We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mae-Sa Valley Craft Village
Ranked #127 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I'm just coming towards the end of a one week stay here. It's been like living in the Garden of Eden for a week. Very relaxing and highly recommended as a place to take a real break. The resort is a really lovely place. Tastefully crafted, it's set in a large caldera-like space with dense tropical forest towering above and below - a beautiful garden of flame trees, advocado trees, herb gardens and flowers. The care and effort that goes into the upkeep is impressive. The staff are a delight and the food is decent, with two restaurants. The accommodation covers a range but even the basic is quite decent. The deluxe huts are really quite luxurious. Prices are very reasonable indeed for what you get (inc. an all you can eat breakfast thrown in). Apparently this was the first resort of its kind to be built outside of Chiang Mai. Some upgrading and renovation going on right now, but not too disruptive. Lots of attractions close by. And taxis up and down the road only cost 20 baht per trip. The only complaint I have is the insects - there are a lot of the b****rs (including mozzies). But this simply is par for the course in a tropical forest area like this. It's no worse than anywhere else of a similar ilk. The trick is not to let them get to you - just cover up at night and use repellent. Beyond that - just accept a few bites! Do seriously consider staying here - I strongly doubt you'll regret it.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little more to get the deluxe hut!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

We loved our stay here after the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai Old Town. The gardens are stunning complete with a romantic little stream. The service is wonderful with very attentive staff. We stayed at the Honeymoon Cottage which had a wonderful view out over the gardens. The room is simple but comfortable with everything you need. The location is well out of town so if you are hoping to visit Chiang Mai Old City from here don't bother unless you have your own wheels. Don't miss the opportunity to visit the on-site Craft Village to either make Sa Paper or paint ceramics or pain parasols (bookings required). They also do cooking classes here. The strawberry farm is also worth a visit as we thought they had the yummiest strawberries in the region! We really enjoyed our stay here, particularly the relaxed atmosphere and gorgeous surroundings. Well worth the visit if you can handle the slightly remote location.

Room Tip: Rent a car to explore the local surrounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinickL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I arrived rather late at the resort and it was dark so I could not see anything of the resort. I did not expect much at this remote location, but to my surprise, the bungalow was cosy, the facilities were simple but everything was there what needs to be there. There was a nice veranda directly accessible from the room where we had a flass of wine before going to sleep.
The surprise came in the morning when I opened the door. What a beautiful surrounding, a garden full of beautiful flowers,colorful birds, the bungalows nicely scattered in a large and very well maintained compound. We went for a stroll to the waterfall nearby before going to the restaurant to have a simple but delicious breakfast.
I would go back any time, a really beautiful hideway. I can only recommend it.

Room Tip: I can recommend the bungalow on picture 27 of the review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank farangdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We were introduced to this resort (may be under and different name) by a tour driver and we were very happy. We were on a mission trip and needed affordable housing and food, and this place provided both. The price was decent (925baht) per AC room per night. They were able to feed our whole group for about 300baht per person for day. The resort itself is beautiful. Great location next to a lot of attractions (Elephant camp, Tiger Farm, Snake farm, etc.). The rooms itself were ok. Kind of run down and lots of insects and bugs. If you don't mind that, then this resort may suit you. It was pretty much empty and i heard they may be shutting down for renovations. All in all, we were happy with the service and the food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saysum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Overall, a very beautiful location with excellent service. However, this village/resort is not for everyone so please read and take this with a grain of salt. The rustic location and pleasant staff make this resort/village truly unique.

Pros: Service is amazing, the staff worked so hard to keep our group happy and well-fed. The staff is able to speak English, Thai and even Cantonese. The grounds/environment are just gorgeous with a waterfall and a plethora of flora/fauna are present. During our walks, every where you turn was a Kodak moment for pictures. The food is very delicious and the staff prepares very authentic and wonderful meals for all their guests.

Cons: Some rooms/cabins have A/C but we did not have that luxury in our cabin. Hot water can be hit/miss so please be advised before you shower. Due to the true nature of the place, there can be some large insects/small lizards in the room but this is usually harmless. No wi-fi present but you can probably buy a SIM card in the city and get phone/wifi.

Our group stayed for nearly 5 days and we did enjoy our stay overall. I felt the staff was absolutely wonderful and highly recommend their service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lionel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

We stayed there 2 nights at the beginning of January. The grounds are really weel kept, the surroundings are very impressive and beautiful. The food is very good, just a pity that the restaurant closes at 7:45PM. Then, the only thing to do is go back to your room!
The "chalets" are nice; inside, some rooms (we had booked 4) are pretty dark. Beeing in January, it got really cool at night, and we were cold during the night, as the rooms are very humid and the blankets are very thin... Also, we only had one small bath towel each, nothing else. Thank God the pool was so cold we couldn't use it! It would also be very helpful to have a wall bracket or some kind of furniture in the bathroom, instead of puting all our tothbrushes, brushes, ecc on the floor!
I am sure this place must be heaven in spring or summer, but be prepare for a very essential experience!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fab64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2006

My husband and I spent 3 days at the Mae-sa Valley Craft Village Resort. The food was excellent and the price was right-$40/night for a great little bungalow. We were able to tour the elephant camp nearby and also take a trip to the highest peak in Thailand. I absolutely loved this resort and was surprised how much fun my husband and I had doing crafts in the workshop. They offer pottery classes, cooking classes and cloth painting classes. I definitely recommend this resort--an ideal place to hold a wedding!

  • Stayed: January 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LovedThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
22.7 mi away
Kaomai Lanna Resort
Kaomai Lanna Resort
#133 of 395 in Chiang Mai
80 reviews
13.4 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#51 of 395 in Chiang Mai
959 reviews
10.2 mi away
Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Suan Bua Hotel & Resort
Suan Bua Hotel & Resort
#134 of 395 in Chiang Mai
56 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bulun Buri Resort Chiangmai
Bulun Buri Resort Chiangmai
#176 of 395 in Chiang Mai
12 reviews
2.9 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mae-Sa Valley Craft Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mae-Sa Valley Craft Village

Address: 86/2 Moo 2 Mae Rim, Chiang Mai 50180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £26 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mae-Sa Valley Craft Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mae-Sa Valley Craft Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mae-Sa Valley Craft Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing