We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place, value for money”
Review of Portico 21

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portico 21
Ranked #342 of 758 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cute place, value for money”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Owner should get 2 thumbs up. Very nice lady,very helpful. Rooms are cosy but upkeep isn't the cleanest. Breakfast is basic but pretty yum. Only thing is lots of tuk tuk never heard of this hotel so grab a name card from reception to show to them.

Room Tip: Ask for a low level room as there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    20
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
20
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

One night here before our loop. Worth the money. Dont expect too much spirit of chiang mai from the hotel, but clean, there is wifi, hot water and poor breakfast. The owner is so lovely and helpfull. she organizes laundry, taxi, everything. There is no elevator but if you ask they give a hand. Overall i recommend the place for a one or two nights, you dont spend your time in the room anyway.

Room Tip: Ask a room to be faced the garden. the neighbour house's ac can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkosK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talent, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Pros: Portico 21 is blocks away from the Sunday walking market, night bazzar and good resturants. A really great location. Friendly ladies on staff.
Cons: Greasy egg breakfast, stained and worn (with holes) towels and sheets, 4 stories no elevator, not so friendly guy on staff.

Room Tip: If you are a couple traveling together make sure to request a double bed otherwise you will end up i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Pros: This hotel is on a quiet and small side-soi, but is otherwise in a very good location. The rooms are on the small side, but clean and attractive. The bed was "asian firm" but acceptable. The TV had quite a few channels. Some of the staff were nice.

Cons: When we checked in the clerk took off up the stairs, never bothering to mention that we had to climb all the way to the fourth floor. (Somehow I failed to notice from previous reviews that the hotel had 4 floors and no elevator.) We had a lot of luggage, so that was an unwelcome surprise. Another unwelcome surprise was that the internet was not working in our room, despite the promises on the website. We had to climb down and back up 4 flights of stairs to use the internet in the lobby, where we were eaten by mosquitoes. The breakfast was very basic (fried eggs with toast and jam and cheap sausages); I wouldn't bother waking up for it. Also, the curtains didn't block much light at all, so it was very difficult to sleep after about 8 AM. Finally, my wife and I were stuck with a room with two beds (never asked about preferences or warned about this, until we got to the room).

Overall, this was not a good stay and I regret having booked here (based on all the positive reviews). It's not even very cheap. We were happier with most of the other hotels we've stayed in at Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: beg for a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We spent four night in this hotel. The location is FANTASTIC, as you are withing walking distance from markets, attractions and great restaurants.
The ladies that run this place are very helpful and friendly, but the guy that works in the afternoon is a sour faced little something.
There could be some things improved, like repainting the stairs and some features in the rooms improved (tower hangers broken, for instance)
The breakfast is simple but good, and I would undoubtedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caromitxirrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a great boutique-hotel in Chiang Mai. First, because of the owner, who was really friendly and helpful in everything we needed. We spent one night out of the hotel due to a trekking tour and she allowed us to keep our luggage in the same room even if we didn't pay that night.
SEcond, location. The hotel is not far from the main Gate and not far away from the Sunday Market and the night bazaar (which we did not like us much comparing with other Thai markets). It's close to some restaurants, bars, pharmacy and other services. It was a bit difficult to be found by some drivers, but it's easy to reach once you get there for the first time.
Third, rooms. Rooms are comfortable and bathroom was fully equipped.
Fourth, the breakfast was simple but really tasty.
Sixth. We paid around 25 EUR/30 USD per night for a double room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed only for one night and for one night this place was fine. The location is very good and is within walking distance of the Sunday market and the night bazaar. There are also plenty of restaurants and bars around too.

The rooms are spacious with lots of natural light, but that also means that they get pretty hot and the AC struggles to fight the heat. The rooms are clean but maybe a little tired.

Breakfast is the standard eggs and bacon, but I'm more than happy with that! The staff are very helpful and friendly.

The only problem was that it felt a little soulless and lacks character, but for one night, who cares?

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CrumpetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
P21 Chiangmai Hotel
P21 Chiangmai Hotel
#62 of 758 in Chiang Mai
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Na Thapae Hotel
Na Thapae Hotel
#228 of 758 in Chiang Mai
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Thapae
Villa Thapae
#62 of 865 in Chiang Mai
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.5 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 386 in Chiang Mai
677 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portico 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portico 21

Property: Portico 21
Address: 7 Kotchasarn Rd. Soi 1 | T. Changklan, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 758 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portico 21 is equipped with all modern amenities: we offer clean, quiet and affordable accommodation in the heart of downtown Chiang Mai - Northern Thailand, with a touch of design. Each guestroom is air-conditioned and well furnished in a functional, contemporary style. All guestrooms have individually designed, private en-suite bathrooms and benefit from unobstructed views of the old capital of Northern Thailand. Thapae Gate (Pratu Thapae), a major city landmark, is just 3 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Sawasdee so you can book your Portico 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portico 21 Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing