We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sleep, quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viang Thapae Resort
Ranked #51 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Good sleep, quality hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Good location, Hotel locate near old city,Small room very comfortable Bed,quiet during a night time,Clean small pool good for relax at the poolside,Nice ambience, breakfast could be better if they improved breakfast variety, we were having same food for 3 days.accommodating and friendly staff. We have a Pleasant stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Step G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuTai T, ผู้จัดการ at Viang Thapae Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2015
Thank you very much for your kindly review for our property, we hope you have a good memories during your stay with us at our place.

We, looking forwards to saving you again in the near further.

With my warm regards,
Narin Kajai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    90
    27
    11
    2
See reviews for
40
112
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I cut short my stay here. My room (and the one next door) were dark and dingy (no proper windows, certainly no view) and the WiFi hardly works in the room (only in lobby area). The rave first reviews sound suspiciously generous to me, and don't tally with what I found. (I'd like to see IP addresses). Front desk staff perfectly nice and helpful etc but there is no fitness centre, and the pool is tiny, and I don't think it's fair to describe it as a new hotel when it is an old building with no elevator and some recently refurbished rooms, some of which are small, and which have glass paines in the door covered by a curtain, leaving me paranoid about privacy. I don't understand their pricing at 3500 baht per night, when for an extra 500 baht you can stay at a top hotel like the Meridien, and for 500 baht less you can stay 20 metres up the road at the De Chai Colonial which is far better. Not a bad hotel but very overpriced at the moment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuTai T, ผู้จัดการ at Viang Thapae Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2015
Thank you very much for your kindly review for our property, we hope you have a good memories during your stay with us at our place.

We, looking forwards to saving you again in the near further.

With my warm regards,
Narin Kajai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

All over clean and good roomstandard. Aircondition isnt as noisy as in many other hotels. Staff does a good job to keep the hotel clean all over all of the day. The hotel itself is located a short walk away from the main road, so theres not much noise, even on daytime. There's, however construction on one side of the hotel, so if you are booking in the next 3-4 months from now and like to sleep in, make sure to book room on the other side of it

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Linn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuTai T, ผู้จัดการ at Viang Thapae Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2015
Thank you very much for your kindly review for our property, we hope you have a good memories during your stay with us at our place.

We, looking forwards to saving you again in the near further.

With my warm regards,
Narin Kajai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week was very nice. Nice ambience for breakfast near the pond. Very friendly staff and owner. Cute Pool. Parking for our car. Excellent place to stay not far from night market and Thapae Gate

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackothailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuTai T, ผู้จัดการ at Viang Thapae Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2015
Thank you very much for your kindly review for our property, we hope you have a good memories during your stay with us at our place.

We, looking forwards to saving you again in the near further.

With my warm regards,
Narin Kajai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We originally were going to stay 5 nights here & then try somewhere else but we were so happy here we stayed 9 nights. The hotel has only been open 1 month, everything is spotless including the pool. All the staff are keen to help. Although the pool area isn't very big there's a roof top terrace with some day beds. And despite the hotel being small, the buffet breakfast is great. The hotel is close to the night markets & the old city. Definitely recommend this place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mei Lin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuTai T, ผู้จัดการ at Viang Thapae Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2015
Thank you very much for your kindly review for our property, we hope you have a good memories during your stay with us at our place.

We, looking forwards to saving you again in the near further.

With my warm regards,
Narin Kajai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The staff at the front desk were so helpful. One night, they even escorted me part of the way to the night markets to show me the way. They also arranged a tour and helped me with everything I needed. The tropical gardens were a lovely place to have breakfast to start the day. It's a real sanctuary away from the busy streets as it all faces inwards to a beautiful swimming pool. After some rain, my bathroom started to smell blocked so they helped me move to another room straight away which was really nice. I had lunch in the restaurant, it was very tasty. As a lone female traveller, I felt safe, comfortable and really well looked after.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmascott2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuTai T, ผู้จัดการ at Viang Thapae Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2015
Thank you very much for your kindly review for our property, we hope you have a good memories during your stay with us at our place.

We, looking forwards to saving you again in the near further.

With my warm regards,
Narin Kajai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We loved our stay close for walking to restaurants and markets. Great help and advice with booking tours and taxi. Good pool and enjoyed having breakfast in beautiful outdoor area. Very happy with all aspects.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuTai T, ผู้จัดการ at Viang Thapae Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2015
Thank you very much for your kindly review for our property, we hope you have a good memories during your stay with us at our place.

We, looking forwards to saving you again in the near further.

With my warm regards,
Narin Kajai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#43 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
BanThai Village
BanThai Village
#37 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#44 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viang Thapae Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viang Thapae Resort

Property: Viang Thapae Resort
Address: 47 Soi 4 Thapae Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viang Thapae Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort located in the center of Chiang Mai. Built on an area of 2 rai on Thapae road, the 800 years old road which is the signature of Chiang Mai. Only 20 minutes to Chiang Mai international airport and 5 minutes to Chiang Mai fomous places such as Warorot market, Thapae Gate, Sunday walking street, Night Bazaar, flower market, many beautiful temples, various restaurants and shopping stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viang Thapae Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing