We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel right in the old town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #105 of 833 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel within walking distance to the temples in the old town. Decent price with breakfast included. Nothing spectacular but western options are fine. Very clean rooms with a safe included.
Quite a bit of street noise so wear earplugs to sleep.
Staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English and can assist in booking tours. Enjoyed our one night stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catskitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Catskitravel,
Thanks for the great feedback and perfect score!

I am pleased you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel is well-placed, almost in the exact middle of the old city. It's
especially convenient for Chiang Mai's amazing Sunday evening walking market,
if you are lucky enough to stay there on a Sunday night. However, the hotel
could use some updating. Some rooms face the street and are big and bright,
but very noisy. Modern sealed (but openable) windows would help. But other
rooms have a window that opens only into their private bathrooms, which in turn
have a window that opens into the alley. These rooms are quieter, but lack
natural ventilation and smell musty. If you have allergies, you should avoid
these rooms. The Wifi is weak, as others have said in their review. Also as
others have said, most of the staff is helpful but a few are not. Finally, the
hallways are old-school - concrete floors and solid wooden doors without seals,
so you hear every footstep and every door closing - day and night. It would
be a good hotel if they renovated it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Marc L,

Thank you for your comments. We will look into your suggestion.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The location is great, right the middle of old Town and easy to walk most places or cheap tuk tuk ride. The rooms are nice and brightly painted and the beds are comfortable. All of the staff were also very nice and helpful. On the downside, it's noisy, a lot of the rooms don't have windows, the WiFi is quite slow and it smelt a little damp. However, these are only small points and we'd recommend it for sure but would try somewhere else on or next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDGallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear JDGallie,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our team friendly and helpful.
I appreciate your review and comments in regards to a damp room & slow wifi which we now have take a big step in clearing out this issue. Unfortunately being close to the action in Sunday Market does mean traffic noise is a factor, but if you do choose to stay with us again we have rooms available down the back of the building near the which are very quiet. Please ask to be allocated here. For our hotel we do have room with window on all front side as by requested in description of our room types in our website. We look forward to seeing you again and once again thank you so much for your reviews. We grow by our customer comments. Thank you.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed only one night and left early to catch a flight so missed the breakfast. Clean comfortable, brightly painted room. Great location for visiting sights in inner city. Friendly helpful staff. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear endepete,

I am pleased my team were helpful and friendly and you found our rooms comfortable, which are probably the two most important factors to a good hotel stay.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We're just enjoying our last night of a four night stay here at the Parasol Inn, it's been fantastic, a really great, central location & the staff have been really friendly. Especially my new best friend who calls me Ryan Gosling (I wish!)
It's a great base, & they will book tours for you & taxis/restaurants etc. The terrace bar is also very handy for a drink!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MichaelC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are really happy to receive your reviews. We are committed to providing the highest level of service to all of our customers, and we take your feedback seriously. Once again thank you very much for your kind words. We will be looking forward to your next stay with us.


Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We are staying at the Parasol inn and have been here for 4 nights. Overall it's a nice, no frills hotel, very centrally located. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, but no windows! A bit of trouble with getting the hot water just right - first too cold and now too hot.
Beware that if you are here on a Sunday, the Night market stretches for a mile in all directions right in front of the hotel and it gets very very crowded - we basically couldn't walk anywhere and just stayed put on the terrace.
The only negative is breakfast - same every day and very basic. No selection at all, either Asian style, or American style with eggs or only 2 white bread toasts with jam, that's it....but there are plenty if cafés around so we walk over yo get a much better coffee and a croissant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svetmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

We thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciated the quality of our room, the comfort bed and our location.

Concerning our breakfast we are sorry that it was simple every day as we think it depends what do you expect for it cause we have already 4 selections standard to choose from. We agree with you that it is simple but you have to take in consideration all the items we are proposing.
For Sunday Market it is the most popular thing to do in Chiang Mai i am surprise you did not like it but for the noise this year we will do a double glass for all our room so this issue will not disturb our customer any longer.

We are looking forward the pleasure to welcome you during your next trip to Chiang Mai.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated in a prime location in the very heart of the old city only a short walk from some of the most famous sites.

Our room was well decorated and very clean and the staff here are incredibly nice and very attentive.

If you want to be at the Sunday market this is the hotel for you. The market is directly in front of the hotel!

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PtownNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

We thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciated the quality of our room, and our location.

We are looking forward the pleasure to welcome you during your next trip to Chiang Mai.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#47 of 402 in Chiang Mai
529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#86 of 402 in Chiang Mai
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#18 of 833 in Chiang Mai
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Bear's Home
Little Bear's Home
#89 of 833 in Chiang Mai
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pak Chiang Mai
Pak Chiang Mai
#32 of 833 in Chiang Mai
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality

Address: 105 / 1 Prapokklao Rd | Klangwiang Intersection, Phrasing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 833 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £27 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality is decorated with the concept of Boutique Lanna style. Thai Lanna culture is a colorful combination of various elements brought together from both historic and multi-ethnic contexts. With Chiang Mai being a place of trade along the historic Silk Road, it has been a crossroad for centuries of various cultures that make up the blend that is found here today. Our hotel is located in old town of Chiang Mai which is home to Thai historic temples, especially the world-popular Chedi Luang Temple is just a walking distance away from our hotel. In addition if you are curious for local handicrafts, Sunday Night Market where Parasol Inn Hotel just situates will definitely be an ideal shopping paradise for you. Or if you want to go further to explore more local features, a Tuk-Tuk service can be easily found in front of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing