We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest house with a familial touch”
Review of Tri Gong Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tri Gong Residence
Ranked #134 of 732 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Guest house with a familial touch”
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

We booked a room for three for 2 nights and have previously stayed there four years ago. The recent stay proved that Tri gong's standards are still as great as ever. We were greeted by Mr Adam by name the moment our song thiaw reached the guest house, and it felt as though a family member was welcoming us home. The lobby, where the reception is, is also another gathering point for guests as well as the family who runs the place.

The room was excellent: it was very clean and neat; water heater, lights and all electrical appliances were functioning well and more importantly, we knew that we were located in a secure place. The guest house has a security system which requires guest to tap their room card before they can gain access to the premise. Mr Adam and his friendly team are always at the lobby, and were there to address any queries we had.

The guest house's location is ideal. It is within the moat and is in close proximity to the many temples in the city and the Sunday market. We found ourselves walking back to our room to cool down in between our walks as we could easily get to our guest house and our room provided a great respite from the heat.

Price is also very affordable and good value for money -- 850 baht for the standard room with an additional bed. No breakfast included but we were perfectly fine with that because there are many eateries around the guest house, encouraging us to explore the area. For that price, we were comfortably housed and felt right at home, on top of having TV with many channels, fridge stocked with bottles of water for our consumption and clean towels for our use, in our room. The experience is better than a 3-star hotel which we stayed in Chinatown, Bangkok, and which cost us double the price!

The bonus was the free wifi provided which allowed us to connect to home. The best part of the stay -- we always felt welcomed by Tri gong.

We would definitely return for another -- and hopefully longer -- stay in our next trip to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    64
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
92
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The hotel is in the old city center, quiet at night. Room is clean, include everything necessary(shower, tv, air-condition, free wifi, free water, icebox). Everyone in the hotel is very kind. Maybe the hotel doesn't have the most beautiful and luxurious room, but you can have a home feeling in the hotel. Any problem you can ask the manager family for help, they are really very kind. I borrowed a bike from them, and drove aroud the city at night and they gave me some suggestion about how to get a car to other places...
There are two cute dogs in the hotel, very very cute, I like these tow dogs:)

Room Tip: Maybe second floor is better, for a good light view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Situated in NE corner of the old city it is very easy to find when coming by car. Free parking. Very friendly and informative hosts. Reception area with 2 computers for your convenience, free coffee and tea, tourist info, books and newspapers, tv and dvd. The rooms are of a reasonable size with good matrasses (very important for me), free wi-fi, fridge w/free water, bathroom. There is no restaurant, but an outside courtyard with a nice shady recreational area. There is a kitchen, which I believe is communal. I always use this place when in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jensjorgen1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed a week in a standard room. Convenient location, close to just about everything you may need - laundry, lots of good food options nearby etc and plenty of temples and markets within walking distance. Having spent a few months in SE Asia this place provided the cleanest bathroom in this price range. Helpful host too, had a air-con problem and someone was brought in to fix it super quick, was even supplied a fan in the interim. Place was fairly quiet at night too. Internet available and plenty of free water. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APW_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights, and after that back to another 2 nights. family guesthouse, very warm and helpful staff. the rooms are simple but had all that you need - fridge, hot water, ac, drinking water, shampoo and soap. Very clean and quite. The bed was very comfortable!!! You can make for you a free tea or coffee at the lobby, and also they have a kitchen with all that you need if you wanna cook for you. Perfect location - inside the old city, close to many restraunts and thai massage places. Great value for the money, very recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NahumR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Again we found our friends with open arms. A wonderful place in a great location, to catch a cold beer or eat out near by. I can not recommend this place any more. Prices good, a family that take great care of you. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skycop15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Very good location and very friendly staff. It's not the cheapest but it's not expensive either. It was safe, clean and friendly. I stayed in some "flashpacker" accom and other guest houses on the same trip but this Tri Gong was the best for the price. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alca_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#164 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#27 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manee Guest House
Manee Guest House
#102 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#74 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#18 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#37 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tri Gong Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tri Gong Residence

Property: Tri Gong Residence
Address: 8 Lane (Soi) 1, Sribhum Rd | Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tri Gong Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tri Gong Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tri Gong Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing