We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #17 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Nakhon Pathom, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Could be better...”
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. The overall impression was that the hotel looked nice but the location was a bit hard to find even though we drove there. We got a suite (one bedroom, sitting room, and a dining room). The room was quite large and it was comfortable enough. The welcoming staff was good with explanation and introduction of the place of where everything is such as restaurants, fitness center and spa. Overall the room and the hotel was nice. The only major complaint was that (we didn't bring this up with management) the cleanliness of the room. We found that the towels were quite old as in ripped along the edges. The cleaning staff was not thorough in their cleaning. There were stains around the toilet. Glass stains on dining table were left there with dining mat covering them. Towels actually smell of not being washed even though we indicated new towels.
However the kids did enjoy the nice pool and my husband did enjoy the fitness center. So some things can be over looked. But for the price being charged there shouldn't be any fault. Finally Breakfast buffet selection was quite poor compared to others in similar class. We might or might not go back...

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Pornpimon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    173
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
149
371
27
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Qld
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. Recommend getting a suite, it's not much more in cost and if you have a young child, they can sleep in the lounger room while you enjoy the master suite. Plus the dining room makes it easier to feed the kids.
It's alittle nit out of town, buts a quick tuk tuk ride for 100Baht gets you into town. You feel like an English traveller from 50 yrs ago when you stay here, beautiful surroundings, wide balconies, fantastic gardens. The attention to detail with water features, statues, timber etc is exceptional. Each feature represents a part of the hisptory, it's amazing. Totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaGoldCoastQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. Thursday night was fine, clam and quiet. But Friday night, too much noises and loud music came from no where to spot. You can hear it in your room, so we must turn on TV louder. Our room is clean and there is a LCD TV in the bathroom, but toilet bowl installed in dificult position to sit. My knee kept hitting the wall each time I use it. I don't know why they did that.

Chiangmai is a lovely city, I will definitely go back soon.

One thing the hostress did not explain me clearly. The complimentary drink voucher is only if you dine with the restaurant only, not a welcome drink. It was not explained when the voucher was presented. When we went to the restaurant, the waitress said I can use it at the bar. So I thought it was for a welcome drink, but it was not. It creates confusion. Reception should be clear about this voucher that you must dine to get the complimentary drink. The condition printing is too small.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danuporn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We took 2 bedrooms connected by a living room.......ideal for 2 adults + 3 kids. Rooms really well appointed. Thai feel, quiet air-con, very roomy and luxurious.
Great setting with the resort surrounding a gorgeous, large wet edge pool on 3 sides, and all of that fronting onto the river. Restaurants lovely setting, though we only took the breakfast package, and did lunches and dinners in the city. The hotel is about 3 KMs/10 mins from the city walls, 100 baht in a tuk tuk.
For us it offered the highlights of a sophisticated asian resort, all within quick reach of Chiang Mai's old city.
Staff lovely, friendly and helpful.......would we go back? You bet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josamill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the Rati Lana for a few days in February. This is a fabulous hotel. The rooms are gorgeous, breakfast is very good and the service was impeccable. We want to return to Chaing Mai again to stay at the Rati Lana and take in the ELE Elephant Experience again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

so im not an uber-rich guy, just a working class aussie bloke travelling with his mate. upon booking this place through flight centre, at $120AUD/night, we got free upgraded rooms as well. i didnt think much of the place at the time, i didnt really care between here and the sarilanna (or something like that).
but the moment our over-ambitious taxi driver got us to the front door, i was blown away.
by this point in the night, i was sick to death of travelling, i had the worst case of chaffe to date, and i was slightly hungover from my last night in bangkok. they managed to pry my bags from my hands as soon as they opened the front doors for me, and ushered us to comfortable chairs, and thrust juice into our hands, while quickly sorting out our rooms.
my friend and i are travelling getting seperate rooms, and this time they gave us an ENTIRE WING of the hotel. yeaaaah.
i was just wondering around my "room"for about half an hour, mouth open gobsmacked to the size, opulance and wow factor of the place. i mean, this is a set of 5 rooms that are bigger than my actual house (120sq m)!!
this place is technologically advanced, with full room lighting controls and aircon next to the bed, seperate glassed rooms (two) for water features off the dining and spa rooms, 3 tv's(!!!), a balcony with swinging chair and bed, and and and... i could go on for hours.
everytime the staff see you, they greet you with a friendly smile, asking if there is anything they can do, and offering helpful advice when needed.
too bad the patrons dont want to have a chat as well.
food and drinks are somewhat expensive (80 baht for a water?!?) but hey, i guess if im living like a foreign diplomat/B grade movie star, im gonna have to fork out the same cash for it :)
im writing this review having only stayed here one night, with a total of 3 to go, and i dont imagine there will be any problems.
oh, there was the minor issue of the spa spitting out scales due to lack of use, but im a big boy, i'll live..
the gym is great, as is the infinity pool, and the dude playing piano and singing to the pavilion area of a night time.
next time, i should probably bring my girlfriend, as this is obviously a couples place... but in saying that, if your in my situation and are travelling with a friend, wanting to see the area and want to splash out with your cash out, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: shop around, find good value, get the big rooms if you can, totally worth it. my room was always qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanton-chaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

RatiLanna is a very short drive from the airport. The hotel arranges pick-ups. I was greeted upon arrival in the afternoon with a refreshing cool drink and a cold cloth. Check-in went smoothly. I was given a username and password for each of my digital devices that I wanted to use. Although the hotel is not in the centre of the markets, I preferred its out-of-the-way location.
There is a small elevator, but I climbed the stairs to my room on the fourth floor. Beautiful sculptures and art work are positioned everywhere. I recommend getting a room on the top floor that has a straight overhead view of the swimming pool and the river.
The room is very spacious (deluxe). There was a small seating area where I could sit and have a drink in the evening before going out or if there were too many mosquitos to be able to sit on the balcony. The balcony has a table and chair where I'd have my morning coffee (provided by the hotel). There is also a square lounging bed with comfy cushions on the balcony where you can lie and read or take a nap. The bedroom contains a large bed with a comfortable mattress, not too hard and not too soft. A large flat screen TV faces the bed. On the bedstand is a universal control for the light settings and to switch on the "Make Up Room"/"Do Not Disturb" sign outside the door. The closet space is sufficient and hangers are supplied. Slippers and a bathrobe are provided as well. A safe is provided.
The bathroom is quite something. The tub is huge and deep. Bubblebath is provided so I took bubblebaths every day. The headrest of the tub has a cushion which invites one to laze and watch TV. Yes, there is a flat screen TV on the wall facing the tub. The bathroom is made by unique by the sliding windows that you can open to listen to and watch your personal waterfall. The disappointing feature was the shower stall that appears outdated and mismatched to the overall decor of the bathroom. The walls are painted an off-white and are cracked. There also appeared to be some mold growing in cracks.
The ambiance of the hotel is amazing with sculptures and paintings placed strategically on the landings and outside the rooms. Silver is inlaid everywhere and I liked the wooden floors on the stairway.
I must mention that the walls are thin. One night I had some boisterous young gentlemen next to me who were shouting, arguing and crying from midnight until 3:00AM. Loud discourse could be heard clearly. I would have asked to be moved if the gentlemen had stayed for more than one night.
I enjoyed breakfast downstairs on the deck every morning looking over the river. The buffet breakfast items did not change much so for a longer stay, it's easy to become frustrated with the limited breakfast items. The cold meat selection I found very disappointing for a quality hotel. However, they have an excellent yoghurt. I liked their bread selections. The staff are very attentive and were happy to provide me with coffee serving after coffee serving. No limit on the number of cups of coffee. Yes!
The gardens are lit up at night which creates a fairyland.
The hotel has a cab service (minivan or super thuk thuk) to drop off guests at the night markets at 6:00PM and 8:00PM. Getting a thuk thuk back to the hotel costs between 100 and 120 baht.
The room is serviced twice a day. Once in the morning for the clean-up and in the evening when they light the candles in the bathroom and place sweets in a little basket on the bedstand.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor (4th floor) that has a straight view of the river (not side view). I req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MellowPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,285 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 33 Chang Klan Road,Pa Daet, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of the Mae Ping River, Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai captures the essence of the destination's Lanna ancestry that subtly appears in its architecture and interior decor. Ratilanna Riverside Spa Chiang Mai is only minutes from the airport and the city's popular night bazaar offering the ultimate indulgence of a five-star urban sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Hotel Chiang Mai
Sofitel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing