We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chiang Mai White House
Ranked #157 of 717 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay”
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

I liked the staff even if they were a bit cranky. There seemed to be somewhat of a decent atmosphere with a mixed bag of people. I would stay agian if I wanted yo be in that particular area of town.
A few things that i thought were odd: 10am check-out and no soap provided in wc. Showers were nice and hot.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukeghyselincks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    52
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
9
44
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My experience at the White House did not start well. My flight was delayed so did not arrive until 10pm. There was no staff at the reception, just a guard. The guard had no idea what to do, which I don't blame him since it isn't his responsibility to sort out check-in. He had to make several phone calls before I was able to get into the room.

The room was very small, and the bathroom miniscule. My room was on the street, and it was very noisy. There is a bar so the noise carries on after midnight.

There are no elevators. The guard helped me with my bag, which is very nice, but if you have big bags, be prepared!

Room Tip: Get a room off of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrMcinBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights and loved it!
Very helpful staff (also for tours and treks, to book directly with them), good breakfast, good location in the old town of Chiang Mai. Room was big enough, clean with hot water, AC worked.
We loved it and will stay there again, for sure!

Room Tip: Very quiet and still in the center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Its a same I can't write a good review for this place as the French guy who runs the guest house was really helpful but the rooms are so poor I've just had to write this. The walls are so thin you can hear everything so don't expect to sleep. Its also overpriced as you can get a lot better in this location for less.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trigsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I stayed here for about a week, and overall had a really good experience. However, this was largely due to the facts that

1) the owners (bp and lek) are so nice and great to be around and made a really nice atmosphere downstairs
2) the location is on a great soi (street) - close to action, but yet amazingly quiet

Were it not for these two things, which mean a lot to me, i would have reviewed it with fewer stars. My room was a bit dingy and except for an occasional burst of signal, the wifi didnt reach me on the top floor. It was also a tad more expensive than other places on the same soi (i gave another hotel on the same street a resounding 5 stars here fyi).

Room Tip: try and get a room on the lower floors so you can get wifi in the room! the signal didn't reach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I don't like to give poor reviews but after staying at this place over the years (first visit 5 years ago, last visit last month) it has certainly gone downhill.The mattress was horrible!! I don't think it was even a mattress, more like the box spring and it was so worn down and lumpy. The rooms are old and not so clean and the bathroom was horrible. This last time we stayed on the first floor and the toilet would erupt (make a loud splashing sound) every hour or so. The family who runs it is nice and the common area is an ok place to hang out. Only thing good is the location but as other reviewers said you can find better on the same soi.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoppab14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I would give this property 5/5 if I'd of just come out of the local prison, but I haven't , so I won't .
The location is great, slap bang in the middle of the old city, just a short stroll to the many historical sites , restaurants, cafes and bars.
For 500 baht I wasn't expecting a lot and was left underwhelmed with my AC room ,en suite plus tv. Typically for a room in this price range the AC was knackered, bathroom grubby and my misses reckons she got bitten in bed ( not by me I hasten to add).Some noise at night from other guests rooms.The staff were indifferent and wifi only works in the reception area. I found the American bf sub standard for the 90 baht paid.
I would recommend staying here if you've just arrived in Chiang Mai after a long journey and all the other GH on this soi are full and you've lost the will to live and even then I'd go for a fan room.

Room Tip: Go for the fan rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glahamuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Ampawan
Ampawan
#224 of 375 in Chiang Mai
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#102 of 375 in Chiang Mai
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Uncle Bear's Home
Uncle Bear's Home
#227 of 717 in Chiang Mai
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#72 of 717 in Chiang Mai
299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boonthavon
Boonthavon
#205 of 717 in Chiang Mai
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
TJR Boutique House
TJR Boutique House
#102 of 717 in Chiang Mai
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chiang Mai White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chiang Mai White House

Property: The Chiang Mai White House
Address: 12 Ratchadamnoen Soi 5, Chiang Mai 50200 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 717 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1997, the Chiang Mai White House offers a friendly and affordable refuge to the international traveler. We’ve built a considerable reputation over the years, and many of our guests are repeat visitors.One popular feature is our peaceful garden courtyard, where guests can meet and mingle, or simply browse the Internet using our free, high speed wifi (currently 8 Mb/s).The White House is located on a quiet soi inside the Old City of Chiang Mai, near the Tha Phae Gate, and just down the street from the popular Sunday Market. Other nearby attractions include the Warorot Market, Night Bazaar, and the Sompet market. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chiang Mai White House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing