We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #66 of 777 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I love this place. It was the first time i stayed in a guesthouse rather than a hotel and i fell in love with this place. You can't expect the facilities of a hotel but you can expect a more warm service and intimate atmosphere than in a hotel. The room is big and clean, the breakfast is lovely and the price is good. The location is fantastic, right in the centre of old chiang mai, you can watch the sunday night market from your windows, a very cool thing. It has every reason to be the best value hotel in chiang mai.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smmrxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided everything that you needed. I am glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, clean rooms and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

The first thing you would probably notice in the lobby of the hotel as you enter are the words 'Service with a Smile'. All the staff of the hotel right from the the front desk to the maintenance and restaurant staff truly reflect the words in the lobby. They were all truly helpful and always smiling.

The hotel itself is centrally located close to many a cultural location. Rooms are compact, but very clean and well decorated.

There are range of options available to both the active traveller as well as those looking for a relaxing break. A number of excursions and massage programs are available. Though the staff do promote the services, what made me feel comfortable was that they were not pushy.

Overall a great experience and would highly recommend this to anyone looking for good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivianRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Thank you so much for your glowing review of your recent stay with us. I was pleased you notice our goal 'Welcome with smile, service by heart". I have a great team here and will pass on your kind words to them.

I hope to be able to personally welcome you to the hotel on your next stay with us which I hope is in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They helped us to organise some excursions and offered us discounts. The rooms are tastefully decorated and cleaned every day to a high standard. We really liked the small touches such as the welcome drinks and the towels folded into elephants when we arrived. The air conditioning system was brilliant - much needed in Aug. The breakfast is good too - you are given a choice of asian, american or european breakfast and each comes with fruit, tea/coffee and fruit juice. The location is also brilliant - within walking distance of many temples and pretty much all the tourist attractions in Chiang Mai. The only thing I wouldn't recommend is the massages at the spa at the reception of this hotel. I think you could get better treatments elsewhere in Chiang Mai. The massage we had were sub standard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banana12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

We would like to say thank you very very much for your comments and we really do appreciate that you have had a good time while your staying with us. We will pass on your comments to our team. They will be delighted to read them. I am sure they will help us to keep and even improve our commitment to guest service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I recently stayed here with 3 friends and had an amazing time. This boutique-style hotel is located in the heart of Chiang Mai, walking distance to the night bazaar and restaurants and bars. The rooms were basic, but clean and brightly painted.

It is not overly fancy, but has a lot of heart and the staff absolutely make the experience memorable. They went out of their way to accommodate us and make us feel welcome. One morning our tour for elephant trekking was picking us up before the hotel's breakfast started, and the staff made sure we could be served earlier than normal so that we were not hungry on our tour.

If you're looking for a decently priced hotel in the center of Chiang Mai, look no further. I also recommend spending a few days in Chiang Mai, as we wished we had more time there.

Room Tip: We stayed in a basic room, but our friends had been upgraded to the ancient parasol room (due to ove...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments about Parasol Inn Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your holidays so much. I will share with our team your comments about their positive attitude towards the costumers which is one of our goal .
In addition we are especially pleased to see that you love our hotel staff and enjoyed your stay.

I really look forward to welcoming you in your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This is a great hotel, right in the center of the Old Town. The best part was heading out the door of the hotel on Saturday night, and being right in the middle of the Saturday Walking Market. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious, and the location can't be beat.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side are darker, but much quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Our Honor Guest,
Thank you for your thoughts and comments of the hotel during your recent stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed location, views around,and our staffs. Your comments on Parasol Inn hotel have been very helpful and i will share this comments with my team.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel has all the best you wanna have for your stay in Chiang Mai; small, clean, real in the center of Old city, close to Temples.
Staff is great, always smiling and helpful.
I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiM0StOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel has a prime location inside the old city, next to the Lanna Architecture museum. It's on a main drag of temples and museums, and at a central crossroads for the Sunday walking market. The Saturday walking market is a walkable distance. Breakfast can be part of your package; we found it passable (chicken porridge was best option). There are a few cafe and Thai-style restaurants in walking distance - but be prepared for a bit of a hike if you need snacks or toothpaste.

That said, it is walkable to many main attractions: Tai Ping gate, Waroros Market, the night bazaar. The hotel can arrange most any kind of tour, transport or guide that you'd need. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and energetic. We hired a car with driver for a 1/2 day (Bt600 just for the transport) to do the Tiger Kingdom, Insect Zoo and a temple: the driver (one of the hotel staff) was very helpful with my son. There is also a foot and fish massage in the lobby, and you can arrange Thai or other full body massages through the hotel. The masseuses seem to come from a natural healing shop down a soi nearby - we saw one of my masseuses there on a morning ramble.

It can be a bit loud if your room is street-side, but it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be on Sunday ... there's a lovely folk singer at the intersection, whose voice was a soothing sendoff to sleep. The structure is concrete, but they have colorful murals on the walls in Lanna style. Unfortunately, our room was somewhat awkward in configuration, with an enormous lamp which took up the entire bedside table. Few electric outlets. TV with decent selection of cable (I travel with a teen and a tyke so this is a necessity for us). Everything was very clean, and although the water pressure wasn't amazing we had plenty of hot and good drainage. I peeked into other rooms on our floor (Antique Lanna rooms) and some were definitely better laid-out.

We are planning another trip to Chiang Mai, and this is one hotel we will stay at again! Good value for the location and service - but if you want ultra-chic, posh decor with a lot of extra amenities at your fingertips, then probably not for you.

Room Tip: If you like a good view, and don't mind traffic noise then the rooms facing front are for you. I...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyachai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Honor Guest,
It was a pleasure to read of your experience during your stay with us; I have noted your comments in relation to the electric outlet and the lamp on bed side, and will review this area with my team. I hope you have the opportunity to visit t again in the near future.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#105 of 388 in Chiang Mai
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 388 in Chiang Mai
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#13 of 777 in Chiang Mai
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 777 in Chiang Mai
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#37 of 777 in Chiang Mai
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gord Nuea Boutique House
Gord Nuea Boutique House
#27 of 891 in Chiang Mai
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality

Address: 105 / 1 Prapokklao Rd | Klangwiang Intersection, Phrasing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 777 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £26 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality is decorated with the concept of Boutique Lanna style. Thai Lanna culture is a colorful combination of various elements brought together from both historic and multi-ethnic contexts. With Chiang Mai being a place of trade along the historic Silk Road, it has been a crossroad for centuries of various cultures that make up the blend that is found here today. Our hotel is located in old town of Chiang Mai which is home to Thai historic temples, especially the world-popular Chedi Luang Temple is just a walking distance away from our hotel. In addition if you are curious for local handicrafts, Sunday Night Market where Parasol Inn Hotel just situates will definitely be an ideal shopping paradise for you. Or if you want to go further to explore more local features, a Tuk-Tuk service can be easily found in front of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing