We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lonely Planet not always right! Poor”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smile House Guest House
Ranked #548 of 755 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lonely Planet not always right! Poor”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We arrived with reservation, after recommendation from LP and paid 450Baht for a fan room. This was our first real guesthouse we had ever experienced, so we did not check the room, we just took it. Big mistake. There were cobwebs all over the place, the toilet was scary and dark, ants everywhere, an awful spring-y, lumpy mattress, bad water pressure and the fan did nothing - it was cooler outside! Also, in addition to the door lock, you are recommended to lock your room with your own lock as well (attached through a hinge). The patio and pool area is okay. Location good. Wifi in common area only.

Pros: location
Cons: everything else
Overall: don't recommend. lots of better places in Chiang Mai
Tips: no brainer, but make sure to inspect mattress and water pressure before you commit

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte_darling84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    30
    51
    38
    24
See reviews for
16
60
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed at Smile House for 4 nights, in an A/C room.
For what they charge (700 baht), we expected a lot more: The rooms aren't very clean, the bathroom is very basic, the public zones aren't being cleaned often enough, the breakfast is pricey for what you get, etc.
The place has a cool pool, which is an advantage, and its location is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumbas1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We arrived in Chiang Mai without having any reservation. Our first two choices were sadly full so we picked this one out of the latest version of the Lonely Planet. When we arrived there were only two rooms left. We decided to stay in the AC room for 600 baht for the first night and the second and third night 400 baht (very strange). The room was okay but basic and you will get what you pay for as long as it is clean (and it was). So no comments on the room.

Nevertheless, the place itself was old and it looked like one little storm can ruin the whole place. They have a ''pool'' but you could not see the bottom of this, the water was disgusting! Also the wooden plates around the pool were falling apart. Very dangerous with kids! Another thing is the definitely could use a gardener, the whole place looked like a big jungle! But, there are also good points: cheap and reasonable room, free use of internet (with computer), good service and I think probably the best location in Chiang Mai!

* We talked to the girl at the reception and they told us there are going to renovate this place around october 2012. So after the renovation It will hopefully one of the best places to stay in Chiang Mai...*

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickzwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songkhla, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed there for one night in May. We had a hot day and the pool was a very nice relaxing experience. Located right in the center of the old town in a quiet side street. Easy to get to any location from the main road just meters further down. Breakfast was 'sold out', but there is a nice breakfast place right next door, so nothing lost there. Staff is nice and friendly; however, they allowed a party of locals the night I stayed there. They were a young loud crew. However again, it broke up promptly at 23.00 and everyone went home. All-in-all highly recommended at a super price an location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JStaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

the main problem here are the rats and the staff looking at them asif they were normal. Huge, grey rats are in and around this particular hotel and the management doesn't take to take action.
The douches are extremely filthy. They clean douches and shared toilets in 3 or 4 days, very disgusting.
They only good thing is the swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariano_Slutzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

the price isn't bad at this place but it's rather run down. It looks like it was probably a lovely place to stay a few years ago. But the room we had had damp on the walls, the air con didn't work properly and the bathroom was dirty. There's a pool which is nice, but there are tiles missing and the grass around it could do with cutting. There were a few boards missing around the pool which was dangerous for kids. And in the yard and entrance there were more large holes for kids or those of who've had a few beers to fall down. Also not only was Wifi not free, it was actually quite expensive at 100 Baht for 2hrs 20mins.
Location is great though. It's very handy to many cafes and bookshops, etc. And it's a very peaceful spot. Could be fantastic if given a facelift.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elnagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed a few days in the Smile House. The location is good (on the east side of the old city, quite close to Tha Pae), the guest house has a friendly and relaxed staff, a nice lobby and a nice swimming pool. The neighbours offer food, bicycles for rent and a laundry service.

The rooms were a bit worn out: mattresses and sheets quite old, bathroom very basic. We had four cockroaches in our room (room 6); they could probably enter the room via a hole in the wall in the bath room. We were given another room (room 9), which was better.

So our rating is "Good", between "Average" and "Very Good", which Tripadvisor does not offer.
Would we go again to the Smile House? Yes, certainly, but not room 6.

Room Tip: Not room 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva-Quirinius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#301 of 384 in Chiang Mai
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smile House Chiangmai
Smile House Chiangmai
#523 of 755 in Chiang Mai
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manee Guest House
Manee Guest House
#97 of 755 in Chiang Mai
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Smile House Boutique
Smile House Boutique
#207 of 384 in Chiang Mai
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 755 in Chiang Mai
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gap's House
Gap's House
#347 of 755 in Chiang Mai
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile House Guest House

Property: Smile House Guest House
Address: 27 Mu 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, 83000 | Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #548 of 755 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smile House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smile House Guest House, in the true Lanna lifestyle, is located in the heart of old city, within walking distance of all major Wats and night life attractions. We are a 3-minute-walk from the moat so as to optimize the fun and joy of Loi Kratong and Songkran festivities. Our guest house offers large, comfortable air conditioned rooms with convenience of community room for social gatherings. Our swimming pool sits adjacent to our cocktail and food service so as to provide comfort and refreshments while lounging. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smile House Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing