We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not perfect”
Review of B.M.P. Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B.M.P. Residence
Ranked #316 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good, but not perfect”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms are comfortable and clean, the restaurant is reasonably priced and has a decent selection, the taxi/transfer service is useful, tourist information desk is good (if not cheap) and the pool is great. It's about a 10min walk from the centre for the food market and the temples etc.

The biggest problem is that wifi doesn't extend to the rooms, but that should be bearable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    83
    112
    87
    149
See reviews for
23
171
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This hostel was absolutely fine for the price we paid for it although it was very disappointing that we didn't get to use the pool cause it was being refurbished (that would have made it a lot better!!)

Slightly out of the way so about a 15-20 minute walk into town but tuk tuks cost around 100baht to take you to the centre so not too bad.

First room we had horrible sheets and the bathroom was dirty but then we went on the trek for 2 days (well worth it apart from elephant riding) and changed rooms when we got back to a much nicer one just opposite

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kythe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We arrived in Chiang-Mai after spending a few days in Bangkok and I swear to god, when you see that pool it'll be one of the best feelings all trip (if you've just come from a city that is!)

We were meant to be staying at 'B.M.P House' (also in Chiang-Mai) but after a mix up with our "fantastic" travel agent (not, hate that woman) in Bangkok a guy that works there called 'Zen' sorted everything out so we could infect just stay there and not have to pay a penny more! So we were delighted because we had been told 'B.M.P House' wasn't so good i.e: small/no pool....

One of the main reasons you go to Chiang-Mai is for the Jungle Trekking and that can all be arranged at B.M.P. The guy 'Zen' was amazing and really helpful, great English and sorted everything for us. He knows how frustrating travel agents in Bangkok are so he guided us through everything, really chilled out as well, always helps in 37 degree heat!

B.M.P has a real young crowd vibe thing going on so it's great to meet people by the pool and at the bar. The live music is always good to see while having dinner and pre drinks. Few people played music in their rooms early in the morning but to be expected with travellers!

The rooms are basic but clean and spacious, the biggest bathroom we had the whole 5 weeks so that was good. Fan room was fine, a bit hot during the day but all in all ok.

It's a great location, bit far after you've had a few drinks but most Tuk-Tuk's will take you back for around 40 to 100 Bhat from the centre of Chiang-Mai.

Would really do the Jungle Trekking, Elephant Ride and Bamboo Raft ride if you're going to be in Chiang-Mai, it was amazing and a great way to kill off 3 days and 2 nights! If you have a good group it's fantastic!

Room Tip: Would really go and see some of the live music at night, only a bloke on drums and one on guitar but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrady12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Good things:
Swimming pool
Cheap

Bad things:
Quite far from centre
Ripped off buying packages
Gross bathrooms
Not very sociable atmosphere
Room wasn't cleaned once during stay

Overall I would say if you want somewhere peaceful, more basic this place is fine but if you're like me and are travelling and are looking to meet lots of people this is not the place to go to.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherbraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Had a good stay at BMP residence. Both the managers were very helpful and friendly from the start. Had a good room on the second floor and was pretty clean. Staff at restaurant weren't the nicest but it's N Thailand, can't expect much more than that. Swimming pool was good in the hot heat, but could use new lounge chair cushions. Overall a good experience at BMP

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

BMP residence was not the best place we have stayed, but it was a welcome addition due to the price. The rooms are big and spacious and the pool was very relaxing. BMP can also organise trekking and other different facilities such as the slow boat to Luang Prabang in Laos.

Occassionally slightly disorganised, everything always worked out in the end. The restaurant was a pretty good cheap eat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

First of all I was naive enough to book a trip in Bangkok which included accomodation when We arrived at the bmp residence we were told we were staying at the bmp house but it wouldn't be a problem as we could use the facilities of the residence such as the pool and bar area and it was "only a 2 minute" walk away. We then jumped into a van and were driven for what would be at least a 15 minute walk to the bmp house. On arrival we were told to take our footwear off which is not a problem but I don't understand why when outside seemed to be cleaner then inside, when the lady on reception showed us to our room she swung the door open to a dingy, old, tired looking room kicked some old slippers and flip flops that had been left from the previous guests to one side and said here's your room. The sheets were dirty the walls were dirty the bathroom was dirty the whole place was dirty and no doubt had bed bugs but we didn't hang around long enough to find out as we rejected the room. We were then taken back to the bmp residence and after a few words were exchanged given a "deluxe" double room. This was much better then the previous room but was definitely not what I would call deluxe. The room worked out to be £15 a night which was well overpriced I've stayed in much better and cleaner in chiang mai for £5 so in my opinion don't stay there and don't book a trip anywhere that involves accommodation without getting the names of the places and doing some research as you'll no doubt be left disappointed. If you have already made the mistake of booking here don't let them put you up at the bmp house refuse and stay at the residence its bearable but you could get much better for the money. Or even better go get a nicer room in chiang mai for less money. Also the young man on reception has a serious problem with people don't talk to him unless you want attitude or an argument everything you say to him causes hassle so just leave him alone and save yourself the stress.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-k-189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#253 of 386 in Chiang Mai
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#301 of 386 in Chiang Mai
365 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#134 of 386 in Chiang Mai
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#144 of 386 in Chiang Mai
87 reviews
2.4 mi away
B2 Khamtieng
B2 Khamtieng
#268 of 386 in Chiang Mai
15 reviews
0.7 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#155 of 386 in Chiang Mai
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B.M.P. Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.M.P. Residence

Property: B.M.P. Residence
Address: 45/1-2 Rajchiangsean Road, Soi 1 | Haiya, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — B.M.P. Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B.M.P.Residence Guest House in Chiang mai Thailand. Chiang Mai Tours and Chiang Mai Trekking Let Travel Hub Take Care of your Trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your B.M.P. Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b.m.p. Resident Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing