We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the heart of Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 384 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An oasis in the heart of Chiang Mai”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent a week at this hotel whilst visiting friends in Chiang Mai in November 2012. The hotel is centrally located and right on the river, with close proximity to the markets and all that Chiang Mai has to offer. The rooms are huge, with classic Thai style decor and all of the amenities. Our room had its own lounge and dining area, and also a balcony with lovely chairs looking over the large pool. The food and drinks service at both the restaurants and pool area was excellent, as was the quality of food, although the breakfast was at times a little lacklustre. My only criticisms of the hotel were that there is only one elevator (at one end of a long hall), and this makes for a lengthy entry and exit. Also, the staff were all very young, and while enthusiastic, were perhaps not as attentive or professional as one would expect from a hotel of this calibre. I have paid much more for lesser accommodation, and the Rati Lanna rates high on my list of hotels to stay at in Thailand. Overall, we have stayed in Chiang Mai 20 times over the years, had a great stay at the Rati Lanna, and will no doubt return on our next trip to northern Thailand.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0ra_The_Expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    176
    45
    11
    12
See reviews for
159
385
27
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Booked this hotel not really knowing what to expect ! Our room was the largest we had ever stayed in and the bathroom was to die for - a waterfall in the wall !! Food was wonderful as was the service. Eating on the terrace made each breakfast and dinner a perfect experience. So many perfect little touches around the room. Superb - definitely recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowstag21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We just kept walking around saying, "Oh my God!" over and over. The room was a corner room overlooking the infinity pool that gave onto the brown river beyond. Everything that other reviewers have said about the waterfall in the bathroom, the balcony, and the other amenities, I heartily agree with. The staff couldn't have been nicer. They arranged transport to the amazing Night Market. The temple in the hotel was beautiful and peaceful. It was an oasis in an otherwise busy, rather dirty city.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuq Toulza, France
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Four wonderful days in this beautiful city and four peaceful nights in this great hotel. We had a corner room on the second floor giving on the river and the swimming pool!!!! Loved the room and the bathroom. the room was spacious and it had a balcony with a sofa bed where we could relax when back in the hotel after visiting the town and the different sites around it. The bathroom was very big as well with shower and bath.
I particularily enjoyed the swimming pool and the view over the river. Breakfast was also very good with a wide variety of local and western choises.
We particularily enjoyed the spa with the extremely professional service and the friendly personnel!!!! If you go there take my advise and have a massage!!!
Great place to stay in order to discover Chiang Mai and relax!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philandoTarnFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The waterfall in the bathroom nicely complemented the flat screen T.V. above the bathtub. Pool was great and staff very attentative. Buffet breakfast above average with nice out door seating if you wish. Possible to walk 15 minutes to the nite market if you want to risk poorly lit street with poor sidewalks but the experience of the street cooking and wandering past a couple of "working girl" clubs an eyeopener and worth the time. Pharmacy right beside the Hotel if the need arises

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crownjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankston, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We visited Thailand for our Honeymoon in February 2013 and had an overall Great time.
The Ratilanna is a very classy hotel sitting close to the main town and is a great romantic stay. There appear to be many stunning hotels on the strip which means they are all screaming for your attention. The rooms are quite dark/romantic and well cared for. The staff are very friendly and probably a strategic move all the staff you will encounter have a very strong English speaking ability to help you with any enquiries.
The hotel is within walking distance (Still a good 20 minutes though) of the main town and the night Bazaar and have one of the better concierges I have encountered which were able to help us out within minutes of any enquiry and even did the haggling for us.
The hotel also helped us out when our plane back home was at 8pm but our check out was at 12pm and allowed us to leave our bags with the hotel as we wandered around to fill in time.
One of the days the pool was being cleaned which meant the pool was unusable all day till about 3pm which left very little to do around the luxurious hotel besides stay in your room as the courtyard is quite small and has very little attractions.

The Good:
- The Hotel offers shuttle services to the Night Bazaar which while close saves you some money to find your own Tuk Tuk driver
- The Hotel is very luxurious and highly recommended for a romantic getaway (Not really a very family hotel)
- The Hotel has 3 restaurants which are reasonably priced (Still far more expensive than the street vendors) and very high quality food
- The elevator was air-conditioned which is a very nice touch in the humid Chiang Mai climate

The Bad:
- It didn't seem to have a great name recognition with Tuk Tuk drivers making getting back to the Hotel slightly difficult at times
- Certain foods constantly seemed to run out at the international buffet breakfast and were very slow to restock if this was the case
- The elevator is very slow and if you are on one of the higher floors it is quicker to use the stairs
- The Wi-Fi was generally poor outside of the lobby but atrocious on the 4th floor. If we were lucky enough to actually get some reception it would drop out reasonably quick
- The hot water in the shower was very inconsistent and even at night was not a guarantee
- The pool has very little seating around it so means you have to be early to ensure you have a seat

The Ugly:
- The area was having Mosquito issues at the time and the staff advised us to leave our balcony door at all times which did detract from the overall value of the room

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennansoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This hotel is superb - the furnishings are luxurious and the staff were all most helpful. We stayed here in February with our son and his fiancée before their wedding. The restaurant location overlooking the river is idyllic and very peaceful considering the busy road out the front. The pool is a good size and very clean [infinity view towards the river]. Having your own personal water feature beside the bathroom was very restful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveelward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#18 of 384 in Chiang Mai
2,017 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 384 in Chiang Mai
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 384 in Chiang Mai
3,010 reviews
3.2 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 384 in Chiang Mai
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 33 Chang Klan Road,Pa Daet, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of the Mae Ping River, Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai captures the essence of the destination's Lanna ancestry that subtly appears in its architecture and interior decor. Ratilanna Riverside Spa Chiang Mai is only minutes from the airport and the city's popular night bazaar offering the ultimate indulgence of a five-star urban sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Hotel Chiang Mai
Sofitel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing