We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personally I will not recommend to anyone I know, ever, even acquaintances.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #69 of 775 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 December 2012

I know service costs, for sure. But I didn't know it cost so much in this inn.

First of all, we have a rather intense schedule for the northern part. So basically we do plan on relying most of the tours, tickets to "friendly staff." As it turned out, the "friendly staff" cost us a Sukhothai trip, and double-priced tickets to Bangkok.

For Sukhothai trip, we asked for tickets booking when we arrived the inn, the staff warned us about the tickets will be only available at noon, Dec 24. That's after we booked a morning jungle flight tour. We cannot make it for sure, because it will be at noon when we came back from the jungle. She tried and said the ticket is fully booked. That's when we rushed to a nearby B&B and got another full priced room, and had to give up the room in Sukhothai, which we had booked a month ago.

And a new friend we met at jungle flight were on his way to Sukhothai that very night, and he said the seats are many.

For the double priced part, as we learned the false "fully-booked" situation, we decided to ask for help, two bus tickets to Bangkok in advance. "1000 bahts" the staff said "each, with taxi pick-up." At the time we didn't know the cost. But roughly it should be cost like seven or eight hundreds each, and there should be a proper taxi coming for pick-up.

Of course it's a tuk-tuk came picking us up. And the ticket to Bangkok costs less than 600 bahts each. Are you kidding me Parasol Inn?

Based on the fact above, I will NOT book this inn ever.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morissett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Our Precious Guest,
We are extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction in our hotel services on booking your tickets. We have a limited list of company that have the fix cost for our staff they are not allowed to sell on other price. We do not force our customer to buy from us as we know that our rates and standards are higher than the market price and any other hotel also does the same if they have a tour desk. We are strickly control on our system since we want to control our staff work process.
Thank you for sparing your time in bringing this matter to our attention and we sincerely hope that you will have no further cause for any complaint in our service. Your comments will help us serve you and our entire guest better in the future.
We apologize for the annoyance/inconvenience that this may have caused to you. The hotel is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.
We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2012

i stayed at Parasol Inn for 2 nights late november and i really had a great stay rooms are big, clean, staff is so helpful and friendly, very good location and nice restaurant. i do recommend it and would love to be back again

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeshmeshCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Dear Our Precious Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words. I will be passing on your feedback to my team. I was delighted that you liked your overall experience our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back personally on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

Right in the centre of the old city. Staff were helpful (as they should be, they get a commission for all services the give business too!). Room could be considered noisy if that bothers you? Not me! Plenty of cheaper around that'll offer the same though. All services are at your finger tips and everything is within walking distance. Except the planes trains and buses!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jjhastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Our Precious Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words. I will be passing on your feedback to my team. I was delighted that you liked your overall experience our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back personally on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

There was mix up with my booking. Staff went out of their way to help securing me a room in a nearby hotel for one night even paying the extra cost. I was escorted to other hotel and in the morning staff came to carry my luggage back to Parasol once my room was ready. Staff also helped with booking bus to Sukhothai and organised for same day service for my laundry. 10 out of 10 for excellent customer service would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMN1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Our Precious Guest,
We would like to say thank you very very much for your comments and we really do appreciate that you have had a good time while your staying with us. We look to be in your service in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed in this hotel only for one night. The reception looks nice, clean and cozy, however, the receptionist will require to copy your credit card even if you pay for the room ahead. The reason is that they want to be sure that you do not steal from the minibar without paying. Actually, before leaving the hotel the next morning, the staff checked the room whether everything was present... We did not like this approach and felt as if we were not trustworthy enough. This has happend neither in the other hotel in Chiang Mai nor in other places in Thailand.

We booked a taxi from the reception, we were told that the rate is 150 BHT. The other morning, the other receptionist told us that we did not confirm the taxi in the evening (we were not told to) and therefore, it was cancelled. The "morning rate" for the taxi was 200 BHT.

The room itself is ok, the bathroom was clean. There is no lift. As the hotel is located on a busy street, it tends to be noisy at night. The location itself is great, next to Thapae gate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frfloska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear our valued customer,
First of all we like to apologize for the misunderstanding about our hotel credit card policy. Our staff may express it in a wrong phrase. By asking for your credit card means that you are committing yourself to pay for the charges that may occur during your stay with us. When our hotel takes your credit card information, it's not immediately charging you. For transportation you must have not read in our room and website on price offer which we have made clear on timing and customer need to book and make payment for confirmation.
Once again on my behalf i am sorry for the inconvenience that my staff may have caused during your stay. We hope to be the best service for you in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is my second review of this hotel and it is still excellent. Stayed for 10 days and we were made to feel as if we were at home. Rooms are good and clean location of hotel could not be better close to restaurants and on the door step for the Sunday walking market.Staff are excellent and very friendly.Breakfast could be better buffet style would be a good idea.Will be staying again next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirdmanPatong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Dear Our Precious Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words. Love to hear that it is your second visit at our hotel. I will be passing on your feedback to my team. I was delighted that you liked your overall experience our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back personally on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is a small hotel near the centre of Chiang Mai. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The room was a good size and clean, however housekeeping tended to forget to restock the coffee and toilet paper, and towels one one occasion, which were later delivered without having to request them. The bed is also extremely firm. The hotel is next to a temple and is within walking distance of many more. Sunday night markets are right outside the door. My partner enjoyed several massages within the hotel, prices are good. There is an attached restaurant with good food, but does not seem to be open for dinner. This is not an issue as there are quite a few places to eat within a few minutes walk. Free internet which is great

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bje2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Dear Our Precious Guest,
I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am very pleased to read your review concerning our housekeeping service about tissue, coffee and towel. I have already ask my general manager to investigate our housekeeping department of this issue. Now corrective action has been taken by using house keeping check list. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#104 of 386 in Chiang Mai
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#31 of 386 in Chiang Mai
970 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 775 in Chiang Mai
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 775 in Chiang Mai
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#34 of 775 in Chiang Mai
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gord Nuea Boutique House
Gord Nuea Boutique House
#28 of 884 in Chiang Mai
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality

Address: 105 / 1 Prapokklao Rd | Klangwiang Intersection, Phrasing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 775 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £26 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality is decorated with the concept of Boutique Lanna style. Thai Lanna culture is a colorful combination of various elements brought together from both historic and multi-ethnic contexts. With Chiang Mai being a place of trade along the historic Silk Road, it has been a crossroad for centuries of various cultures that make up the blend that is found here today. Our hotel is located in old town of Chiang Mai which is home to Thai historic temples, especially the world-popular Chedi Luang Temple is just a walking distance away from our hotel. In addition if you are curious for local handicrafts, Sunday Night Market where Parasol Inn Hotel just situates will definitely be an ideal shopping paradise for you. Or if you want to go further to explore more local features, a Tuk-Tuk service can be easily found in front of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing