We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandala House
Nearby Hotels
Le Meridien Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$690
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$447
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$416
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort(Chiang Mai)
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Anantara.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$32
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
73
149
60
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
149
60
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight bazaartriple roomold cityquiet areaswimming poolamerican breakfasteasy walking distancethapae gaterooms are spaciousconvenient locationhot showermini fridgemin walkhotel restaurantno elevatortuk tuklane
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Cosy place, helpful staff, clean & good value for money. Love the rustic charm of the place. Really appreciate the free wifi and nice breakfast provided.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connieliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here with two friends and can't find anything bad to say about the place. Quiet location, clean, and EXTREMELY affordable. The only problem we had was that our air conditioning didn't work, so we were promptly moved to a larger, newer room for no extra cost. The staff there was extremely helpful and apologetic, and even helped us move our luggage. Will keep this place in mind if I'm ever in Chiang Mai again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JYChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I have a great stay at Mandala House. A lovely guest house!! The location is fantastic good! But remember ,you must know how to use it and enjoy it’s great location.
We were too tired due to flight delay. We just walking in and out base on own judgment. Never think of asking and referring to map. We lost our way back to guesthouse everyday & every time . Finally, on our last day at Chiang Mai, we found out, the guesthouse location is so strategic. As it is near to every way you want to go! So convenient!!!! But it is too late for us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We never expect to have soap and shampoo in our attached bathroom, but we did. The room is comfortable, neat, tidy and clean. Complimentary breakfast and have 5 menus set to choose for. So don’t worry if you stay more days at same place!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jas8135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Mandala House is affordable yet has a better room than many other expensive hotel. Located in a good place in walking distance from night market of chiang mai and tha pae gate. the staff is very friendly and very helpful. the room is clean and bed is comfortable. free wifi is provided in every floor. What else do you expect? The hotel is very clean and green. the room has been designed for the lights and good air ventilation, though the air con is provided. if you don't have a car, better stick to this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cambodia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of May 2011. I had previously booked directly with the hotel for 2 rooms for the 4 of us, but heard so many horror stories regarding mistakes with the booking, I decided to book through booking.com.

As we were approaching the hotel, the little lanes the taxi driver drove through was very interesting. After approximately 15mins drive, we arrived at about 10.30pm, and the hotel staff came to the taxi to greet us and help with our bags. Check in was no problems as they were already expecting us.

Rooms are large, clean with all the expected amenities except a safety deposit box! The bathroom was basic, but clean. Shower area (which is divided from the rest of the bathroom with a shower curtain) is at the same level as the rest of the floor of the bathroom. So water did get everywhere but I'm not the one having to clean up, so it didn't matter. No complimentary shower gel or shampoo available. Hairdryer was available on request. I did notice a few rips in the bed sheets, but as long as it's clean, it didn't matter. It was a good night's sleep.

Early start the next day, so we were one of the first ones at breakfast. A choice of about 5-6 different sets of breakfast to chose from. American breakfast with ham, egg, toast. Thai breakfast of rice soup with pork. Fruits and cereals. Toast and crossiant. All breakfast sets came with coffee/tea and fruit juice/fresh fruit. All were very good. cooked breakfast took about 10mins to be ready.

The seating area in the reception came in very handy as it gave the best reception for the free wifi and also a good meeting point with the others in my group. Wifi didn't work in the room I stayed in (room 219), but it was very very fast in the reception area.

The sunday market at Tha Pae gate is about 3mins walk. The lanes in which this hotel is situated are quite confusing to negotiate through. You'll definitely need a good sense of direction. But as so many previous reviews have mentioned, it means it is away from all the traffic. The night bazaar was quite confusing to find, but once you know where it is, it's about 5 mins.

All in all, for the price, it is a great hotel to stay in, with good location, good breakfast, good wifi, friendly staff! I'd definitely recommend this hotel for the budget traveller!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews