We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money and quite quaint”
Review of Parami Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parami Guesthouse
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Very nice guest house, bit noisy from the main road and if you have a ground floor room it can also be noisy from the upstairs rooms, wooden floors, the management are very nice, staff very nice. Lovely setting - steppy-stones throuh fish pond to rooms. Lovely back garden with hammocks. Lovely little cat called Shorttail who had an accident and who lost his brother recently.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with air com - downstairs rooms fans.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Parami Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

I spent three nights at Parami around Christmas time in December 2012 and I had an excellent stay. Previously I had stayed at a new fancy hotel (mainly for backpackers) in the heart of the city but Parami gave me a good impression as soon as I was welcomed by the owner.

The owner, his wife and his staff are very friendly and helpful. Their breakfast in the morning is very good. The bedrooms are good too, clean and comfortable enough to have a pleasant stay in Chiang Mai.

Roger is very helpful in providing tour advice and make bookings. He rented a motorbike for me at a cheap price. The guest house also has a small massage and beauty centre next to it, but men and women can enjoy a traditional Thai massage.

The guest house is about 15 min away from the city centre, but the walk is enjoyable, and it feels so good to be out of the city when you want to have a quiet night!

Overall, I had a pleasant stay and would recommend anyone to go there! I'd definitely go back to this guest house should I visit Chiang Mai again as a solo traveller!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpbar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed in Parami guesthouse in late January and would highly recommend it to others.
The guesthouse has a garden setting with little stone slabs in a fish pond that you cross to get to rooms. Fantastic decor and very peaceful. The first room we stayed in was a fan only, which was small and basic, bathroom could do with a slight touch up as there were holes in the wall which mosquitoes tended to be able to get through during the night. Never bothered us as we just kept the bathroom door closed. Walls are also quite thin, unfortunately someone staying in the room next to us sounded very ill and we heard the whole ordeal. Fortunately Parami is located out of the old town and seems to cater towards quieter guests rather than the 'I remember my first beer' kind of guests. Our last night we stayed in an air con room which was very nice. Large and great bathroom.
Roger(the owner) was very helpful throughout and we booked our onward journey to Laos on the slow boat, as well as a 1 day trek with him. Make sure you try the banana pancakes for breakfast they are fantastic.
Parami is located around a 25 minute walk from the old city along a very scenic route. If you are planning to spend a lot of time there then the location of this guesthouse is not ideal. There are some great restaurants on the waterfront just down the road though.
Would highly recommend Parami guesthouse.

Room Tip: Go for air con rooms as they are much better than fan rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fieldy618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Contacted via email, the owner was very friendly and offered advice before we arrived in Thailand.
Booked for one night and booked 2 day 1 night jungle trek. They normally do not accept one night bookings unless you book a trip with them.
We stayed one night after the trek too as was a very nice place. Very good location, clean rooms.
Good massage parlour next door with discount when booking treks

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 959markd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by the extremely friendly owner. He showed us all the places and restaurants in Chiang mai and advised us over the different trekking tours. The tour we booked turned out to be great. Very good service.

However when the owner is not around, this guesthouse loses its key strength as the other staff members do not speak English very well which makes it harder to communicate.

Breakfast is not included, but can be bought against a reasonable price. The pancakes and muesli were delicious.

The rooms are a bit noisy as the walls are thin.

The location can be problematic if you don't like walking. The night bazaar is close by, but to the city centre you really need a tuktuk.

Overall parami is a great place if you don't mind walking a bit.

Tip: Just across the river is a food market (warrot market) with great cheap food (sushi,rice etc.).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManonChiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed for two nights and loved it!. To get the best out of the hostel, you have to ask the right questions. For any help, just ask away and you shall receive reasonable answers.

Pros:
- Roger (owner) was extremely helpful and friendly in suggesting the right tour packages that interest you for the best price. Examples: He called more than 3 different tours to try to book an elephant/water rafting tour the morning of. He even held onto our abandoned CDs of photos from the tour and uploaded them to Dropbox for us after we had left.
- Beautiful walk-able pond in the center of the hostel
- Walk-able proximity to Chiang Mai downtown (roughly 15-20 mins to the Night Bazaar
- Provide soap bar and towel
- Option to check out mid-day and pay half-day price (5 PM instead of 11 AM)
- Breakfast served in the morning (at your own expense, $50-60 Bt/omellette)
- Massage Parlor also attached to the hostel (for cheap daily thai massages = $200 BT/hr)
- Free computer/internet

Cons:
- No 24/7 check-in service
- Was not informed about after hours front gate lock-out (the key to the pad lock was already given, but we did not know we had it because we were not told)
- Bathrooms were okay (not the fanciest, but hot water) and bed was just comfortable to sleep. (But when you're having so much fun, it doesn't matter that much)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This place is owned by a Swiss/Thai couple, and they really do go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. Roger did a great job of getting us on a train to Bangkok when everything was fully booked!
The hotel is located a little further out than most, on the opposite side of the river. It's only around a 10-15 minute walk to get into town (though some of the local roads an be a little hairy - no pavements!)
The rooms are large and well lit, with a wardrobe, a small table and air con. The ensuite bathroom is also fairly large, and the water in the shower always piping hot.
Downstairs is both an indoor and outdoor seating area - very well laid out.
Beer and soft drinks are served in reception on a "trust" system - you take what you want, write it down and this is added to the bill. Very useful if you want something quickly!
Excursions and onward travel tickets can be purchased from reception and added to the bill (and there is a lot of excursions to do in Chiang Mai)
Wifi is fairly reliable and reasonably fast. It's available throughout the hotel. There is also a computer downstairs for everyone to use.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheIntrepidExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Artists Ping Silhouette
0.3 mi away
sala lanna Chiang Mai
sala lanna Chiang Mai
#68 of 388 in Chiang Mai
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#24 of 388 in Chiang Mai
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bedtini Guesthouse
Bedtini Guesthouse
#150 of 888 in Chiang Mai
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan SongJum Wat Ket
Baan SongJum Wat Ket
#223 of 777 in Chiang Mai
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
YOLO Chic House
YOLO Chic House
#210 of 777 in Chiang Mai
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parami Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parami Guesthouse

Address: 210 - 212 Charoenrat Rd, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 888 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £7 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parami is a small cosy family run BUDGET Guesthouse in Chiang Mai.We offer Treks, Tours & cooking courses etc. We also have our own Massage & Nail studio where you can pamper your self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Parami Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parami Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing