noise from the outdoor lobby, including children scream...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MamaCassExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AttVira, Owner at Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear MammaCassExpat,

Thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve you and your husband during your recent visit and sharing your comment through TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as good as you expected. Your comments are of our utmost concern and we would like to explain to you as follow.

Problem with other guests with small children: This issue is quite delicate, but we do understand your point. During the period of your stay, we were also concerned about this issue and we did inform the other guests who were with young children to take care of their children, especially with the noise issue. Anyhow, please accept our apology for any inconvenient that may cause, and please be ensured that we always do respect privacy of each guests, and we always try with our best effort to make all the guests’ stay a pleasant one.

Noise from our front office chairs: We already add extra scratching pads on every chairs at our front office to minimize the noise. We would like to apologize about this issue.

Internet access and In-Room DVD player: It’s our aim to provide Free and reliable high speed Wifi internet access for the guests to be able to use anywhere in the hotel. We had installed numbers of access points to ensure that every rooms and around the hotel be able to receive a good wifi signal. Anyhow, we will recheck once again if more access points might be needed to strengthen the wifi signal in some areas. Again, Regarding In-Room DVD player, we already recheck and our in-room DVD player is still work just fine. We assume that the DVD disc that you bought from night market might have a problem.

Spa: our spa therapists have been working with us for several years and always try their best to give their best skill and comfort to our guests. We are also using a high grade spa aroma products for our guests. Anyhow, we are sorry to hear that you were not happy with our spa services, and we will continue to find way to improve our spa services for our dear guests.

F&B ordering: Regarding this issue, we already recheck about this incident, we found that there might be a misunderstanding. When you already placed an order for your omelet, there was another guest asking our chef to reheat the precooked fried egg (after you already placed your order). As there was another stove available when our chef was cooking your omelet, the chef ask her chef helper to help her reheat the precooked fried egg so that they can finished up all orders faster. It may seem to you that we did not cook in a sequence of order, and when you asked the chef about this she tried to explain to you that it was another fried egg for the other guest. We are sorry that this may lead to your misunderstanding.

Our location: our hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood area within about 5 minutes walk to Ping river where some number of nice pubs and restaurants along side of Ping river of which our guests are always enjoy having the meals over there. Continue walking for 5-10 minutes, then you can reach the night market. We also offer free one-way drop off with our Tuk-Tuk to these areas as well as to the old city which should take about 10 minutes drive. Reaching to night bazaar and Ping river area, Puripunn is in a closer distance than those hotels base in the old city. Thus, it’s depend on the guests‘ preference whether they want to be closer to which area.

Dear MammaCassExpat, It is our goal to make all of our guests’ stay a special one and
we always listing and trying very hard to accomplish this goal. If we only knew your problems while you were with us, we will certainly try to do our best to rectify the problem as much as we can. We do understand that some guests may not feel comfortable to discuss their issues during their stay, on the other hand, we would like to encourage our dear guests to address any issue they might have whenever they need help especially while they are with us. Once again, please accept our sincere apology. I and Puripunn staffs do hope that we will be able to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Att Viravaidhya,
Owner/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    170
    36
    5
    4
See reviews for
158
467
68
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We wish we could live here.

This boutique hotel is wonderful. It is a bit of a challenge to decide what our favorite aspect of this hotel because there are too many to choose. It could be the evening's beautifully lit garden you first see as you enter the property through their gated entry, or the stroll through a quaint tropical garden as you are led to your room, or the 3rd story balcony room that faces the vista of mountains in the distance as you sip freshly brewed coffee in the early morning.

The rooms are fantastic. The beds are large and firm. The pillows are perfect for sleeping (as someone who travels for business, I do not take that for granted.)

This hotel also does all the little things, the touch points, that make you feel you are visiting a hospitable friend... the cool cloth and refreshing Thai iced tea upon arrival, complimentary breakfast, and the complimentary tuk tuk that will drop you off where ever you want to go.

Oh, and our favorite part... the people. Traditional Thai warm

This is a wonderful property and we will stay here again.

- Michael and Chenoa Lyons

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyBlueIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed in the Puripunn our last week of three weeks in Thailand. I was looking for a romantic hotel for a vacation after my husband finished a Thailand training, and this was a great choice. The details were lovely from the first drink in the lobby to the lovely outdoor or sheltered breakfast area with white temple lanterns and banners in the trees and a grand white Spirit House. One evening we had dinner in the upstairs room looking out at the greenery and over the pool and deck area while the rain rapped and pounded on the roof --such a lovely, peaceful experience. The staff supplies large umbrellas to get back to your room! The room itself, on the ground floor where we could step out to get to the pool a few yards away, was very restful with our own veranda and a huge walk in shower and tub.
The hotel arranged tours for us and the hotel tuk-tuk was given to us for an errand. Everyone was charming and attentive, with the owner living on premises.
This hotel is set back from main streets in a neighborhood and it is a bit bewildering the first time you go back into the maze. The neighborhood is calm, safe, and quiet, however, as was the hotel. Yet we were pretty close to the River House where we had a couple of very good lunches and to the Whole Earth which had wonderful food and ambiance. The night market is also close with many street food and small restaurant choices, and the hotel tuk-tuk will take you there if you sign up ahead. Most tuk-tuk or truck drivers are able to return you to the hotel with ease.
We would return to this hotel any time.

Room Tip: We liked being downstairs close to the pool where we did not have to traipse past a lot of people wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one half of my honeymoon and I have to say it was amazing. The staff were so so friendly and sweet. The rooms were beautiful and very oriental which I wanted. The breakfast in the morning is amazing, the food was just top-notch, the omelettes were to die for. the swimming pool was not the best but was nice to look out on from your room. The staff are great to organise things so do ask and make use of their contacts and knowledge. I cant really recommend this place enough. When we went on a day trip with a group of people they said our hotel looked the most beautiful which it is. It is very intimate and personal and when the fairy lights are lighted at night it looks amazing. This is definitely a 5 star for me all the way. It is also extremely clean and well kept

Room Tip: I know the more luxurious rooms are on the ground floor but I think the balcony rooms seem nicer wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollyava4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife, 24 year old daughter and I stayed at the Puripunn and would go back in a moment. It is a small and intimate place to stay. Beautiful property and a great staff that was friendly and attentive in all ways. When we had one very small issue that needed to be addressed, we were quite overwhelmed how the owner and staff handled it; they way over compensated to make things right. To me, that is what defines character and quality. Nothing goes right all of the time and how people/businesses respond when they don't is what elevates them above the rest of the pack and the folks at Puripunn certainly defined that standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

A really wonderful stay! The hotel was beautiful, relaxing and very clean. Just a short walk from shops and restaurants and the perfect place to relax after a day of activities. A really great value. I highly recommend staying at Puripunn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. It is in a quite area and is small so has a lovely tranquil atmosphere. It may seem far from the centre but it is very close to restaurants on the riverside and they provide a free shuttle service at certain times into the centre. Even then, it only took us 20 mins to walk there and when the heat was too much a tuk tuk cost less than 100 baht to take four of us back. The room was beautiful and every detail was cared for.
If you like a boutique hotel with character this is perfect. Loved our stay here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jl12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,020 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 386 in Chiang Mai
3,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,404 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 386 in Chiang Mai
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Property: Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Address: 104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, an intimate small luxury property with a total of 30 rooms is constructed in a contemporary Lanna- Oriental architectural style inspired by traditional homes found in Chiang Mai during colonial period. The hotel is situated in the midst of one of Chiang Mai's centuries-old communities where ancient Lanna treasures, cultural traditions and way of life have been well-preserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing