We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Great Hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #70 of 710 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

With only two days in Chaing Mai, this was exactly the hotel we were looking for. It is in the absolute best location for seeing local Wats and it's not very expensive. The hotel was clean, included breakfast was good, and staff was extremely helpful with our questions about local transportation.

The only (small) complaint was that we visited during the absolute hottest time of year and every time we left the room they turned our AC off! Pro tip: hide the remote to the AC somewhere sneaky.

Room Tip: No elevator, pick a room low to ground if you have lots of luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,
We highly appreciate your comments and thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Parasol Inn Hotel Chiang Mai. It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Your feedback regarding our service on closing the air condition in our guest room is our hotel policy since we are a green hotel but we are extremely sorry that we have hot put up a sign to let it be noticed and this issue is very important to us which need to be correct. We are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and working on improvement.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and look forward to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    142
    54
    13
    7
See reviews for
39
133
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here but we ate at the cafe every day. Their shrimp spring rolls are excellent. We enjoyed their lemon smoothies too - very refreshing. You can sit on the verandah area and watch the world pass by. Very friendly staff who made our visits extra pleasant. They had to deal with two extremely rude French toursts one time we were there. They were so polite to the rude man and his equally rude female companion. We felt so embarassed for them having to deal with tourists like that. Thais are so consistently polite, even to those who don't deserve it. Recommended for a meal or refreshments. The prices are good and the food is fresh.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Truffle1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Our Precious Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words. I will be passing on your feedback to my team. I was delighted that you liked restaurant terrace experience at our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back personally on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, Rhone-Alpes, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Very kindly staff, available for all questions about the city or tour guide, everybody speaks a very good english. They helped us to book our trip in Chiang Mai with good advices to do most activities in less time. Room comfortable and clean. The location is really well-placed, near different markets and next to the three best temples. There is the public bus stop from the airport just nearby.
They also allowed us to take a shower after cheking out before taking the plane - so kind, although after a day with elephants !!!!
We highly recommand this hotel.

Room Tip: No elevator but just 3 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIEAgathe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Our Precious Guest,
We would like to say thank you very very much for your comments and we really do appreciate that you have had a good time while your staying with us. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience and look forward to welcome you again soon.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

The hotel is located right in the centre of the walled city, adjacent to one of the numerous temples, on the junction of two quite busy roads. Check in process was quick, the receptionists friendly. The room was quite large with "an elephant theme". The huge downside was that the room didn't have any daylight: the only window in the room led to the bathroom... which had another window but only 20cm away from another building. Bathroom was basic with shower, pan and basin. Bear that in mind when you book the room, however the rooms on the opposite side of the hall had large windows looking to the road. There was complimentary drinking water in the room and wifi (they seem to have ongoing problem with it). Breakfast was very basic and the same food every day (egg, toast, juice, tea/coffee). Hotel do the affordable laundry service (quite useful after mountain cycling in mud) and you find your clothes neatly folded. On checking out the receptionist walked us outside and hailed the tuk tuk for us (nice gesture).
We will not be coming back to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arek80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Our Precious Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to reply to our questionnaire following your stay at Parasol Inn Chiangmai. Parasol Inn is dedicated to offering you the best possible service for your stays, and your opinion is very important to us. We once again thank you for your suggestion. We have already have plan in make over our property as our first priority even improving our hotel breakfast menu & the deadline we launch all new picture and facilities to Trip Advisor as soon as we are completed. We also create a new staff team to make a better service with a decent service to suit our new makeover. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at one of our hotel.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Some staff were friendly, others not so much. Room is very basic (and I think I had one of the nicer ones!). Bed was a cheap mattress on a cheap platform. Moved after staying one night.
Moved to the Sri Pat Guest House which was cheaper and WAY nicer. Quite beautiful in fact.
This is a central location, especially for night market, but it's very easy to get around all areas of the walled city and I would chose a better hotel for a slightly longer commute, especially if staying a few days or more.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank journeyjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Our Precious Guest,
Hello, thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a comment regarding our property. I would like to apologize for the mattress issue that you had for this stay, we will make sure that we get that corrected for you and our upcoming guests. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again. With yours and other reviews it is time for us to upgrade our property which is already in our plans. We will update all our new hotel looks and facilities once we have completed. Please feel free to contact me if there I may of be of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

The hotel is right at the center place of the famous sunday market. The location is really very good. some famous temples are also around the hotel.
hotel staff are nice. The hotel provides tourist infos and services including car-rent. The restaruant with it is good, with breakfast.
rooms are ok, not small. problems are rooms near the street will be a little noisy on Sunday.
I will reconmend this hotel. and if I come to chingmai next time, I will choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: not choose rooms near the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peacedeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about Parasol Inn on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your holidays among us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your facilities and services so much. We will pass on your comments to our team. They will be delighted to read them. I am sure they will help us to keep and even improve our commitment to guest service.

Additionally, we are especially pleased to see that you enjoyed the food at our restaurant. Next visit we advice to to book a room at the back to avoid noise from Sunday Walking Street.

We will continue working to improve our services following your comments and would have pleasure in welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

A perfect hotel for a trip to Chiang Mai, a really Thai style hotel in one of the most typical Thai cities. Perfect location, inside the old town, close to a few good restaurants and a few minutes walking to the center, very clean, stall very friendly and helpful, we have a pleasant stay and every time we would return to Chiang Mai, surely this will be our hotel to stay. The only thing is the hotel don't have lift but the staff is very attentive and they always took care of our luggage, so it wasn't a problem at all .... unless if you have any kind of phisycal limitations.

Room Tip: All rooms were perfect, but if you want a little more quiet just choose a room with windows to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JoaoGomes48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear our precious guest,
Thank you for your great review on staying at our Parasol Inn on your recent visit in Chiang Mai. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay plus our staff. I will share your comments with my team and thank you once again for your kind reviews. For the elevator we are so sorry since our building structure is quite difficult to install.
All our team look forward to welcome you back in the future.
"Our goal is to satisfy our customer needs"
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#15 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#34 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#13 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Vieng Mantra Hotel
#49 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Log Home Boutique Hotel
Log Home Boutique Hotel
#64 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Chiang Mai Hotel
At Chiang Mai Hotel
#48 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Property: Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Address: 105 / 1 Prapokklao Rd | Klangwiang Intersection, Phrasing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel in the center of Chiang Mai City old town. Right infront of sunday walking street. Easy access to all temples and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing