We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Eagle House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eagle House
Ranked #245 of 732 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I visited Eagle house in May 2008m and now would not stay anywhere else in CM it is very friendly, with lots going on and plenty of 'real' people. Annette is always willing to help and full of local information. Why pay more?

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lachlan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    34
    22
    17
    8
See reviews for
7
37
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Just avoid it unless you're broke. It's noisy, dirty and big. The staff wasn't overly helpful, which for me usually isn't a problem. Here though it was because I was placed on the ground floor in a room with a shifty lock. I brought up my concern and asked if I could be moved. The front desk did nothing, just told me they were full.
If you have a bit more money (ie $12 night) and don't mind being in a less backpacker area, head towards the Wat Cheudi Luang. It's a trendy area (one that seems popular with yuppies and thai punks) that is a lot quieter. (There is one hotel, the U Chiang Mai, that does have a slightly loud bar (subwoofer), but this only affects Le Bateau Ivre.) Most of the places seemed clean and the restuarants/bars are a lot more laid back. Another advantage is being located so close to the temples; you get a better idea of regular Thai life.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibbyBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We were very disappointed with this guest house. They promised alot but delivered very little. The staff did not seem to want to help us book treks, travel arrangements, tour guides. We asked prior to arriving in Thailand if we could book all our trekking excursions in advance. We were advised and reassured that this would be done when we arrived. However, when we arrived, no one seemed to want to help us. Other guests also noticed this. It got as bad as being given completely false information. The room was deplorable and the atmosphere seemed to be suited to a youth group home ("no this, no that"). We just ended up leaving to avoid any further frustration. We would highly recommend you skip this one.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce_McG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2009

All is basic, could do with some maintenance...
just stay oiver here when you really need cheap accomodation; our room was clean, there was a fan/ aircon and shower was ok.
Also location is perfect.

Big downfall is the noise and the very very hard matresses....

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arjancc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We thought Eagle House 2 was great. Clean room with air con, a fan and hot water was pretty cheap for two people. The cooking class was awesome and the trek was pretty good as well. The staff was very friendly and helpful - they made our stay very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend it :)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jto84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Trecks and cooking school are good but the place is a dump. Only stay there if you cannot afford anothe place.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjun12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2007

We stayed in Eagle House 2. We arrived in Chiang Mai on the sleeper train and they came and collected us from the station for free. We knew we wanted to go trekking and had heard good things about this guest house so we called in advance to book. The room was big but unclean. There was hot water and a western toilet but the beds were hard and the room painted in such loud colors it was horrible! The worst thing was the noise - across the street is a bar which plays loud music and karaoke until at least midnight, I found it really difficult to sleep. The trek however was amazing, our guide Doh, grew up in a Karyn village so could not only speak Thai and Karyn fluently but also English. There were 7 people in our group, so it wasn't massive. We were made to really feel part of Doh's community though as he seemed to know everyone and also got to really understand how life works for the mountain people. So go treking with them but unless you're deaf or an insomniac don't stay here!!

  • Liked — The trek
  • Disliked — The noise and the dirt.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank carlosthejackal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.0 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#72 of 732 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Battery Park Villa
The Battery Park Villa
#137 of 821 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nat Len Boutique Guesthouse
Nat Len Boutique Guesthouse
#114 of 821 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#73 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle House

Property: Eagle House
Address: 16 Chang Moi Gao Road | Soi (Lane) 3, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Eagle House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing