We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget & Boutique. Not quite both.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort
Ranked #251 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 26 February 2013

First off, Lets qualify that the Ayatana Hamlet & Spa should be rebranded as Ayatana Hamlet. As they no longer have a Spa available for guests. Brochures for other SPA's are available at the front desk.

I'm not sure of the other reviewers, but I found the staff to be polite, courteous and welcoming. Checking in and out was a breeze and WIFI was provided for free of charge but, that is where the positives stop.

Although the rooms are of reasonable size (booked into the deluxe), the bed was harder than a rock (good for some, not for me), the TV was the old style (considering the cost of flat screen TV's these days there should be no reason for that), didn't see any pool cleaners so decided to swim somewhere else. Location is out of the way, so ensure you have transportation organised. Called a taxi through the hotel, and paid way too much. The gym had 3 pieces of equipment, treadmill, ab crunch and stationary bike so don't expect to much from that.

Given the above, i didn't chance on ordering food, so that didn't factor in my overall rating.

The quality of the room finishes were below average, everything seemed to be not-quite right. Overhead shower head didn't work and there were ants in the bathroom. Water had a tinge of brown through it. Loads of merchandise could be brought from the room, kinda overdid it in my opinion.

In summation, with a pool that doesn't invite, a SPA that doesn't exist and rooms that don't compensate for the lack of amenities and out of the way location, I wont be coming back anytime soon. But I wouldn't go so far to say, stay away at all costs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arcm1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We have used this hotel for years but it has been taken over by the B2 group, this take over has resulted in a degradation of services and quality.
They used to provide a complimentary bus service into town but this has been stopped so there is no benefits staying here. The minibar drinks have doubled in price.
Staff have all been changed in the takeover and rarely acknowledge your presence, as with previous reviews they are hard to find when you need something.
We will not be using this hotel or a B2 hotel until normal service is resumed

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a week from late July - early August. The place looks beautiful, but is not the best value. The room, while lovely, was infested with ants and other insects. When i asked staff anout this i was simply asked to purchase some repellant. The spa was closed when I was there (for maintenance I think) so may be open again now. The restaurant seemed to open when it felt like it, and was a bit overpriced. It's not bad, but at the time I had friends staying in backpackers for about one tenth of the price, in more comfortable conditions.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The place is actually quite nice in terms of design, amenities and of reasonable size. It is surprising to find such a place in this neighborhood (this is the university area, with no special features).
However, the hotel needs better maintenance, mostly around the pool: the deck needs to be totally replaced. Electrical installation around the pool is also scary (but this seems a trademark of Thai buildings) and trees were showering fruits on the reclining chairs (a light fabric roof would prevent this easily).
Some review mention the pool temperature. It was cool but not cold, ok for use (this is winter). Anyway I have never stayed at any reasonable place in Thailand with heated pool..
As mentioned by others, you will need transportation as soon as you pass the door out. Your own or arranged taxi: nothing of particular interest at walking distance.
Despite the above, I would recommend this place for the rooms (nice) and global quietness/layout. (Only noisy disturbance came from careless guests but you find them anywhere)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kermit54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed here in November 2012. It was part of our honeymoon package, stayed in Chiang Mai for 3 days. The hotel looks very peaceful, with all the tropical trees and its quietness. When I stayed there it seemed like there was barely anyone there. The pool water was cold and no one was ever around to clean it. The room was pretty good size, with comfy bed. The bathroom was very nice and clean, had a old rustic decor to it. The shower window/door could open up all the way so its like your taking a shower outside. The hotel is a bit far away from the city and tourist area. Its about 20 min drive by tuk tuk. The hotel restaurant was probably the worst part, we had breakfast included and there was not much to choose from. It seemed like they always got our eggs order wrong and the coffee was so so. Overall nice hotel but service was just ok.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Such a shame that the management of this hotel is so poor. Not lot of staff to be seen except housekeeping who sometimes did not get around to cleaning the rooms until late afternoon.
The service at the pool was non existent and the pool needs a make over and the water was very cold. Had one lunch which was very good Thai food. Breakfast was basic but was not bad. Coffee machine was useless. The plus for me was the peace and quiet of the location. Although it's away from the city centre, with good management this could be a very nice hotel. We got a good deal on the price which made up for all the minuses!
AOB 13

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AOB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This hotel is a strange one! Plus points 1) Its cheap 2) food good but poorly advertised 3) very quiet and nicely laid out. 4) Mini bar prices cheaper than hotel drinks list. Negative points 1) service atrocious 2) poor location for Chang Mai centre 3) Pool cold. 4) Coffee machine at breakfast a daily battle! With a few modifications this could be a winner but it must be one of the poorest managed hotels I've ever experienced. The biggest team is housekeeping who spend most of the time hiding or at lunch. There is absolutely no pool service. Use the mini bar which unusually for a hotel is cheaper than the main hotel drinks listing. I am afraid I will not be paying a return visist.

Room Tip: Upstairs is lighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark1966Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
15.9 mi away
Kaomai Lanna Resort
Kaomai Lanna Resort
#127 of 395 in Chiang Mai
80 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lanna Palace 2004 Hotel
Lanna Palace 2004 Hotel
#295 of 395 in Chiang Mai
159 reviews
2.8 mi away
Karinthip Village
Karinthip Village
#205 of 395 in Chiang Mai
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yantarasiri Resort
Yantarasiri Resort
#190 of 395 in Chiang Mai
334 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
#80 of 395 in Chiang Mai
302 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Chaya Resort & Spa Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort

Address: 99/9 Moo 14 Suthep Road | Suthep, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £58 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience your six senses in the land of Ayatana. Ayatana Hamlet and Spa, Chiang Mai, is a small, friendly and comfortable hotel designed and decorated in the northern Lanna style. AS you walk in from the city to this little hideaway, a welcome smile awaits you and willing hands attend to your every need throughout your stay. Whether relaxing by the pool, enjoying a good meal or simply spending quiet time in your artistically designed room, you are guaranteed a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ayatana Hamlet And Spa, Chiang Mai
Ayatana Hamlet Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing