We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff at no frills guest house”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of B.M.P. Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B.M.P. Residence
Ranked #313 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff at no frills guest house”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the BMP guest house for 3 nights in July 2012. We had two different rooms, the second much nicer than the first, but they had all the basics. It's worth getting a room with AC, and the water pressure is pretty much non-existant, but that seemed to be the case throughout the city. There's a nice pool at the BMP Resident which is a short walk away. It's a typical backpacker place with a hostel-like atmosphere, good for something you won't spend a lot of time at.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and I really liked that it was family run (they even ate breakfast together). Overall it's very satisfactory as long as you aren't expecting luxury.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allthecolors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    81
    107
    85
    143
See reviews for
21
164
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We were offered this place by a tourist office in Bangkok during our stay in Viengtai hotel when we booked our trip to Chiang Mai. We had a three-bed-room with a/c and enjoyed our stay. The staff is friendly, the arrangements for tours and pick-ups are punctually and the rooms are clean. Only the bathroom is very small and the shower was right next to the toilet. I would recommend it as a place to meet other backpackers and start your tours from there. The room was quiet because it is a 15 min walk away from the main attractions and the beds were more than ok. I would definately give it a try. Ask for the 2 day trekking tour! We enjoyed it a lot with other nice people and our wonderful tourguide Jayjay alias "Jungleboy"!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schilling2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My first off impression was not bad as I was only there for a night. It's very basic, but hot water and chea as chips!

They allowed me to keep my back pack in the locker room for 1 week whilst I was at the Elephant Nature Park and I paid for 2 more nights after my trip, without stupidly getting a reciept! However things changed and I decided I wanted to go to Pai instead so....

I turned up and told the woman on reception she demanded to know why I was not staying (!!) and then (although I never was expecting a refund) demanded to see my receipt for refund. I told her I didn't have one and she asked me who served me the day I left????? I don't know!!!! She got quite stroppy and said "no refund" Which as I say I was expecting.

I would have given a more positive report had it not been for her rudeness and lack of knowledge on what staff work when and for relying on me to give her all the details on her staff!!!!!

Not too bad if you are passing through like I was and if you don't mind walking 20 - 30 mins to the main part of Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelleyhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I only stayed two nights, one before and one after a jungle trek, but I liked it. They have pretty good food, a bar, comfortable rooms, they're very helpful with anything travel-related. I rented a scooter while staying here, and drove it around the city a bit. It can be kinda crazy so be careful.
Tell Mr. Promise and Mr. Sun Neil says 'hi!'

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I've stayed at BMP 2 times already and always liked. Of course its not 5 star hotel but the rooms are clean and reasonably priced. I don't understand why people mind that you have the shower and toilet in one room. Thats very common in Thailand and I have found in all the places I have stayed. The pool is nice and you can chill out in the sun after the trekking, which was amazing by the way. I was travelling on my own and met great people on the track I went travelling with in Laos after that. The staff is also very helpful and friendly. The restaurant is ok, you can get better food outside but the cocktails and drinks are cheap. At night they have live music so its a good option to kick off the night. Overall I had an awesome time at BMP.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I liked this accomodation. Ok so the rooms are a bit dirty and need a revamp BMP but there is air con, safety deposit boxes (which you use your own padlock), a nice pool and pool area, and a good bar/restaraunt area. BMP also offers a free shuttle to and from the train station. Sometimes though, it can be quite noisy at night due to other guests making noise.

I recommend basing yourself here for going a a 1 or 2 night trek. We did a 2 day/1 night trek and it was fantastic! It was really well organised, our tour guide 'Joshua' was great and BMP held our bags in the luggage room whilst we were gone.

BMP is about 15 minutes walk from the night bizarre in Chiang Mai .

Room Tip: The rooms near the luggage room in the other building are a bit quieter at night compared to the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 02kel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We did not book directly with B.M.P. resident but with T.I.T. travel agency in Bangkok. We did not know what was the cost of the room because we had booked 2 trips, one to Kanchanabury and the other to Bangkok (the total price was high enough to expect decent hotels). We do not mind a room that needs new decoration or a new coat of paint but we at least expect clean sheets. The sheets were only good to make rags and full of hair. It was late when we found out and we slept with our clothes on! We had paid for 3 nights but we left the next morning for another hotel. We had a superior room.

Room Tip: Look at the sheets before accepting to rent the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
Ampawan
Ampawan
#224 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#293 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#143 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#174 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.4 mi away
De KRIYA
De KRIYA
#147 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
359.6 mi away
Sarah Guest House
Sarah Guest House
#223 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B.M.P. Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.M.P. Residence

Property: B.M.P. Residence
Address: 45/1-2 Rajchiangsean Road, Soi 1 | Haiya, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — B.M.P. Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B.M.P.Residence Guest House in Chiang mai Thailand. Chiang Mai Tours and Chiang Mai Trekking Let Travel Hub Take Care of your Trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your B.M.P. Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b.m.p. Resident Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing