We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for its location”
Review of Anodard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anodard Hotel
Ranked #288 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 8 August 2013

An older style of hotel which was up there once twenty-five years ago. Dated; which is its saving grace for those on a budget, it's great! Right in the heart of Old Chiangmai. Within walking distance to the night market, around the corner from the Sunday Street Market, and many famed Chiangmai's temples such as Wat Singh and the Tapae Gate.

The rooms could use modernisation but they are clean and many of the bathrooms have been renovated. There is cable TV and internet, a big swimming pool and a Cafe Wa Wee around the corner for those desperate for the taste of real coffee. Management and staff have always proven themselves to be friendly and helpful.

When I first went there nearly thirty years ago, it was one of the most popular hotels in central Chiangmai. It can't compete with the flashiness of the new wave of boutique hotels, but for those who want a good, clean and safe hotel at a great price ... it is is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

The only good thing is the swimming pool, the parking place and that the hotel is almost in the center of the old city. The bathroom was dirty, lights where not safe and at night there was many noise in the aria after the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayd at the Anodard Hotel oktober 2012 and was very satisfied. I paid 500 Baht for a big clean room, only 10 minute walking distance from centrum, and was serviced by smiling and welcoming staff of Anodard. I will for sure go back to this place on my next trip to thailand with my thai wife, which is 39 years old just as myself.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickeymau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I should have look at the room before I paid, My fault. Please see these pictures. This place is dirty and a poor value. 700 baht? Chaing Mai has many many places to stay for less and more clean too. The First room had blood smears on the wall, a ripped chair, and a worn saggy mattress. I first asked for a refund, which they rudely refused, telling me i should have looked at the room first. I asked for a different room, just to discover all the rooms were the same. Basic, superior, or superior with a bathtub? A bathtub? I would never lay my body in one of their dirty 30 year old tubs. I paid 700 baht for the night and DID NOT STAY. I chose to find a different place to stay. DO NOT STAY HERE.... Very rude and dirty....

Room Tip: Look before you pay. then go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel is seedy, smelly, and full of old geriatrics trying to reclaim their youth by dating very young local women. The rooms are large, smelly and probably furnished from the 70s, when most of the clientelle were in their prime. Since then the rooms have weathered as have the guests. The pool is surrounded by leather backs trying to get even more wrinkles than they already have. Staff are quite unwelcoming. If you are young stay away, if your old but young at heart then its your dream come true

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scottplume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The hotel hasn't been looked after for many years. With a bit of refurbishing that place would be great. It is just too old and service and management are poor. It is still a cheap and convenient location if you want to be in the center of the old city. And yes there is a pool but from another age .....

Room Tip: we stayed on the fifth floor and room where very old try your luck on another floor ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gees426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed here for nine days in January because we have three kids and there was a pool. The place is crawling with retirees that live here therefore, they think they own the joint. My kids playing in the pool infuriated them. The hotel is a bit rundown but good enough for a family. Room cost us $27/night which was quite good for what we got...1 room, 2 double beds, air con, cable tv, free wifi in lobby, fridge, hot water. Like I said, it was good enough for us, the pool is really pretty and the staff is GREAT. I would not recommend for a couple as a guest house would be nicer but for our situation, it was pretty great. Plus, their beer is cheaper than anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th and 5th floors have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#155 of 392 in Chiang Mai
87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centro CNX
Centro CNX
#192 of 392 in Chiang Mai
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#158 of 392 in Chiang Mai
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baan Ngern Village
Baan Ngern Village
#179 of 392 in Chiang Mai
38 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Family Hotel
The Family Hotel
#251 of 392 in Chiang Mai
8 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#147 of 392 in Chiang Mai
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anodard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anodard Hotel

Address: 57-59 Ratchamankha Road T. Phasing A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £12 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Anodard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anodard Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing