We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good location, clean rooms”
Review of Eagle House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eagle House
Ranked #216 of 775 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Eagle House is very well located off a quiet lane on the outskirts of the Old City. There is a pretty garden where you can relax and enjoy a refreshing fruit juice and a tasty breakfast. Other food is available throughout the day and evening but we only ate breakfast here.

The room was basic but clean and the a/c worked well to keep the temperature comfortable.

They are able to provide a driver to take you to any attractions you want to visit and can also advise on local transport, by which I mean share taxis and tuk tuks.

Very reasonably priced for the location and quality of accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Eagle House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Hello: Spent 3 weeks at this lovely guest house. Rooms are clean and staff are excellent at handling your requests. They prepare excellent budget priced meals or snacks. Very quiet location and beautiful garden area for relaxing or talking to other guests. The treks are second to none and i never heard any negative comments from any of the guests in the 3 weeks i was there. The cooking class was the highlight of my trip very hands on with a very professional cook and instructor. You can cook anything you want to from their suggestions or something original that you decide you would like to cook. The other 5 participants that attended the day long course all had high praise for the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

After Bangkok, I needed to save a bit of money.

There is both Eagle House 1 and 2.
I stayed at Eagle House 1, their main location.

Room was clean with a/c. Mattress worn, blankets worn.

Great location for value. I paid 340 baht per night.

Good food at the outdoor restaurant/garden for a good price.

Excellent tours at a cheap rate compared to what other hotels in Chiang Mai are charging for the same thing.

Friendly, English speaking reception.

Cat House down the street offers an excellent, reasonable dining alternative. Food is Thai-fusion and attracts foreigners looking for a good coffee or breakfast curry burrito.

Also good for the wifi, since Eagle House did seem to have an issue with their wifi being consistent.

Room was moldy smelling.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berlinluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Have stayed in Eagle House for the 4th time. First time over 20 year ago. Annette is still there to visit you in person. She speaks English, German, French and even Thai so you if you have a question she can help you. The ambiance has stayed friendly, the green shady garden with lots of tables is great for getting to know other travelers. If you have time try to book a 3 or 4 day trek with Eagle, the English speaking guides take such good care of you. I always do one of these longer treks as I enjoy spending the night with the various hill tribes; for me drinking tea in one of the villagers huts is a treat; Though I don't speak a word of Thai and they speak no English we always seem to have fun. Neve get tired of Bamboo rafting or riding on the elephants either.

Room Tip: I prefer a room on the upper level
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christinemaria2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Before we arrived at Eagle House my friend and I were emailing Annette from the hotel to arrange a trek through them. She was extremely helpful and sorted it all out for us which was really great. Once we got to the hostel the staff were very friendly and even though it was about 5am found us a room (which was very clean and comfortable). The trek we went on was amazing - our guide was great and even though Chiang Mai treks are a big tourist attraction we only once bumped into other tourists. Would highly recommend Eagle House and their treks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Theres not much to say; its a very good place to stay. Its just outside the old city of chiang mai, they have decent rooms for good prices and they have really good food. Also; they have a lot of information about things you can do and are able to help you with practically anything. Booked a jungle trekking there and my trainticket back to bangkok! Recommending this place for backpackers that want a little privacy and couples of any age!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guido1010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Two Irish travellers having done a trek before in Vietnam can say this is a well recommended company to tour with. The success of any trek doesn't necessarily mean the surrounds but the quality of the guide. Our guide was montree who was very entertaining from start to finish, full of info on the local area and a great facilitator to suit all our needs.

Food was the best wev had since coming to Thailand, lots of swimming throughout the days to help cool us off, and bamboo rafting to finish was the highlight!

If your looking for a trustworthy company to do a trek with this is it!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chickabubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Northlands House Hotel
Northlands House Hotel
#154 of 386 in Chiang Mai
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#21 of 775 in Chiang Mai
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#6 of 775 in Chiang Mai
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#25 of 882 in Chiang Mai
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#82 of 775 in Chiang Mai
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baan Hanibah
Baan Hanibah
#24 of 775 in Chiang Mai
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle House

Address: 16 Chang Moi Gao Road | Soi 3, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 775 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Eagle House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing