We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #18 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very good hotel, huge room with dining area, TV room and bath tube. Great breakfast with lots of choices. Staff very helpful.

Nice Pool and Fitness center

A bit far from the night market, about 15 minutes walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caioamadesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    173
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
146
369
27
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Just got back from a 9 days Thailand Holiday and was very pleased to have stayed at the Ratilanna whist in Chiang Mai for 2 nights.

Very well presented rooms that reflect Thailand and unlike many other hotels this one is full of character and Luxury feeling.

I'm already looking to go back in the next couple of month.

If you are in Chiang Mai make sure to treat your selves for a couple of nights here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in December 2013 for our Honeymoon. Our thoughts are:
1. Beautiful hotel
2. Friendly and helpful staff
3. Great location - 10 min tuk tuk drive away from the main area of bars and restaurants
4. Nice pool and gym

We didn't use their spa nor restaurant so no comment.

Room Tip: We stayed in Deluxe suite, it was very spacious, good interior decor and nice balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mistaun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
353 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was my first visit to Chiang Mai and I have to say that my expectations really weren't that high but I was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was superb and staff attentive, friendly and helpful.

We had a conference here and every single aspect of our conference was absolutely perfect! Everything was absolutely top quality from the crockery used at the restaurant to every little detail at our conference facilities, catering and service.

I don't know whether this is Thailand but this is one of the best quality conference venues we've ever had. The rooms were superb with a huge bath and amazingly, an indoor waterfall in the bathroom! It was so soothing and restful lying in the bath listening to the waterfall! This is the first time I've ever seen anything like this before in a hotel room!

The decor in the hotel is very much Thai and uses a dark timber for the floors. There's a golden Buddha in a alcove of its own and numerous statues throughout the public areas.

We availed ourselves to the library for some of our meetings and its really good for a hotel to even have a library these days! I'm sure some of this generation don't even know what a library is!

The hotel has a private jetty with a small boat that I'd assume could be utilised for sailing down the river but it looked as if it only held a dozen or so people and there were 70 of us so we never availed ourselves of it.

The restaurant was excellent and we could dine inside or outside. The range of food wasn't as wide as some of the larger hotels in Bangkok but nevertheless was plentiful and of a high quality.

The garden and grounds were very well kept but one letdown was the view when I left my room to walk along the passageway. The neighbouring property was unkempt and buildings were derelict. Perhaps the hotel owners should buy this for future expension and clean it up?

All in all, I'll be sure to return to this hotel when I next visit Chiang Mai!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 3003 and I'd thoroughly recommend one of these rooms with the waterfall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Loved staying at this hotel! The staff were very friendly. As soon as we checked in, they showed us around to the common and breakfast areas. Breakfast was a buffet of a variety of delicious food. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bath was huge! They even provided a plugged-in mosquito repellant which helped keep the bugs at bay.

My only gripe - the place was a little hard to find. As we had rented a car, we used our own GPS but it wasn't registered in the map that we had and we got lost. Thanks to the owner at the Beef Noodles Shop opposite the Shangri-La (which was delicious), we found it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a nice hotel ,but is spoilt by bad management.When complaints were made the management did nothing,all they said was some one will come and see you but they never did ,The complaints were about cold food.
The ordinary staff were great ,rooms ect were fine,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Wow, after reading the prior negative reviews about this hotel, I can't help but wonder if they were staying at a different hotel. This was the 2nd stop on our recent trip to Thailand and Cambodia.Our local guide in Chiang Mai, met us at the airport and told us that this was his favorite hotel in Chiang Mai. It was our favorite hotel of the trip, and we stayed in some nice hotels.The property is a 4 story rambling building, with all rooms having a balcony that faces the interior courtyard and pool. Our room on the fourth floor was a 2 room suite. The door to the room was off an exterior (but glassed in) hallway. We were next to the bar/disco mentioned in previous reviews and the road. BUT, unlike other reviewers, when in our room, with the door closed, we could not hear any external noise.

As with every hotel we stayed at in Thailand, the staff were unfailingly polite, friendly, smiling and helpful. Yes, it is about 1.5 kilometers to the night market, and about 2 kilometers to the old town. That is walkable, if you are up to it, but the hotel shuttle will drop you off if requested (but doesn't pick up). We arrived on a Sunday, and were advised to visit the Sunday walking market.The hotel shuttle dropped us off at the entrance, and we enjoyed walking the market, and ate dinner from the many street food vendors. When we were ready to return, it was a 60 Baht (about $2.00) and 10 minute Tuk-Tuk ride back to the hotel. Our second night we went to the Night market and had dinner there. This time we took one of the red pick-up truck taxis back to the hotel (5 minutes and 40 Baht). We also ate at the hotel's barbecue style restaurant our last night, and thoroughly enjoyed the meal and service.

There was a wedding one evening at the hotel. When we got back from the market, we joined many of the other hotel guests sitting in the patio bar watching the wedding. We particular enjoyed the lantern lighting and ascent. The hotel guests even applauded the newlyweds when introduced. The wedding party was over before midnight, and again, there was no noticeable noise in our room.

We also found the prices at the hotel to be quite reasonable. The in-room honor bar was the most reasonably priced of our trip at only 100 baht for a beer. And the restaurant was also quite reasonable.The hotel pool is beautiful, and the breakfast was well stocked with international options. All in all it was our favorite hotel on our trip, and is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank llsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 33 Chang Klan Road,Pa Daet, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of the Mae Ping River, Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai captures the essence of the destination's Lanna ancestry that subtly appears in its architecture and interior decor. Ratilanna Riverside Spa Chiang Mai is only minutes from the airport and the city's popular night bazaar offering the ultimate indulgence of a five-star urban sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Hotel Chiang Mai
Sofitel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing