We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and friends but the rooms are a bit dirty”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of B.M.P. Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B.M.P. Residence
Ranked #313 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
“Good food and friends but the rooms are a bit dirty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Good place to meet new friends and a good starting point when visiting Chiang Mai. The pool is nice and the resraurant serves good food, but the rooms are a bit dirty. I'm not picky so for me it was ok.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    81
    107
    85
    143
See reviews for
21
164
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

**Firstly i shoud distinguish that I was at the BMP sister building RedBrick which is where they will default ship you if the are overbooked** I was in Chiang Mai during the Songkran festival so it was pretty much impossible to find a place in the 'downtown' city. This place was a ten minute walk from the city (beautiful walk as well). The staff were delightful, the property was gorgeous and I just remember the overall feel to be awesome :) really enjoyed this city and really liked RedBrick .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amylynnmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elst, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Booked this hotel at a TAT office combined with a 2 day jungle trek. The rooms were backpacker material. Hard matress, stained sheets, dirty floor and a poor excuse for a shower. Bar-lounge area and swimming pool were good. Jungle trek was great, guide was very nice. I would not come back to this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elstwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Good cheap place to stay and the 1 day tour was really good. The food was nice and well priced. Having breakfast included was a nice extra. When we first got to the room it smelt a bit old but the smell went before long.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JollyGreener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through the tour company, the tours, the train tickets, transfers and accommodation were all included in the price- which appeared to be good value for money.

The rooms were a massive disappointment- they are not clean, the sheets are filth, the bathroom has mould on the walls, there is no shower tray so your shower water goes everywhere-nice! 1st floor is next to a main road and a corridor so as the lights don't go off in the corridor it seeps into your room when your trying to sleep. Last but not least the smell of damp hits you like the plague when you enter the room! The pictures deceive you majorly.

The company itself did well with tours, transfers which is good when your strapped for time and just want it done for you.

The outside is decent it's busy and there are cabs ect nearby should you need them.

Would I come back or recommend? You guess...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 89ram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked this hotel through a travel agency along with bus and train tickets and a hotel for the full moon party, so didn't really get a chance to check it out online properly before we booked (As I normally would), and it was the quality that I'd expect a travel agency to advertise - not amazing but not terrible!

The hotel's best asset is it's sociable environment - it has a public area by the restaurant/bar, that also has some live music played there every night. This is where the WiFi is available (not available in rooms) so there's always plenty of people there!

BMP is good for booking day trips as it has a travel agency on site that has reasonable prices, and it's most popular activity seemed to be 1, 2 or 3 day jungle jungle trekking - we did the 2 days 1 night trek and everyone else staying there seemed to do one during their stay.

Good points:
- Staff were helpful enough and all very smiley
- food was good value and good quality at the restaurant
- the pool was pretty big and had lots of loungers around it
- bigger room than most other places we've stayed in
- travel agency makes planning very simple with plenty of ideas available
- the guitar man playing in the bar every night!
- very easy to meet other backpackers

Bad points:
- a couple of insects flying around the room but not too many
- mattresses in one room (310) were absolutely solid. I had to sleep with my neck pillow on my back because they were so uncomfortable! Mattresses in another room (A1) were better so they were a bit hit and miss.
_ a little bit out of town but not too far. All songthaews (big red open backed trucks) should be 20baht per person anywhere within the city anyway so this wasn't a major problem.
- rooms could do with a touch up but nothing drastic
- the computers behind reception have excessively slow internet but the WiFi was quite good (for Thailand)

Overall a good stay for young backpackers and a good base to have for day trips but definitely not a luxury stay if that's what you're looking for!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room in the main block behind reception on the 2nd or 3rd floor (201 - 310) as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Pretty nice place really in retrospect, had a large room, pool was nice, food was good and easy to walk into town. Staff weren't particularly helpful and we didn't have wifi in our room. It was slightly more expensive than other places but worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
Ampawan
Ampawan
#224 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#293 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#143 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#174 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.4 mi away
De KRIYA
De KRIYA
#147 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
359.6 mi away
Sarah Guest House
Sarah Guest House
#223 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B.M.P. Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.M.P. Residence

Property: B.M.P. Residence
Address: 45/1-2 Rajchiangsean Road, Soi 1 | Haiya, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — B.M.P. Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B.M.P.Residence Guest House in Chiang mai Thailand. Chiang Mai Tours and Chiang Mai Trekking Let Travel Hub Take Care of your Trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your B.M.P. Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b.m.p. Resident Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing