We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb value, just be conscious of security” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Western House Hotel
Ranked #128 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Belfast
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb value, just be conscious of security”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Checked in for three nights in January, 2014. Taxi straight from airport to the hotel. Check in process simple and straightforward.

Room was basic and good shower, clean and large bathroom area.

What appeared to be husband and wife couple as the owners were nice, though gentleman not overly courteous, could have been language barrier. The lady was lovely and very friendly. Younger guy, possibly their son was lovely and very friendly. He was very helpful with onward travel arrangements. No breakfast, though complimentary coffee available.

Good location, about ten minutes from main gate.

My one issue was security; reception closed at nine pm and was unmanned with no door or security apparent. Room key was left in basket at reception and anyone could have walked in and lifted it without questions. Thankfully we were okay.

Extremely reasonably priced though, excellent value.

Room Tip: We had room on first floor, no lift, so this was a bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank embankment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    37
    29
    11
    2
See reviews for
3
48
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Every staff member that was at front of desk was so extremely helpful. They booked us on our tours and all were excellent tours. The place isn't known by taxis so it is a slight mission finding your hotel. The rooms are great and really enjoyed my stay

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckybrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed two nights in mid-December 2013. The room was pretty good value - basic appointments, TV etc. Bathroom could have done with another towel rack, but overall ok. Balcony overlooked a Wat next door! Which was nice. Quiet area of town, which can be good or bad, depending on what you want. If you want more action, stay near (or outside) the East gate end. No problems accessing town though, hired a bike around the corner for 50bt/day and its easy to get anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist101_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

This hostel was awsome! We stayed for 6 nights and the room was really clean,hot shower, water and good wifi. The staff was soo friendly and help us everytime. With the tuktuk your in 10min in the old city but to walk its only 30min where you can see a thaimarket and other stuff :) when i go back to chang mai, ill back in this!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marytoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seogwipo, South Korea
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in Chiang Mai for 4 nights and Western House was, at best, adequate. To start, I had confirmed an airport pick-up one week before we arrived, but they were not there to meet us. We searched all pick-up areas and finally called them when we arrived and they took over a half hour to arrive, and then charged more than twice as much as a taxi would have cost, which we felt was quite unreasonable after being more than one hour late.

During our stay, we had done our own research and didn't need assistance, but they pressured us every time we walked by, and generally just made us feel really uncomfortable. The owner was nice enough, but usually a man was at the desk who continually tried to book us on their tours.

The room was very basic. Plain white-washed walls and very hard bed, which we mostly expected, but the significant black mold in the bathroom was smelly and awful. The "private balcony" was just a window onto the next building. And on day 2 we had ants move in and couldn't leave anything on the floor.

The turning point was when they explained to us that they had overbooked the hotel and needed us to change hotels. The owner showed us where they would move us - not too far, and a significant upgrade to help ease the hassle of packing and moving. We agreed, and saw them several times between then and time to move. When we arrived at the desk with our bags, ready to move, they explained that "unforeseen circumstances" had prevented us getting into that hotel, but they were moving us to another, which I couldn't find on any review sites and was not an upgrade at all. It was totally adequate, but really frustrating after being promised some nicer amenities and spending an hour packing and moving in the middle of our stay.

In short, I would not recommend this hotel unless you are simply looking for budget locations on the north end (a fairly long walk from most good street vendors/restaurants and night market) and happy to allow the staff to plan your travels for you.

One other initially amusing, then less fun, side point: being next to a temple meant a 5am bells and barking dog wake-up every morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We arrived very early on the night bus from Bangkok and the lady in the reception was very accommodating and our room was ready straightaway. The bed was comfortable and we had a great view from our balcony of a Wat. However, the bathroom had quite a lot of mould and smelt a bit but the shower was hot. We spoke to the management regarding the bathroom and they explained that they were renovating the bathrooms and offered to move us.
The location is great and it's easy to walk to all of the local attractions. Good wifi in the room and in the reception / lounge area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights and couldn't have asked for more. Room was spotless, bed comfortable, free coffee in the morning and very quiet. The room had a balcony, my view was non-existent but I wasn't there to sit in my room.

Location is great and only a 5/10 minute walk to the heart of the city but the biggest plus was the owner/manager who helped me out with everything I could possibly need in Chiang Mai.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Curt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#137 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.4 mi away
De KRIYA
De KRIYA
#142 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#175 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#134 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#235 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Property: Western House Hotel
Address: 7 Soi 5 | Sripoom Road, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Western House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing