We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, and great location”
Review of Vipa House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vipa House
Ranked #248 of 384 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friendly, and great location”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed here for one night. In low season the rooms are fantastic value at 450 baht per night. (The first floor rooms are larger and more expensive) Large clean room. TV, fridge etc, though the fridge is only stocked with water (not a minibar).
The staff are very helpful and speak good english, as does the owner who is a retired Thai schoolteacher. The location is in a soi off the infamous Loy Kroh road home of many bars and massage places, therefore the location may not be suitable for familiies with children. It was noisy in the corridor late at night with a lot of slamming doors. There is a good coffee shop on the ground floor. A 24hr minimart is oppostite the hotel. The main problem with this location is that it is on a very small road (soi) and the hotel only has parking for three cars. It is very well located for the night bazaar (10 min walk) and the Sunday walking street and the moat (10 min walk).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoko42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
9
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Vipa house, once on my way to Chiang Rai and again on my return
Comfortable large clean rooms, friendly staff and very well located off Loi Kroh so close to the night bazaar, bars and restaurants

I would call it a good three star, it has all the usual room amenities so I won't re-list them and it does have free wifi

The only negative is no lift but to be fair the higher floors are cheaper, and they are great value to start with, 1000 bt to 700 bt on my trip

I've stayed in several hotels in this area and if you want a comfy, friendly place to stay at unbeatable value, this is it. I'll be back

Try Marco's at the end of the soi for an evening meal and The No1 on the way for a drink

Room Tip: Lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Premitrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay here....we could easily walk to the night markets.
The room was comfy, spacious, clean; and the staff were helpful. The breakfast (not included) was yummy too.
It would be better if they had free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanamiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Great hotel,great staff,great location-the list goes on.I have stayed in hotels all over Thailand and this is one of the best in the price range i paid.I have found no better staff anywhere in the world,nothing was to much trouble for them day or night and my stay was a real pleasure.Rooms large and cleaned on request,everything worked-no complaints about anything.
This was my first visit to Vipa house,to be quickly followed up by my second when i book next year.
Spoil yourself and give it a try.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vikings007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2008

The hotel is not fancy but what made Vipa House great was the people that worked there and the location. The rooms are very confortable and for the prices they charge for rooms I wonder how they make any money. I will be staying there next year for a couple of months.
Thanks again Vipa House

  • Liked — the service and location
  • Disliked — no lift
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kngdady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

The VIPA house was a great place. I was very happy with everything, the rooms are clean and larger than most, great food, friendly staff, excellent location (situated close to everything on Loi Kroh Road. It's located between the Sunday Market and the Night bazaar). The price of the rooms are very reasonable. The rooms range from 400 to 900 baht per night. (depending on the season). Monthly rates are also available from around 7,500 to 12,000 baht (also depending on the season). My room was very clean and comfortable and included air conditioning, room fan, daily cleaning if needed, wireless internet for my laptop computer, hot shower with good water pressure, refrigerator, cable tv, a large comfortable bed (or twin beds are available). Internet and computer are also available in the lobby, inexpensive laundry service with ironing is available daily and cheap transportation is always nearby. .
They have a safe in the hotel, but I never used it because I never felt like I needed it.
I have stayed in many places not nearly this nice for a lot more money, you will not be dissapointed. Just keep in mind you are not paying for a 5 star hotel, so don't expect The HILTON,
You can also check out their website, If you have any other questions, please email me at westbounder@yahoo.com

Joe G. USA

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JWG500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2007

This hotel (sometimes referred to as a guesthouse) is what I'd call a 3 star property.
The hotel is modern and clean with reasonably spacious bedrooms.
Situated in Soi 1 of Loi Kroh Road, it is in a quiet position, but very close to bars, billiard bars, restaurants, and very handy for the night bazaar.
Just a few minutes walk from the moat.
ATM machine and 7/11 stores not far away.
Attached to the hotel is a bar that also acts as breakfast bar for guests, cooking local cheap food as well as American style breakfasts. There is also a massage school and travel agents attached.

  • Liked — Functional and clean
  • Disliked — All OK, nothing disliked
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Roong Ruang Hotel
Roong Ruang Hotel
#168 of 384 in Chiang Mai
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#253 of 384 in Chiang Mai
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#156 of 384 in Chiang Mai
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#124 of 384 in Chiang Mai
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#301 of 384 in Chiang Mai
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tapae Place Hotel
Tapae Place Hotel
#157 of 384 in Chiang Mai
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vipa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vipa House

Property: Vipa House
Address: 14-14/1, Loikroh Lane 1 Rd. | Changkhlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 384 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vipa House 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vipa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing