We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #17 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What A Hotel!”
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

That's the phrase we kept on saying throughout our stay. Our room was amazing, our stay was amazing. We never expected to stay in such a lovely hotel with uber friendly staff. Oh and the food was out of this world.

Magnificent place!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheneenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    175
    45
    11
    10
See reviews for
154
378
27
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

rooms are v spacious, the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the pool was amazing, perfect water and huge. spa was also v good. these aspects were all five star. I was a bit concerned that it would be annoying being out of town - however this didn't bother us at all (it's $3 to go into town). However, agree with the previous review that they need a bit more attention to detail. we were there five days and the bathroom floor was quite dirty by the end of our stay. tour desk was hit and miss. The main chap was fantastic but one of the girls gave us incorrect info to try to get us to do a tour (although I suspect that happens in many places) breakfast was okay - however not amazing. also - the weddings are a bit annoying. there were three during our stay. it makes it less relaxing around the pool due to them setting up. the music didn't bother me - however - I imagine it would bother many. they also mean you can't go near the pool or the river after about six. I suspect if ratilanna want to continue to charge their current rates they will need to rethink the weddings.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ledasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howrah, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We really enjoyed with out stay at Ratilanna which absolutely recommendable nonetheless although it's the first time visit Thailand. Great pool right on the river. We stayed in large suites, great bathrooms, large balconies with outdoor bed, everything was very plush and high-quality equipped. Not too far away from the town center: only 10 minutes by tuk-tuk to the night bazaar, however, the hotel also offers free shuttle to the night bazaar at 6pm and 8pm daily. Food, service and wine excellent. The only minor point is that the breakfast selection is not very big. I'm thankful for the wonderful time at the Rati Lanna, I felt pampered and well cared for.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The Ratilanna was fantastic, our group had two deluxe suites and they were amazing, the rooms were spacious, well maintained and well equipped. The staff were warm, friendly and welcoming as well as very helpful, the resort was comfortable with the availability of a fitness centre and a great pool with a swim up bar. We were fortunate enough to be staying at the Ratilanna during Loy Krathon which was an amazing celebration with us releasing lanterns and floating candles. Our only thoughts were that the hotel was maybe a little further out of the center of town than preferred but that was manageable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crawf84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Very nice hotel with nice rooms. Helpful staffs. Smooth check in / out; very good concierge service with a staff, named Kai.

We stayed in a Deluxe Suite for 4 days. Very nice river view.

Breakfast selection was OK, very standard hotel quality with some Western food and of course Thai food. But it will be better if they have all the fruits covered. Flies are all over them...

Location is good. A very short Tuk-tuk trip can bring you to most places.

This resort is definitely a very popular place for locals to hold wedding. There were 2 weddings during our 4 nights stay. The noise was bearable. Our room is partly facing the lawn where the wedding reception was held. The music didn't bother us too much as we could only hear a bit of it.

Just few things with the house-keeping that I think they need to improve:

1/ Since my husband and I were hoping to get a totally relaxed holiday, we spent most of our time in our room to chill out. We had the "do not disturb" light turned on constantly, and house-keeper would still ring our door bell and asked to clean our room... Errr... then what's the point of this "do not disturb" sign?

2/ After the house-keeper made up our room one day, they have forgotten to refill the shampoo and shower gel. We told the reception about this, the receptionist had made a call in front of me (I guess she was telling the house-keeper to refill the shower gel and shampoo) before we headed out to the Night Bazaar. We returned to the hotel after few hours and still not yet refilled... We had to call the reception again and got them delivered.

3/ Right after we checked in, the receptionist took us to our room and gave us a very brief tour. She said the house-keeper would light up the essential oil in the bathroom and living room and to put up an anti-mosquito device out on the balcony when they set the bed in the evening. But none of these were done during our stay...

4/ Tea bags refill... one day with 1 Jasmine and 2 Dajeeling; another day with no Jasmine and 2 Dajeeling... no standard on quantity?

I reckon all these are very minor but it would be even better if they can put more attention to these small details.

Room Tip: Try to pay a bit more money to get a Deluxe Suite if possible; while most Deluxe room is facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsCHALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort is located in Chiang Mai about 2 minutes via tuk tuk from the Night Market. The Hotel is beautiful, has a great pool, delicious food, the rooms are big and comfortable (nice shower, separate tub, nice comfy bed and great pillows). The Staff are friendly and willing to help with anything you need. They have a Tour Desk (the Tour Desk guy has a bit of attitude unlike everyone else in the Hotel Staff, but he tries to be helpful). The pool is nice but need to improve chairs and cushions need to be replaced. Overall this place is nice, quiet and perfect for a relaxed holiday vacation. The front desk staff went above and beyond to make our stay great. Thanks!!!

Room Tip: Take a tuk tuk to the night market (2 mins from the Hotel). Also check out the Whole Earth Restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecoWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My friend and I spent 3 nights at the Ratilanna as part of a tour group. We absolutely loved it. As other reviewers noted, it is not within easy walking distance from the night market but the hotel took us there in their van and we easily got a tuk-tuk to bring us back to the hotel. Our room was beautiful and very large. The bathroom was also huge and had a water feature next to the large tub. The sound of running water was very soothing. Our balcony and the day bed were large and very nice. The hotel areas are lovely...beautiful infinity pool next to the river, very pretty lobby, and a really pretty Buddhist temple. Staff is very nice and very accommodating. Breakfasts were very good. We had room service on the night we arrived and the food was excellent and maybe the best meal we had in Thailand.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,001 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
460 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,979 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 33 Chang Klan Road,Pa Daet, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of the Mae Ping River, Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai captures the essence of the destination's Lanna ancestry that subtly appears in its architecture and interior decor. Ratilanna Riverside Spa Chiang Mai is only minutes from the airport and the city's popular night bazaar offering the ultimate indulgence of a five-star urban sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Hotel Chiang Mai
Sofitel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing