We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
bansf
Los Angeles, California

Clean, Comfortable and Welcoming

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Nov 2012
We were met by Adam, our host and the proprietor of Trigong Residence in Chiang Mai. He immediately made us feel welcome, and provided useful information to us about where to eat and sites to see in the area. Trigong Residence is located within Chiang Mai’s Old City walls, and is surrounded by Temples, shops and eateries to suit every budget. Massage venues are of good quality and very reasonably priced. We each had a manicure/pedicure while in the neighborhood, which cost very little. Chiang Mai is a peaceful, lovely city and Trigong Residence is the ideal place from which to base a few days of exploration. The property is clean and well-maintained. Fresh, delicious drinking water is provided to guests each day. The place has a young vibe, with diverse guests including mature adults and backpacker types. We wondered if there would be noise at night when we saw the young folks in the courtyard, but our nights were quiet and we slept peacefully. This is not a fancy, luxurious hotel, but a clean and comfortable space that is reasonably priced as well. We will be eager to book the Trigong Residence when we return to Chiang Mai.
Date of stay: November 2012
Room Tip: Book well in advance of travel as this place is very popular and fills quickly.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£42
  • Expedia.com
    £47
  • Agoda.com
    £39
  • Vio.com
    £46
0.4 miles from Tri Gong Residence
Free Wifi
Pool
£191
  • Expedia.com
    £195
  • Agoda.com
    £180
  • Vio.com
    £213
1.0 miles from Tri Gong Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
£109
  • Vio.com
    £114
  • Official Hotel
    £93
  • Expedia.com
    £113
1.5 miles from Tri Gong Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
£90
  • Official Hotel
    £93
  • Vio.com
    £85
  • Expedia.com
    £91
1.6 miles from Tri Gong Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
£81
  • Expedia.com
    £90
  • Vio.com
    £89
  • Hotels.com
    £83
0.5 miles from Tri Gong Residence
Free Wifi
Pool
£14
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £30
  • Priceline
    £31
  • StayForLong
    £47
1.4 miles from Tri Gong Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
£97
  • Expedia.com
    £99
  • Priceline
    £110
  • Vio.com
    £97
1.3 miles from Tri Gong Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
£40
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £39
  • Agoda.com
    £37
  • Hotels.com
    £46
1.7 miles from Tri Gong Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
£40
  • Expedia.com
    £71
  • Agoda.com
    £29
  • Vio.com
    £36
2.2 miles from Tri Gong Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
£273
  • Expedia.com
    £284
  • Agoda.com
    £236
  • Hotels.com
    £284
3.7 miles from Tri Gong Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
153
70
24
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
153
70
24
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I've been staying at Tri Gong Residence on and off for the past 3 years whenever I'm in Chiang Mai. It's a great place with the most helpful owner (Adam) and staff. They go out of their way to provide information and make guests feel at home.

Every time i come back there's an improvement or two. One time all the rooms had been painted and redecorated. This time there was a new front desk and granite table near the lobby for coffee in the morning. There's always hot water for instant coffee or tea and complimentary water.

The lobby has two computers so it's easy to go online.

Three cheers for Tri Gong---can't wait to stay there again.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulacorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The guest house is well located in the old town (not far from the market, the restaurants, bars, cooking schools, taxi station to doi suthep). Nice and quiet interior court. Everything is very clean (inside and outside the room). Good basic room. The bed is comfortable. Free wifi. Free bottles of water in the room.

Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Christophe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This hotel was very good value for money. The rooms were clean, had good working air condition and are fine situated in the city. The owner Adam was very kind and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone who will visit Chiang Mai.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We really enjoyed our stay! The room was very big and clean and had aircon, TV and a fridge. It was excellent value and in a great location! There are loads of places to eat and drink nearby. Our favourites were Blue Diamond which is a huge organic cafe that serves great breakfasts and cakes! also check out Charcoa a gorgeous coffee shop that serves amazing cakes and a good selection for dinner. The owner was very friendly and helped us to book taxi's and a trip to see the elephants. There is wifi in the room and lobby! We would definitely recommend staying here!!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 839andyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2012

An amazing stay the 2nd time around , rooms really clean , big tv in room , AC , hot and cold showers , excellent facilities around and about. Khun Adam the boss and his sons could not be more helpful. Good advise when you need it, and very trusting considering paid anything yet and its over a week now.

Great place to stay

Bob Emmens from London

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobE146
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews