We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel tucked in among local Thai neighbourhood..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Private, small, quiet, built in traditional Thai style with friendly staff who were always more than happy to attend to our needs. Part of the appeal of staying here was the location, tucked away down a narrow lane way among the locals. It was quiet and very private, our room had a little porch at the front where we could sit or lie and relax, hardly aware of other guests around us. The room was perfect, very comfortable and very cool and very tastefully decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable and we loved the shower! Free transport into the markets throughout the day, otherwise just a short walk down the lane to the main road where a tuk tuk could be hailed very quickly to take you anywhere local. We were so pleased we didn't stay in one of the bigger hotels closer to the shopping areas. Easy to arrange for drivers to pick you up and the hotel staff will happily organise drivers and tours for you. Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2009

We arrived in Chiang Mai on a late evening flight, and got to the hotel at midnight.

We were a bit taken aback while the taxi was getting us to the hotel as it went into a by lane, and then were pleasantly surprised with the hotel tucked away peacefully, nestled in a largely residential area.

Next morning, our surprise was replaced with being glad for being where we were. It is located close enough to the nice parts of Chiang Mai and yet not in a busy, noisy section of the city.

As for the hotel, it speaks for itself ... very aesthetically designed, very nicely thought through and to me, it truly was an Oasis. We spent a lot of our time running around the city all day, but we REALLY looked forward to getting back to the hotel.

The staff was incredible ... Thai hospitality is famed, of course, but the staff at the hotel benchmarked it for us.

The breakfast was excellent and extremely fulfilling.

What can I say ... It was a perfect stay we enjoyed at the hotel, and I would strongly recommend it to anyone visiting Chiang Mai (totally beats staying at a branded hotel).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidlulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We arrived at the Puripunn at 8am after catching the night train from Bangkok and expected to leave our bags and come back closer to check in time. We were wonderfully suprised to be greeted with ice tea, a cool cloth and the opportunity to check in straight away. We were even happier to discover that we had been upgraded to a garden room. The room itself was gorgeous, with a wonderful day bed on the front patio. The room looked every bit as good as it had in the photos. We were extra happy to find there was a choice between ceiling fan and air-conditioning. The grounds were so peaceful that we started to wonder if we were the only guests there! We loved being in a residential neighbourhood - only 10 minutes walk to the night market and less to restaurants on the river bank (and a 7/11). We ordered lunch by the pool one day and the sweet and sour fish was so delicious I ordered it again before we left. The staff were incredibly helpful with everything we required from a tuk-tuk to town to an elephant adventure. We watched DVDs in our room in the evenings and spent many hours by the pool reading. The location was perfect, far enough to be peaceful but not so far that a walk couldn't get you into the thick of it all. My husband and I will definitely return to the Puripunn and have already raved about it to all our friends. The hotel was a delight, as was Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

"Baby Grand" nicely characterizes this beautiful and idyllic boutique hotel, hidden away in a very quiet soi, yet only a 5 minute walk to the river and all its attractions and a 15 minute walk to the main gate to the old city. I truly enjoyed the pampering luxury of the hotel and genuine kindness and hospitality of the staff and would certainly stay there again next time I am in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hojat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

This hotel is like something out of a movie. The courtyard and common areas are georgeous and the rooms are spectacular! It is a gem tucked away in a Chiang Mai neighborhood. We were there for New Year's Eve and they put on an incredible celebration event. Beautiful food, amazing Thai dancers, lantern release, I could go on and on. The service was impecable, very personal and attentive. The staff could not have been more helpful, professional and courteous. When I commented on the beautiful skirts the female staff wore, they offered to have one made for me. They took care of everything and delivered a lovely skirt to me in 2 days time for a very reasonable cost. This is a boutique type hotel,. The pool and pool area are small, but with the small number of total rooms, it was never crowded. In my opinion this hotel is well worth the price. Some taxi driver's were not familiar with the location, but we simply carried a small business card given to us at the front desk that had a small map on it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UCanGetThereFromHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

This hotel is a great example of one that looks perfect on the internet but holds a disappointing surprise when you get there. In this case, it is the location. Literally, it is tucked away down two alleyways and far from the places in town you want to be. It was really a disappointment for us in that we couldn't get out and walk anywhere. It was just too far of a walk and not a walk that we felt totally safe making. Safety concerns were primarily from the narrowness of the alleys and streets to walk on. They are made for one car and not for people.

They try to compensate for this by offering a free, hotel tuk tuk to the central part of Chiang Mai. The hotel itself is pretty nice. Not great, but nice. Only the rooms are air conditioned, so once you step out of them, you heat up quickly. The staff was very attentive. The rooms were very elegant and well maintained. To be honest, we felt bad for the staff and the owners of the hotel. They have a great thing going, they are just in an awful location.

If we had known about the location going into the trip, it would have made our stay less of a disappointment. It was just such a let down to realize we were stuck down some alleyways in our hotel. It took a couple of days to shake this frustration and accept it for what it was.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gone2TheBeachPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AttVira, owner at Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2009

It was such a great honor for having this group of guests with us during their trip to Chiang Mai. We are sorry to hear that the guests did not happy with our hotel location. We would like to take this opportunity to clarify about our location as well as telling why Puripunn has to be located in this area.

The location where Puripunn is located call “Wat Gate (or Wat Ket) community” where hundred something years ago it used to be an old pier next to Ping river (about 10-15 minute walk from the hotel, but it does not exist anymore). Please use key word “Wat Ket Chiang Mai” for searching more details about the history of this area. That’s during King Rama V period which was the period when our king opened the country. At that time, multi-nationalities had been entering to do commercial trading as well as spread their religious all over Siam (former name of Thailand). When boat was the main transportation, Wat Ket pier was historically a major hub of transportation and drop-off. People from many households in this area have been living like this for generations since there was no car up back then, the street has never been any wider until nowadays. We chose our hotel to be on this location because we want to naturally deliver the actual way of life of ordinary local experience to the guests of the country and the Puripunn . They have been living from generations to generations with a very strong faith in their community which has “Wat” (temple) as their center. We are proudly honor to be part of this typical charming community, and we never want them to change or asking them to. Our community may be not representing a touristic scenery or any picturesque. Our entrance may be a narrow lane, and tuck away from the main street. But in our opinion and many of our guests’ , it does deliver the sense of living in local Chiang Mai. We hope that every morning when the guests wake up, they can feel that they are in Chiang Mai and not somewhere else in the world. Of cause, we can not expect everyone to appreciate this in the positively same way. We do, however, respect the guests’ comments if they do not appreciate our intentional location purpose as this is purely depend on individual perception and experience.

Many of our guests prefer to walk rather than taking our Tuk-Tuk as they want to see how the local people live. On the other hand, for only 5 minutes walk from the hotel, there is the Nawarat Bridge, the main bridge, to either get across the Ping River or walk along side of Ping River where various nice pubs, riverfront restaurants, Chinese shop-houses, as well as unique silk shop, arts, typical noodle houses along the way. A bit further is the Wat Ket Temple where its local Community Museum is opened for free visit daily. Across the bang, taking the old walking bridge, they will get to see the Flower Market and Warorot Market which is a major local market for Chiang Mai people and many visitors who look for Local Produces & other traditional foods & souvenirs. Across Ping River, via Nawarat Bridge, it will lead to either Chang Klan road where the beginning of Night Bazaar is awaiting, or go straight directly to the Thapae Gate where the Chiang Mai old city holds its famous Sunday Market every week (this is a little long walk for another 15 minutes to get to the old city).

The places of visit and the Wat Ket area-the-around- Puripunn-sightseeing, mentioned here are partially what the coming travelers could expect to see when they are here in Chiang Mai, Northern Thai historical destination, since there will be much more throughout the city and extendedly up to mountain hills, outskirt where Royal Botanic , elephants camps, hill tribe villages, outdoor activities & other extreme centers, authentic offers plotted from areas to areas. We hope this information is helpful for anyone who interested to plan their visit to Chiang Mai.

Once again, we are indeed thankful for the opportunity for us to take chance introducing the other aspect of Chiang Mai & Wat Ket (Wat Gate) Area. We all at Puripunn do appreciate you time reading the management respond. We hope ones will find Chiang Mai, Thailand charming and looking forward to include this destination in their next trip.

All the best,

Att & Koy Viravaidhya, Owners of Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Slightly outside of the main section of the city the Puripunn offers a quiet respite from the hustle of central Chiang Mai. Beautiful darkwood rooms and nouveau-antique accents offer a warmth and comfort that is often lost with larger hotels. Free tuk tuk service to the nightmarket and am impressively polite staff make this hotel a must stay for those looking to have an upscale stay in the heart of Northern Thailand.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#22 of 402 in Chiang Mai
2,122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 402 in Chiang Mai
3,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
0.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#15 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Address: 104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £107 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, an intimate small luxury property with a total of 30 rooms is constructed in a contemporary Lanna- Oriental architectural style inspired by traditional homes found in Chiang Mai during colonial period. The hotel is situated in the midst of one of Chiang Mai's centuries-old communities where ancient Lanna treasures, cultural traditions and way of life have been well-preserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing