We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A quiet boutique hotel within walking distance of local attractions and evening shopping. The room was very nice and comfortable and the restaurant at the hotel served delicious food. The garden and pool are also lovely. Staff was all very friendly and helpful.

Highly recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megumi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    170
    35
    5
    4
See reviews for
156
464
67
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

"Woooowww" was our reaction when we stepped in the hotel compound.

We were a little doubtful when our taxi squeezed into the tight alley which led to the hotel but our doubts were quickly dismissed.

Nice lightings, guests drinking cocktails in the front yard, lush greenery, the sounds of water flowing & soft Thai traditional music greeted us. It was very calming.

The check-in was a breeze, with great service from the reception not only stopping their service at checking in & serving us our welcome drinks - but also providing us with a map, highlighting where we are, where the night market, old city and the restaurants at the river bank are, the wifi codes, and a slip with the hotel address written in Thai for us to show the tuk-tuks if needed (came in extremely handy).
The reception then walked us to our room & went through the amenities with us. Before she left she reminded us to keep the netted door closed in order not to let mosquitoes leak in.
Full marks for the personal touches.

On top of the usual found in hotel rooms, we loved that they also added a pair of flip flops in addition to the bedroom slippers. There was also a plate of welcome fruits prepared for us. Silk robes, aromatherapy shower gel, shampoo & body lotion were also provided. Hairdryer available. Note that there isn't an iron + ironing board but you can request for them to bring it to you. Tissue was also lacking, would've been helpful. TV (CRT) offers several English channels.
There are no elevators. Bed was firm, not fluffy.

My partner & I are rather pampered travellers and usually upgrade our rooms to a higher category for more space but in this particular instance, we went for the cheapest room being suckers for balconies (plus he has a fear for butterflies so 1st floor wasn't an option) and we were very thankful we did so! It was a pleasant surprise! Situated on the 3rd floor, we had a great view of the garden, the skies, the mountain & the buildings in the distance - Our room was right in the centre, facing the front door of the hotel. We also got to enjoy the cool breeze.
It was also a pleasant sight watching pigeons & squirrels hopping around on the roofs when we wake up in the morning.
Course, we can't have best of all worlds so we totally understand & accept that our bathroom was much smaller than the other room categories.

There are 2 x 3-storey accommodation buildings in this hotel, each consisting of 12 units or so - the guests staying on the left building have their staircase right at the lobby while guests staying in the centre building will have to walk past all the rooms on the ground level to get to their staircase. If you need privacy, you may not be able to get much of it on the ground floor unit.

It is a very short walk to the restaurants by the river & a 15 min stroll to the night market. There isn't much to do at night in Chiang Mai so we felt that we were very nicely situated - a good balance between the bustle & peace. Most of the time we made use of the free 'luxurious' hotel tuk tuk to travel to the night market/ restaurants by the riverside/ old city.

Don't be fooled by the breakfast - the breakfast spread looks short with salads, fruits, juice, pastries but the egg station makes wonderful eggs of your choice and that comes with sides of ham & sausages. Waffles with maple syrup are also available, machine was hidden by a cover so we didn't realize waffles were available til we spotted the equipment at our 2nd breakfast.

The gym has a decent range of equipment. Included pic.

The owner's house is right in front of the hotel & Att personally came to greet us to ensure we're being taken care of. To treat this place as our "home away from home" is his slogan.

It was my partner's birthday when we were there so the hotel also presented him with a nice present (photo frame) - great personal touch.

The shops on the main road are mainly hardware stores, selling pipes, paint etc. No shopping stores available for the shopaholics. A local eating house across the road. Simple necessities can be bought from the neighbour, a residence cum mini store, without having to travel far. There is also a KTV/ night club across the streets where girls will sit outside at night.

Now for the cons:
1. The drainage in the bathroom was rather bad, the tub took a long time to drain and our bathroom floor will still be wet the next day.
2. While we appreciate that the hotel chases pigeons away from the compound for obvious reasons - shooting them with an air gun in the view of guests is very disturbing. It was horrifying to watch the act and see feathers fly allover after the birds were shot - while having our breakfast. We're animal lovers & find this hard to accept.
3. Food & drinks from the restaurant/ room service are expensive. We could have a full meal of a few dishes outside for the price of one dish from the restaurant. We ordered room service & food was nicely presented, but tasted only so-so.
4. There was a blackout when we were there. The hotel has placed a torch by the bedside. Unsure if it's cause of the blackout or weak battery - our safe was open without having us to key in our code. The words "Yada" & "Good" appeared on the screen & the safe unlocked itself. This happened twice.

Other travel tips:
1. The transport arranged by the hotel was costly, so we contacted our taxi to drive us around instead (for half the price). Our driver, Mr. Pon, has a nice humble honest personality so if anyone needs transport for the day without prices costing an arm or a kidney - you can get Mr. Pon's contact at worldlannatour.com.
2. Chiang Mai tends to be more conservative, dressing wise, as compared to Bangkok or Phuket - so tourists are advised to dress decently as a form of respect especially when travelling to temples etc, shorts & skirts are not allowed on holy grounds.
3. Puripunn is pronounced as poo-ree-pun (the pun in pun intended), when we arrived we said poo-ree-poon/ purry-pun and nobody understood us.
4. The pick-up trucks are cheaper than tuk-tuks, there are different color trucks going different routes - though you will see the red trunk most often, being routed around the city. Costs around 20baht or so.

Overall we were bought over by the great Thai hospitality & the hotel's whole serene charming package so will definitely return + recommend this to others.

You know you've got a good hotel when you're sad to leave. We were :)

Room Tip: If you want privacy, go for rooms upstairs. If you want a larger bathroom, go for ground level rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peruvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I was coming off a long journey of varying quality of stays and really wanted to treat myself during my last night in Chiangmai. What a treat Puripunn was!! I am SO glad I picked this place and spent a little extra money here. The room and bed were so comfortable. I loved the extra touches of fruit, iced tea and goodies that welcomed me. The staff were very fluent in English which made arranging my airport transport a breeze. It was so peaceful and relaxing, I didn't want to leave! I even made use of the fitness center which was one of the nicer/newer ones I'd come across in SE Asia.

I think my only wish was that the breakfast could have been a little more authentic. There was tropical fruit and fried rice but other than that it was your standard Western buffet with pastries, cereal, eggs (custom made though!), waffles, meat, etc.

Khup khun ka, Puripunn!

Room Tip: Others complained a low floor was noisy but I didn't hear anyone moving above me and it was nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRA-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is a very nice boutique hotel that is just down one of the Chiang Mai sidestreets. It's beautiful and we had great service throughout our stay. The rooms themselves were very spacious and beautiful as well. The breakfast buffet in the morning was also great.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor, looking out to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

What a wonderful gem located in town. Paradise. Very friendly staff, great breakfast and lunch. We did not eat dinner but assume it would be just as good. My husband and I had the best Thai massage in all Thailand.
The only negative was the lack of wine choices by the glass. Overall a lovely quiet boutique hotel with great service. Nice rooms located around the pool,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

It is really a very nice hotel, small, but comfortable.
The room is very good and well decorated. I like the small things very much, the lights, everything is nice.
Also I would like to commend the good breakfast, it is so delicious.
If we have the chance to visit Chiangmai, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: The first floor is nice and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed in Chiang Mai in January, and loved this small hotel. It has great service and friendly staff, characterful rooms, and probably the best food we ate in our tour around Thailand, beautifully presented. The hotel has a small pool, and rooms set around a central garden area, and although just a few hundred yards from the Old town, is still very quiet. Heartily recommended.
.

Room Tip: Rooms have wooden floors, and noise travels easily, so try and get a room which is not adjoined on b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snappergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Property: Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Address: 104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, an intimate small luxury property with a total of 30 rooms is constructed in a contemporary Lanna- Oriental architectural style inspired by traditional homes found in Chiang Mai during colonial period. The hotel is situated in the midst of one of Chiang Mai's centuries-old communities where ancient Lanna treasures, cultural traditions and way of life have been well-preserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing