We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing like advertised. Outrageous Management” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort
Ranked #284 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing like advertised. Outrageous Management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We arrived at the B2 Ayatana to find there was an incontrollable problem with mosquitos. We were told to keep the room door closed to stop them coming in however there were huge gaps in the door resulting in mosquitos still being able to enter the room. In addition to this the room was not at all like advertised or photographed. The tiles in the pool were falling off and chipped. They were also covered in algae. We explained to hotel staff that it was not as advertised and they rang the manager who offered us an upgrade. The only difference in comparison with the other room was the provision of a mosquito net. When carrying our bags into the room we found a cockroach in the bathroom and a huge flying ant in the bedroom. We called the receptionist and she screamed and ran out of the room leaving the other receptionist to swat the flying ant with a newspaper. The staff informed us that it was due to poor cleaning by housekeeping. We decided to check out of the hotel, our policy from booking.com stated that we would only have to pay for one night’s stay at the hotel not the 10 nights we had booked; this was also discussed and agreed with the manager of the hotel. We were outraged to later discover that the hotel had taken more than the full amount of the booking from our account. B2 Ayatana had told Booking.com that we wanted to pay the full amount of the booking regardless of the policy; they then refused to refund the booking. Booking.com had to refund the payment on behalf of the B2 Ayatana. There was also no spa or bus shuttle into town!!

Room Tip: Do not come here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omi1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    73
    29
    20
    15
See reviews for
42
96
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is a great quiet place on the edge of the city.

The staff was great and helpful. The rooms were quite nice and clean. The pool was fantastic! Great place if you need peace and quiet.

We paid a little more to have breakfast included which was very good. Not a large variety but good.

Since the location was farther out, some of the sungtows (taxis) wouldn't take us there or just charged us 200 baht flat. But it was no problem. We had to walk down the main road to go catch a taxi to get into town but we asked the receptionist to call one for us on occasion with no problem.

If you walk down the road there is also a 7-11 and ATMs there. On the main road there are restaurants and plenty of food. There was also a spa and a fitness center at the property but we didn't use them.

It's a great value and very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We came to Chiang Mai for a weekend and wanted a quiet place with a bit of character to stay at. It is true the place is out of the way, so you will be catching a taxi from the main road into town, but if like us you are doing some trekking, it really isn't an issue as at least our tour guide knew where the hotel was and came to pick us up at the door no problem. I personally liked how there are small benches outside the room where you can relax with a view over the inner courtyard without having to go to the pool. Oh, and it seems the bar by the pool is open every evening, but we never had any noise problems.

The rooms are decent size, clean and the bed has a mosquito net over it. Unfortunately I can't judge the spa facilities or the food (I did see a poster for the restaurant just passed the reception) as we were out of the hotel early every morning.

Room Tip: The reception has a decent DVD collection if you cannot be bothered to go out :) I unexpectedly n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indrylia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Checked in and immediately checked out. Booked a luxury room for 2119 baht a night. Luxury it was not. Dangerous, unkept misrepresented. Room had one power point and it was dislodged from the wall. Booked room with balcony, it was 1.5 ft wide, so no relaxing with a morning coffee. Paint peeling off the walls, no fly screen despite the high mosquito count. Tiles chipped and dislodging from the pool. Tiniest bar fridge, old CRT tv, wifi very poor. Couldn't dial out from room as there was no directory, had to just keep pushing random digits til someone picked up. No where private to sit outside room, uncomfortable seats in side, bed had huge base board that stuck out so far and low you couldn't comfortably sit on the edge of bed. As this was supposed to be the luxury week of our 3 week trip I was very angry. Our other hotel thankfully came to our rescue and gave us a room and picked us up from this dump in 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gandalf1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colmar, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel overall was nice and the room very clean, we found it corresponded the price very good. We only paied 30€ per night for Deluxe room.

However, the hotels location was terrible and there was no transfer organized. Neither taxi nor tuktuk drivers knew where the hotel was and it was painful to find one who would take us back there especially in the night. Those who knew asked directly very high prices.So it took as quite a while to convince them.

Hotel staff was trying to be nice but they all barely spoke any english. So we could not even order a drink at the swimming pool without a translator for which we also had to wait another 10 mins.
Breakfast was very poor and there were bugs running all around buffet and bread, so I could not even approach that table, however the staff didnt seem to care that much about that problem. Ofter I told them ß they just smiled and said ok (well,as I said they didnt speak any english at all).

Swimming pool would have been very nice if not that dirty. However, we were swimming there everyday, beause we could have never thought that its color was the color of dirt.. We discovered it only on the very last day, when we saw a guy cleaning it (probably for the first time) and how the swimming pool were slowly changing its color. That was very painful to see....

Overall, the hotel was quiet and nice to chill out in the evening (if you mange to get there). For those looking for quietness and relaxation it could be nice place to stay but there is really a dead village around without even a single bar or restorant....

Room Tip: rooms next to the lobby have better inernet access
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank didichamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We found this hotel on the web, it looked lovely and offered a spa, fine food and a free shuttle bus into town. Reviews on TripAdvisor were good so we booked for four nights. The hotel is a long way from the main town and not near any bars or eating places. It appears that the hotel has changed hands recently and some web sites still show it as before the change. I think now it should be under 'B2'. On arrival it looked lovely, in a peaceful setting, wooden buildings around a pool with only 36 rooms. On closer inspection it soon became apparent that it had seen better days. It was all rather shabby and run down. The water in the pool looked cloudy, there were broken tiles and green slime on the side of the pool. The wooden decking around the pool and seating area was in a very poor state, broken and loose boards. When we asked where the spa was we were told that it had been closed. We asked about the shuttle bus and were told that there wasn't one any more. We decided to eat in the hotel not having much choice. The food that we were served was very poor, mostly bell peppers and some very hard vegetables. I don't know what part of the chicken we had but it was stringy and tough. We love Thai food and are happy to eat from street sellers but what we were served wasn't a patch on anything else we have eaten. On returning to our room we decided that we couldn't stay for four days so went on the Internet and found a new hotel. In the morning after a poor breakfast we went and checked out. Just as we were leaving the receptionist stopped us and said that we had to pay for two bottles of water. We were allowed two free bottles a day from the room, we took what seemed to be the cheaper one, the other being in glass bottles, we were told the the glass ones were the free ones. Bearing in mind that we had paid for four nights B&B with eight free bottles of water, spent money on dinner and drinks, only had one breakfast and then to get charged for two bottles of water you get a good idea of their customer relations.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

First off, Lets qualify that the Ayatana Hamlet & Spa should be rebranded as Ayatana Hamlet. As they no longer have a Spa available for guests. Brochures for other SPA's are available at the front desk.

I'm not sure of the other reviewers, but I found the staff to be polite, courteous and welcoming. Checking in and out was a breeze and WIFI was provided for free of charge but, that is where the positives stop.

Although the rooms are of reasonable size (booked into the deluxe), the bed was harder than a rock (good for some, not for me), the TV was the old style (considering the cost of flat screen TV's these days there should be no reason for that), didn't see any pool cleaners so decided to swim somewhere else. Location is out of the way, so ensure you have transportation organised. Called a taxi through the hotel, and paid way too much. The gym had 3 pieces of equipment, treadmill, ab crunch and stationary bike so don't expect to much from that.

Given the above, i didn't chance on ordering food, so that didn't factor in my overall rating.

The quality of the room finishes were below average, everything seemed to be not-quite right. Overhead shower head didn't work and there were ants in the bathroom. Water had a tinge of brown through it. Loads of merchandise could be brought from the room, kinda overdid it in my opinion.

In summation, with a pool that doesn't invite, a SPA that doesn't exist and rooms that don't compensate for the lack of amenities and out of the way location, I wont be coming back anytime soon. But I wouldn't go so far to say, stay away at all costs.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arcm1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
16.2 mi away
Kaomai Lanna Resort
Kaomai Lanna Resort
#165 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
4.7 mi away
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
#88 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
#121 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.3 mi away
Royal Shilton Resort
Royal Shilton Resort
#169 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort

Property: B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort
Address: 99/9 Moo 14 Suthep Road | Suthep, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience your six senses in the land of Ayatana. Ayatana Hamlet and Spa, Chiang Mai, is a small, friendly and comfortable hotel designed and decorated in the northern Lanna style. AS you walk in from the city to this little hideaway, a welcome smile awaits you and willing hands attend to your every need throughout your stay. Whether relaxing by the pool, enjoying a good meal or simply spending quiet time in your artistically designed room, you are guaranteed a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ayatana Hamlet And Spa, Chiang Mai
Ayatana Hamlet Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing