We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incompetent management” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandala House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mandala House
Ranked #154 of 710 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Incompetent management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

I stayed here for the second time. My first stay here was more or less ok , so I booked a second time. This time a had a bad experience with the manager. He made mistake by the booking already. I ooked a room on a montly base. He charged 9 baht/unit for electricity. Normally the electricity costs around 3 baht/unit in Thailand. The manager did not checked the meter by arrival, so they charge whatever they want. For 1 month I payed 7.000 baht for electricity only. They also promised free internet, more then 1 week internet was not available. Never again this guesthouse for me.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    134
    51
    27
    26
See reviews for
46
97
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

Perfect Location on a very quiet soi, halfway between walled city and night market and walking distance from both. We were in a large room with kitchenette, safe box and small balcony on the top floor. The staff couldn't do enough for us. The reception and little cafe/bar looks more like a boutique hotel than a guesthouse and the outdoor sitting area is perfect to sit in the evening and enjoy a quiet drink. Free Wi-Fi is great and fast speed. You can pay to use the fitness centre and pool at the nearby Centara Duangatwan Hotel. We had booked and paid for a month stay but unfortunately had to leave to go back to UK after 4 days, I was a little upset and the staff kindly helped me with calls to the airline to change flights and refunded us our money and deposit (just charged us for the 4 nights). Very highly recommend Mandala House and will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

We were in Chiang Mai for 3 nights and staying at Mandala House was definitely the right choice. We had airport transfers and breakfast was included. The restuarant was cute, with outdoor flow to a little water feature.
A/C was a welcome relief after walking everywhere as the hotel is located close to night bazar, old city, temples and plenty of great restuarants. The mini bar was great, as it is well priced and had a good selection.
The service was great - english was broken but we expected that in a non-english speaking country - and we had no problems getting the info we needed!

Would definitely recommend to people who are wanting to stay somewhere nice, clean and accessible without blowing budget. oh and the friendly gecko who said hello to us every morning outside our door was great!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sporadictraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

Located in the heart of Chiang Mai, directly inbetween the old and new city sections, this is by far one of the best places to stay. you can walk anywhere you choose to go, or take a quick tuk tuk to the nigh markets or temples for a mere dollar or two. The staff was friendly and spoke broken english (better than no english) breakfast was included and was very quick and pelasant. Hotel was very clean and suitable for young couples, friends or even families. While Mandala House is not the CHEAPEST stay in Chiang Mai it is worth the extra 5-10$ per night for the extremely clean and spacious rooms! Ours had a large bathroom, huge main room, and a separate kitchen with eat-in area, mini fridge, etc. dvd player in rooms. it was definitely an amazng find in chaing mai as a lot of other places seem nice online but when we actually saw them we couldnt believe how dumpy they looked (for example, Vanilla place - looks nice online but is in a bad-and very busy location). they also arranged pick-up and drop off from the train station and airport for us, which was very enjoyable, so much so that we ended up booking the driver for an entire day (for about 10$ canadian) to take us sightseeing - we went to the tiger kingdom, to see the long necks, and to the umbrella making place. All in all, a great stay, i would highly recomend to anyone looking for clean - high standard rooms on a semi-flexible budget! trust me, once you have felt the chiang mai heat, and experienced the bustle, you will want a nice,large, airconditioned room to kick your shoes off and pass out in! it is worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Bertrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

I stayed here twice and had quite different experiences. Both times I booked a single, fan room. First time I had an old basic room across the lane from the main building, cement floor and basic everything but I was content with it although it wasn’t as secure as a room inside would have been.

My second visit I had a room in the main hotel and it was great! Lovely modern room, tiled floor and plenty of towels.

On both of my visits the staff were great, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kali737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

This was our fourth trip to Chiang Mai & we have stayed at Mandala House on the last three. It is in a small lane in between Loh Kroh & Thae Pae. It is a perfect location for walking to the Night Bazaar, Walking Markets or the Old City.
Rooms are a good size & are great value. Breakfast is included in the price with a choice of American, Continental or Thai.
Hotel staff are fantastic & will do anything to help you out.
Mandala House is always our first choice of accommodation when staying in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

I've stayed at Mandala House for a few days and it felt like home. The staff are courteous and so helpful. The soup breakfast is delicious! And what to say about the prices? It's the best quality you can find at this price! The suite on the 3rd floor has round bathtub, dvd player, large tv and small kitchen for around 1000baht - it's amazing! Highly recommend this one!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdimanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#75 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.9 mi away
Western House Hotel
Western House Hotel
#125 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
#149 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Thai House
Chiang Mai Thai House
#319 of 710 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.7 mi away
TR Residence
TR Residence
#55 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandala House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandala House

Property: Mandala House
Address: 71 Thapae Rd. Lane 4 Muang District, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mandala House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mandala House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandala House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing