We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Romyen Garden Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Romyen Garden Resort
Ranked #102 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Romyen Garden Resort”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The Romyen Garden Resort is located in a rural area of Chiang Mai, there isn't any shops within the compound or nearby, so if you need to shop for any necessities, you can't... As it is in the rural area, its either you call for a driver or walk all the way out to the main road to travel in a pickup truck...

Nevertheless, it is a good experience for people who wants to just chill out in the resort throughout the trip, just remember to stock up all your necessities and lots of books...

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimChiangmai, Manager at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    19
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
39
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We planned to stay 3nights (for the Loi Krathong festival) and prolongued our stay - the whole resort is lovely, quiet-most probably the best choice to stay in Chiang Mai. The owner helps with everything if you want, the Bungalows are made (fresh towels, etc) daily-you can decide to sleep long and have breakfast at noon or later, everything's very easy and uncomplicated at Romyen. It is a 20 minutes bus drive to Chinatown -what's fun doing actually - we never had to wait longer'n 10 minutes for a yellow bus taking us there - picked up the last one bringing us home from the city center at about 10pm - for 20 Baht each. We'd always Comedy back. Thanks a lot for the wonderful time

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thormen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
On behalf of the Management, I sincerely thankful to the review you contributed to Trip Advisor.
It was wonderful to have had chance to accommodate and cater you. We will continue the
efforts to provide a quality of services to satisfy and comfort our guests. Very much hope to
receive you and your friends next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dijon , France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Romyen Garden is idyllic ! The garden itself is beautiful and well-tended to , the bungalows comfortable with a nice, simple furnishing. The staff who attend to the daily cleaning and upkeep are pleasant and always helpful . A relaxing atmosphere reigns here and it soon takes you in, the same seemed to go for all the other guests we met here during our three week stay.
The trip to Chiang Mai takes about 30 min. by 'song tao' bus which pass regularly along the highway about a ten min. walk away along a country road past rice-fields and a local temple sporting an impressive giant, pink and white Ganesh ! There are charming walks to be taken turning right out of the resort giving open views of the beautiful, lazy-looking mountains not far off .
On the walks back in the evening the intensity of the shrill serenade of the crickets has to be heard to be believed ! it calms to a rhythmic soundtrack for the evening meals we loved to take on the restaurant veranda. Evening meals ! ? ! read major,incredibly relishing culinary experiences ! magically created by Tim ,but her Auntie likes to join in too sometimes. Tim, apart from being a cooking ace- big time - speaks English fluently and converses easily with everyone having a great sense of humour !
There are no city or traffic noises here at night and we always slept very well , the animal calls or the rain having a lulling effect. Like the crickets in the evening, the crazy birdsong you waken to in the morning is unforgettable. We plan on returning to Chiang Mai next year and we are coming back here.

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow 3 but all of the bungalows are pleasantly placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
On behalf of the Management, I sincerely thankful to your review contributed to Trip Advisor
which will enhance our business to the better. We will continue maintening the quality of
services and conforts to satisfy our guests. We hope to have an opportunity to receive you
and your freinds more and more in future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

When we arrived tim, the owner, was waiting for us with two coconats and her warm smile.
The place is a little bit far from town, bud defenatly worth the affort. When you or want to go to the city, just ask tim to set you up with a driver that know's tha way.
The rooms are worm and surrownded with plants and trees, and ther is a small balcony to each room with view to the garden.
Before coming for the first time talk to tim (the most comfterble way is via e-mail) and ask her to make you dinner - you wont regret it. The food is just amazing, and there is a lot of wormth pot in to it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nimrod3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Mr. Nimrod,
On behalf on the Management of Romyen Garden Resort wish to express our sincere thanks
for your valued review appeared in Trip Advisor. We are glad to receive you and your freind
stayed in a small family run resort and felt comfortable . Thank you and hope to have opportunity
to accommodate you and other friends in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Romyen Garden Resort back in February when I was visiting my parents in Thailand. It is indeed a very "romyen" (which in Thai means peaceful) place. It is not a luxurious, five-star hotels but the cabins are clean, the staff very attentive and food excellent. It is quiet. You are among nature. You wake up with the birds and the monkeys. There are trees and flowers all around. The resort arranged for a van and driver to take us around. We had a great time and would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aporanee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Khun Aporanee and friends. I wish to express my thanks for your valued review for Romyen
Garden Resort which will remind us to continue good services to our clients. Hope to have chances to accommodate you and your friends whenever you visit Chaingmai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We could not have asked for anything more during our stay in Chiang Mai.

The property is beautiful, a quiet resort/villa type property just outside the city centre of Chiang Mai. We stayed in bungalow 2 and it was perfect for us. Simple yet comfortable, incredible value, and clean and quiet. The dining room is also very pleasant, and the food was easily the best we had in Thailand.

Tim, the Manager, is incredibly gracious and goes above and beyond to ensure your stay is incredible. There is no detail she will not help arrange for you; for us she routinely called us taxis, booked us drivers, made reservations. The service simply cannot be beaten. Tim is also a wealth of knowledge about everything you would want to see/do in Chiang Mai, and can not only advise but will happily book and arrange your tours.

It's worth repeating - staying at RomYen is worth it for the food alone. If you give Tim a bit of notice, she will go and get fresh ingredients the day of and cook you the best meal you will have in Thailand (can almost guarantee that).

The only negative is the location, as you cannot walk into the city centre. There is public transit available every half hour ish, or you can get a taxi for about 350 baht (just over $10). However you get the added benefit of some peace and quiet on the property.

If coming from the airport, have the driver call Tim as the property can be hard to locate.

Room Tip: They're all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
On behalf of the Romyen Garden Resort''s Management, we are grateful for Sam's review contributed to Trip Advisor which will be of great value to us. We, definitely will continue
provide good services and try our best to take good care of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I was backpacking in Thailand on a budget and decided to book this hotel and stay at the dorm. This is one beautiful peaceful place. The rooms and the dorm are all very clean and well cared for. Tim, the lady who runs the place is sooo lovely. She even packed me lunch one day that I was supposed to leave early to go out of town. They serve great food at the restaurant there too.
I had rented a bike in chiang mai and getting back and forth to the city was an easy 10 min ride for me but there's also a bus available that costs 40 bahts.
I'm planning on going back to Chiang Mai and I don't know if I'll even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliS4865225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimChiangmai, Manager at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review and hope to catch with you again soon. Don't 4get 2 check out Thaivisa.com :-). Hope you remember what I was saying. :-)

Cheers,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
7.3 mi away
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
#116 of 383 in Chiang Mai
116 reviews
6.8 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#52 of 383 in Chiang Mai
590 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#138 of 383 in Chiang Mai
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#65 of 383 in Chiang Mai
291 reviews
7.4 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#152 of 383 in Chiang Mai
109 reviews
7.9 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 383 in Chiang Mai
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romyen Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romyen Garden Resort

Property: Romyen Garden Resort
Address: 40/1-5 Chiangrai - Chiangmai Highway | Baan Taladkwuan, Tambon Taladkwuan, Chiang Mai 50220, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Romyen Garden Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romyen Garden Resort, your rustic hide-away only 15 minutes from town. Experience the peaceful charm of this Lanna Style Bungalow, set amongst shady trees and natural park land. Transportation running past the main road from 06:00 to 20:30 every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Romyen Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing