We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, but could be cleaner”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chiang Mai White House
Ranked #157 of 718 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great staff, but could be cleaner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Good location. Staff very kind and helpful, helped us sign up for activities. Would have rated higher, but beds uncomfortable, room was not clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    52
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
9
44
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I really recommend staying in this guest house...wonderful and helpful people :))

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guyavraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Very good ghesthouse adress in Chiangmai: for those who don't want to spend a fortune but want a decent room with decent comfort and great atmosphere. French & English spoken

The plus of this guesthouse is the nicely decorated garden, with its many green plants, giving a cool and refreshing place to relax or just lazily read your emails (thanks to the free WiFi provided). The common area is a mixture of short-term tourists and travellers from all over the world (including Thailand) , expats and even local kids.

I also apreciated the friendliness of the owners B.P & Lek both of whom are eager to help and answer all your questions including sights, activities and are more than happy to share a cool Leo Beer after a long hot day's work!

Services include bike rental, laundry, breakfast, hot and cold drinks, book exchanges etc...

Room Tip: I prefer ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the chiang mai whitehouse during songkran festival, rather wet. We were greeted with a big smile and felt very welcomed. We were quickly found a room and found all the staff very helpful. For 400baht we had a lovely air con room with a balcony, comfy bed and tv. Very clean! And they didn't put the price up for songkran which is rare! We stayed there for 10days inbetween trips that they helped us organise, such as a hill tribe trek and a trip to the nearby pai. Would definitely recommend staying here and we will definitely be going back there when we return to the wonderful chiang mai :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnlodgearenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

stayed a few nights here in march 2012
staff were friendly and helpful, good location walking distance to most attractions in the surrounding old town. the AC in the room was a nice treat during hot season.
I would have left a higher rating but the mattresses and bedding are tired and old and the bathrooms were ridiculous. the grout on the tiling had long since past its due and the tiles squished out water when you stepped on them. there is no shower stall or even a curtain so water splashes on everything in the bathroom, and then squishes out onto your feet later on.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnydixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

A brilliant budget stay hotel. For 250 B we got an en suite room with a fan. The room was big and free of bugs! The bath room could have been a bit cleaner but i'm not complaining for the price of it. You also get free bag storage if you need it and the staff are really friendly, and unlike some hotels, not pushy about their own travel agents. it's on a quiet street with no night time noise but is central to most things, including the walking street market.
Also has free wifi

Room Tip: Try and get ground or lower floors. There's no lift and it's a climb to the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Gomera, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

What I particularly enjoy is sitting in the courtyard garden. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The other guests are often interesting, and I've made a handful of friends here in my last three visits. And I do love Billy and Puppy, the house dogs!

The rooms are basic and clean. The price is certainly right. And the location is very central - nearby the Ta Pae Gate, Sompet Market and the fantastic Sunday Market.

Frankly, I can't imagine staying anyplace else in Chiang Mai!

Room Tip: Just ask in the morning and the staff will clean your room. This isn't a five star hotel, so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#101 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Uncle Bear's Home
Uncle Bear's Home
#223 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Vieng Mantra Hotel
#55 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#70 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boonthavon
Boonthavon
#203 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
TJR Boutique House
TJR Boutique House
#110 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chiang Mai White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chiang Mai White House

Property: The Chiang Mai White House
Address: 12 Ratchadamnoen Soi 5, Chiang Mai 50200 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 718 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1997, the Chiang Mai White House offers a friendly and affordable refuge to the international traveler. We’ve built a considerable reputation over the years, and many of our guests are repeat visitors.One popular feature is our peaceful garden courtyard, where guests can meet and mingle, or simply browse the Internet using our free, high speed wifi (currently 8 Mb/s).The White House is located on a quiet soi inside the Old City of Chiang Mai, near the Tha Phae Gate, and just down the street from the popular Sunday Market. Other nearby attractions include the Warorot Market, Night Bazaar, and the Sompet market. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chiang Mai White House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing