We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of B.M.P. Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B.M.P. Residence
Ranked #314 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The rooms here are hit or miss, and regardless how much you pay or what "type" of room you request it is really a crap shoot. The prices will change with the wind, or the whim of whoever is at the front desk, so my recommendation is to ask around and see what other people are paying and request that price.

The facilities are nice, the pool is refreshing, especially in the hot season, and the bar/restaurant area has a good scene, especially when they have live music playing on some evenings. It is a bit of a walk from the old city, which is where most of the night life and markets are, maybe a 10-15 minute walk, or a short tuktuk ride. There is an area around the corner from this place with local food shops with some really incredible fare!

Their excursion planning is unreliable. I wouldn't use them if you have a choice ,but sometimes it can be more convenient. I would recommend shopping around.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen_Wanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    82
    109
    86
    146
See reviews for
23
166
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I got off the night train and were driven to b.m.p residence. Once there everyone that was picked up was moved to separate tables out side and given a cold glass of Thailand water. Yum yum don't you think? While filling out the guest form the staff member In front of me really only felt like selling me different treks and day trips. I get your trying to get your hands on greasy commission but don't make it so obvious. So after that was done another staff member came up to us and said our double bed we reserved through the shady Bangkok travel agent wasn't available. She said we could have a smaller room with a single bed or a big room with three single beds and ended her rant with "so is that ok?" I felt like saying "we'll you have my money already and have driven me through a bunch of curvy streets and alleyways so I take it there's not much I can do? We said yes to the three single rooms and after seeing it's where the drivers sleep and having a argument with the wife I decided to complain. I went up to the original guy who tried to sell me tours but he wouldn't talk to me and brushed me off to another.

They finally agreed to move me to b.m.p house. The room was better but the air conditioning didn't work. The sheets were pretty clean. The screens on the windows were all broken so there was no stopping the Mosquitos. The building is were all the staff live so there's always young Thai guys ogling female guests and I even past one of b.m.p's cousins breast feeding her infant child on the stairs on the way to my room. In closing I'd like to give some advice to b.m.p. if you keep rooms clean, features your rooms advertise working, don't shove tours and treks down guest throats before they've even got there rooms and above all stop raise/breast feeding your children somewhere other then the "hotel lobby" these guests will return! And when they do you will receive more baht! More tours! Hotels that survive do so by there guest staying with them more then once. Thank you

Room Tip: When in Bangkok, take a deep breath and buy a train ticket to Chang Mai. Once there take a red truck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is the worst hotel I have ever staid in. We had two rooms in december 2013. The first room we had to wait for, because they had to clean it first. But when we got it there was dust everywhere and hair in the sink. The second room we got after our 3day trekking was even dirtier. Dust everywhere, again hair in the sink and the showerwater wasn't draining. When we complained they didn´t really respond to our complain, but told us they would clean the following day if we asked then. When we did they only replaced the towels and changed the bed. There are far better/cleaner places to stay in Chiang Mai for a low price and nearer to the center and nightmarket.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

When we arrived at the BMP resident we had lost some papers that had our reservation (we made the mistake of booking this place with a shady enterprise, do things yourself never with this companies). Our names where nowhere to be found (we made the reservation one month in advance). The main boss at the place stayed with us for 3 hours until we found out what was wrong and he helped us fix it. He not only helped us get the reservation back on track, but instead of giving us a 1 night jungle trip, he gave us 2. This trip was superb, not only we met the coolest people, our guides were the best in all the land. Mr Moon/Sun (depending on the time) and Mr Promise.
The rooms were OK, not a very good bed, but I have a hernia and to find a good bed traveling cheap is quite the feat.
We did not eat there, just drunk quite a bit and met tons of people.
If you want to travel and meet people from all over, I recommend this place.
We are actually going back to that place on February.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

It was high season so we just accepted whatever those tour companies in Hualamphong offered us. Read the reviews after booking and was really prepared for a horrible experience. I got the room with the two single beds stuck together (with a balcony) and read that it was very dirty. Room 304 - the mattress did seem a bit dirty but there were clean sheets on it. The room was OK - the lights in the bathroom didn't work but the staff immediately fixed it. Read that reception was rude - again, staff at reception weren't exactly friendly but they were not rude at all. The place was within walking distance to town and there were a few Halal restaurants in the vicinity, we tried one restaurant which did serve tasty oxtail soup. It's also near Le Croissant - a delightful French restaurant with good food and affordable prices. The hot shower wasn't very hot but still not too bad, we didn't use the aircond, and there were extra sheets in the cupboard which we used when it got really cold at night. Mineral water (big) was 20 baht. It was quiet at night so we could sleep peacefully.

All in all, it wasn't too bad.

We shifted to Redbrick Guesthouse beside it - lower prices and a more ventilated bathroom, but I didn't like the shifty guys (were they drivers?) who played the guitar all day at the common area, ogled girls, and then the same guys who work at Redbrick then goes to BMP House eating area (outside) and sweet talk the female guests coming out of Redbrick. It was also quite noisy at night at Redbrick so we had a bit of difficulty sleeping there. Female staff at Redbrick were very friendly and warm, but the male staff made me uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 304 which had a balcony, priced at 600 baht. You can find better deals during non-pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauryn6061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Unfriendly and uninterested staff. Highly focussed on organising tours. Room smelled and had a dirty bathroom. No wifi in the room, only at the bar.
Common area is nice and good place to meet other travellers. Location about 10 minute walk from the city.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Reivilo1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

When we first arrived in Chiang Mai we were met off the night bus and taken to the BMP. We had to wait a while to get our room as there were a few people to process. It was pretty early and we were offered a twin room straight away or could wait 3 hours for a double. We took the twin (A4) but it was a big mistake as it was horrible. There were stains on the walls the sheets were dirty and the bathroom needed a good scrub! The 3 day trek we did was excellent and we really enjoyed it, it was relatively challenging in parts and we visited some beautiful waterfalls. We had a great group which made the night times fun. When we returned to BMP they tried to put us in the same room but we had paid for a double so they changed it and what a difference!! This room was really nice and clean with a nicer bathroom and decor and even a mirror that was clean! So really I think this place is hit and miss as to which room they put you in! Good luck!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#251 of 381 in Chiang Mai
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#298 of 381 in Chiang Mai
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#144 of 381 in Chiang Mai
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#182 of 381 in Chiang Mai
11 reviews
2.4 mi away
B2 Khamtieng
B2 Khamtieng
#270 of 381 in Chiang Mai
14 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ampawan
Ampawan
#231 of 381 in Chiang Mai
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B.M.P. Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.M.P. Residence

Property: B.M.P. Residence
Address: 45/1-2 Rajchiangsean Road, Soi 1 | Haiya, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — B.M.P. Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B.M.P.Residence Guest House in Chiang mai Thailand. Chiang Mai Tours and Chiang Mai Trekking Let Travel Hub Take Care of your Trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your B.M.P. Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b.m.p. Resident Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing