We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #17 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Milton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loved this resort”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My friend and I spent 3 nights at the Ratilanna as part of a tour group. We absolutely loved it. As other reviewers noted, it is not within easy walking distance from the night market but the hotel took us there in their van and we easily got a tuk-tuk to bring us back to the hotel. Our room was beautiful and very large. The bathroom was also huge and had a water feature next to the large tub. The sound of running water was very soothing. Our balcony and the day bed were large and very nice. The hotel areas are lovely...beautiful infinity pool next to the river, very pretty lobby, and a really pretty Buddhist temple. Staff is very nice and very accommodating. Breakfasts were very good. We had room service on the night we arrived and the food was excellent and maybe the best meal we had in Thailand.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    175
    45
    11
    10
See reviews for
154
378
27
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Beautiful hotel with great views. The pool was fabulous and had a swim up bar. There were two weddings there within our 3 night stay. Little inconvenience as you felt guilty about swimming in the pool as the happy two said their vows. Other than that, the lobby got extremely quiet and dim by about 10pm making you feel like a rebel for getting in at 11pm. All in all, the rooms were fabulous with the bathrooms being the spectacular! Each has its own water feature, a huge tube, and a spacious glass door shower. Teak wood is everywhere which really classes up the joint. ;-) Beautiful campus and comfortable lodging. What else could you ask for?!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathanAnthes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and whilst it's not super close to the old city and night market area, it is a lovely cosy local hotel with generously sized rooms, big balconies with gorgeous daybeds and lovely helpful staff. Housekeeping left little Thai snacks by the bed every night which was thoughtful. A tuk tuk ride of around 10-15min will take you to the main city sights.

I think room choice is key here. My room was on the ground floor facing the pool. It is convenient as you don't have to wait for the lift, my room was to the right of the main entrance. But my balcony overlooked the pool and faced the walkway leading to the fitness centre and spa so it wasn't very private. Ask for a room on a higher floor and towards the river for a better view and more privacy.

The only negative for me, which is why the hotel doesn't get 5 stars, is its weak wifi signal. It was stronger at certain times of the day but overall pretty poor.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank missduhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We recently stayed in Ratilanna Riverside Spa resort for my family in Oct. We have 13 persons travelling together and thus we need to book different rooms to cater us. We booked the Riverside Grand Suite (which is a double-storey building with private pool and garden) and a couple of deluxe rooms. The reservation is very responsive and cater to my special needs (as we need to communicate a lot via email before we arrive), the check-in process is smooth, the rooms are spacious, the swimming pool is nice and the service from the staff are also very tailor to our needs.

The concierge is helpful, he help us to arrange tour, and restaurant booking. The spa is also quite nice, thought not the top-ranking quality, but still ok.

The only shortcoming would be the choice of breakfast is not really great (as compared to 5-star hotels in Thailand), and sometimes it would be a bit noisy at night as our suite is very close to the bar which will have music till 11pm.

It all went very well until the end. As we have a large group, I purposely settle my payment the night before check-out to avoid hectic arrangement the other morning. I pay the balance and the other day, to my surprise, when they transfer me back to the airport, they asked the driver to ask us back because we have not settled our bill. It's really quite surprise to me!! Of course I stayed in the airport and they finally checked the details and clarified that the one who collect the payment at night has not calculated the last night room fee! It's really difficult for a guest to figure out and it's really odd, as if they find I have outstanding payment, they should have asked me to pay that before I left the lobby (we wait our different group members there for almost 15 mins before we depart)

Having said so, in general, the hotel is quite nice for family and the Riverside Grand Suite is really good for the group.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suet_Yu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Only stayed one night but it is a great hotel in this price range.

The location is beautiful upon the banks of the Ping river, nice pool with in-pool bar and great buffet breakfast in the morning. Staff is well trained and English level was overall good. The rooms are very spacious and we had a nice balcony with view on pool and river.

Interesting to know is that there are two free shuttles daily to the night bazaar at 6pm and 8pm which is very convenient.

I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

On the advice of our travel agent daughter and also the quality reviews of Tripfinder we selected this hotel and have not been disappointed. We were upgraded to a deluxe suite, just wonderful. It is the size of a large apartment, large dining and lounge rooms, four poster king bed, spa bath and three tv's. We were on the top floor overlooking the pool and river from the large balcony. The balcony has a day bed with sumptuous cushions a swing chair as seen in the AeroplaneJelly ads and a round table with two chairs. A great place for hanging out for a drink or a good book.

Good points

Wonderfully, attentive and happy staff always with a true smile and always there to assist in any way.

Very clean and tidy with lovely house maids

All the benefits of a 5 star hotel

Suggestions

Expand the food choice of the breakfast menu, fairly bland after a 10 night stay and ensure that food does not run out. Needs another cook in the kitchen to get things moving faster.

More shuttle services into town as the hotel is a distance away requiring a tuk tuk or taxi to get there. At the moment they offer a 6pm shuttle one way.

Clean the black mould from the roofs as it is making the hotel look ageing.

Instead of just a one person piano player why not have some themed evening such as local music and dance. There should be much more entertainment offering a glimpse into the local culture. The benefit to the hotel would be more guests using the dinning facilities and putting some life back into the hotel at night.

Get the full fox tell package where you can choose a variety of movies, sports and doco's if you like them. A weekly entertainment guide so that guests can plan their stay. At the moment there is only one movie after another but no guide as to what's on.

On the whole we are loving our stay here but believe that with just a little bit of creative thinking major improvement could be made.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 3rd or 4th floors and pay the extra for the deluxe suite. There are so many go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyme, NH
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This hotel has been a wonderful experience. It is very clean and the rooms are spacious. The staff is extremely friendly and accomodating- they were always willing to help out with directions, travel arrangements and transportation. I have seen many hotels while walking around the city ( new and ancient city) and i am so glad I chose this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avidindoorsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,001 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
460 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,980 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 33 Chang Klan Road,Pa Daet, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of the Mae Ping River, Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai captures the essence of the destination's Lanna ancestry that subtly appears in its architecture and interior decor. Ratilanna Riverside Spa Chiang Mai is only minutes from the airport and the city's popular night bazaar offering the ultimate indulgence of a five-star urban sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Hotel Chiang Mai
Sofitel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing