We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sisters are doing it for themselves”
Review of The 3 Sis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The 3 Sis
Ranked #17 of 835 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2008

3 Sis is a wonderful boutique hotel. The rooms are very smart and comfortable and the owners are charming and thoughtful; definitely the warmest welcome I've ever had in a hotel. During our few days there, every suggestion they made, from restaurants to a cookery course, was spot on. We had a memorable visit and shall return I hope. A calming oasis in the heart of the old Chiang mai.

Charlie
Melbourne

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chigster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2008

We stayed at 3 Sis for 4 nights in September 2008. When we arrived we had come from Bangkok, so this place was great…away from the craziness, it was like a little oasis in Chiang Mai. Originally we had booked a room in the old section of the hotel, however on inspection decided to go with a room in the new area of the hotel (nothing wrong with the old rooms, but the price difference wasn’t that much, and the new rooms are a lot nicer).

The room was tastefully decorated, bed comfortable and the air con great. The only small thing I would note is that the shower pressure could be a little better, however was not a big deal.

The staff at 3 Sis are wonderful. They recommend great tours, and booked them for us. One morning we were meant to get picked up at 8am, and at 8 on the dot, without any prompting from us the lady at reception rang the tour to ask where they were, and then provided us with an update – now that is service!!! The staff also recommended some great places to eat, provided directions, and called taxis when needed.

3 Sis has 2 computers available with free internet. Internet is fast, and didn’t have to wait to use a computer.

The café at 3 Sis provides a number of options for breakfast (included in the price of our room), each were great. Again, the staff here were fabulous, and the espresso coffee was amazing!!!

All and all, I would recommend 3 Sis to anyone visiting Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank waikatogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Went to stay based on Trip Advisor recommendation. Pleasant lovely room, could've earned more stars from me if not because a gentleman who is in-charge as a receptionist yelled at us because we missed the NO SHOES sign in while entering their lobby. He could say it nice and politely and we shouldn't be so shocked.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank peacebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3sisbedandbreakfast, general manager at The 3 Sis, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2008

Dear peacebird,

First of all, thank you so much for your comment. We appologize being rude. The male receptionist who worked for us last year (in May 2007, when you stayed) is no longer with 3Sis. However, it could have been because he took too much caution during the rainny season. So, he over-reacted when you didn't know you had to take off your shoes. Please do not mind him.

In any case, I have already emphasized to all the current receptionists to talk to the guest nicely and be helpful to them.

The no shoes policy applies to the B&B house. You can wear shoes in the lobby, which is now in the open area under the vacation lodge building.

Yours Sincerely,
Pop Manachotipong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

What a wonderful surprise. Located in the old city of Chiang Mai right across the street from one of the main temples! My room was simple but lovely, the staff was gracious and so helpful. They helped me book everything from cooking school to a trip Laos. A very quite setting with an open air common place decorated with plush lounging chairs covered in beautiful, colorful thai silk. I loved to sit and read by the water garden & fountians. The resturant has simple but well prepared breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very reasonable prices. My stay could not have been better. Thank you 3 Sis staff!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ronda12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

The new addition to this B&B, the 3 Sis Vacation Lodge is absolutely wonderful. I stayed here for a long weekend while recovering from an illness that required a few nights in Chiang Mai's hospital. My illness very nearly ruined our vacation, but once I left the hospital and checked into this Lodge I was in absolute bliss! Since I couldn't do much of anything, I spend a lot of time in the hotel and in my room - which isn't so bad when it's brand new, spotless, and gorgeously comfortable and scenic. Truly can't say enough good about this place. The staff are all very friendly as well. One major plus is the full cafe / restaurant located downstairs. While the menu is a little limited, the ability to get a real latte or espresso cannot be overlooked in a country where instant coffee rules! Also, the bathroom in the room was really luxurious, another rarity. I've since sent a few groups of friends/family here and they've all had the same reaction. One more plus is the location - right in the center of everything (although one night there was a festival going on late into the night and the noise traveled to our room - but that can be expected when you're in the center of town)

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadiana2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

First and foremost, the response from this hotel, specifically Pop, was great. We booked our reservation at the Vacation Lodge directly with her via email and she answered all of my questions – rates, cost of a taxi to the hotel (flat 120THB), etc. We arrived on a Sunday, which is during the Sunday Market, so access directly in front of the hotel was blocked off and our taxi driver dropped us off about ½ block from the hotel (120THB from the airport), which was no big deal. The Sunday market is nice – much nicer than any of the other markets we’ve been to in Thailand - lots of handmade crafts, and is on the same street as the hotel, which makes browsing the market super convenient. If you want to be near the (every) night market (knock off shoes, bags, glasses, etc), it’ll cost you about 40THB for a tuk-tuk (with some haggling) or you can walk about 20 minutes. We did both.

The lobby is quite nice – open air with plenty of places to relax.

The room, #209, is a nice size with a king bed, safe, and a view of the trees and rooftops. The AC is strong, hot water works well. Soap, shampoo, conditioner, and q-tips are provided. There is also wireless internet in the rooms and PCs in the lobby to use.

The reception staff was very, very helpful and was happy to book our trip to the elephant sanctuary for us. We also rented bikes for the day for 50THB a piece which was a great way to get around the city if you’re up for a bit of an adventure. They were also delightful when I asked them my usual barrage of questions about the local area – what to do, where to go, etc. The staff is invaluable to me when traveling, so major points are won for me here.

Breakfast was included and we had a choice of 5 menu items. Eggs, French toast, pancakes, cornflakes, or a fresh salad. We had the eggs and the pancakes – both of which hit the spot.

For approximately $50USD/night, you can’t beat this place. If I were to fault it for anything – and this is being really, really, really (annoyingly) picky, I’d say that the bathroom lighting was a bit dim if you wear make-up, which, you can’t because it’s so hot it’ll slide off your face. Also, due to the slope of the shower tiles, it drains a tiny bit slow. That being said, I’d stay there again in a heartbeat and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ginauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

3 Sis is superbly clean and tidy--a wonderful place to stay at a very reasonable price (we stayed in the new vacation lodge) Lobby is very comfortable with a garden view, free internet access in the lobby, and reference books to use for free.

It is right across from a main temple which means it is easy for taxi's and tuk tuk drivers to find it, and within walking distance of many restaurants and sights in the old city.

The room was very quiet and the bed comfortable. The people at the front desk were relatively helpful considering it is not a concierge service.

Overall a very pleasant experience, and a great price :)

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lauragp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#53 of 402 in Chiang Mai
977 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#31 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,023 reviews
0.5 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#32 of 402 in Chiang Mai
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#10 of 402 in Chiang Mai
589 reviews
0.6 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#3 of 835 in Chiang Mai
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 3 Sis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 3 Sis

Address: 1/3 Soi 8 Phrapokklao Rd | T. Phrasing, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 835 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £36 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The 3 Sis 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Chiang Mai, our friendly family-run guesthouse offers you a great place to relax and enjoy your vacation. We are perfectly situated within a short stroll of Chiang Mai's most renowned temples and attractions, including the Chiang Mai's "must see" Sunday night market. All rooms are equipped to ensure a soothing and pleasant stay, with private bathroom, mini-fridge, drinking water,water kettle, air conditioning, TV and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The 3 Sis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Sis Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing