We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #22 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have been staying in the hotel for 2 nights during the beginning of songkran festival 2014.
The hotel is in the middle between airport and old city / night bazaar.
The room we received was good (2 twin beds as reserved). Only problem was the room (#1018) was a bit "inner" room in the ground flor. Every body who walked near pool could see inside.
Breakfast was good we good choices.
Service was very carry. We needed help twice from the concierge and they were helpful.

Room Tip: Try to ask for second flor facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savinoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

My Wife and I stayed for 4 nights during the Flower Festival and were very impressed with the care demonstrated by the staff. Language issues are always challenging, especially when things are not in the normal daily activities.

Our room did not have hot water on the first day. After kind, gentle explanations as to the problem, the staff were quick to get an engineer to address the issue.

The dining area was very good, but a bit pricey. I live in Thailand for most of the year and realize that my valuations are skewed, but the quality made it doable.

The River location was pleasant for the evenings, a well equipped gym and spa made the mornings come to life before a full day on the town.

Pay a visit! You will enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave Tibbals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed here with my husband as part of a Saga Holiday and I can say that I was very impressed with the hotel overall. Our room was spacious and beautifully furnished and the bathroom even had a water feature and flat screen TV!
The hotel staff were very polite and friendly and their Understanding of English was very good.
All areas of the hotel were kept immaculately clean and the gardens worked on constantly so that you never saw a dead leaf or litter.
The hotel spa was not cheap by Thailand prices but very nice and relaxing with friendly staff.
Our Saga rep Toey was first class and her local knowledge excellent and we did use the hotel shuttle bus to take us to the night market which was wonderful.
The only slight problem was that the food although perfectly cooked was rather repetitive and the fish that we were offered was always salmon or squid. The drinks selection offered to Saga guests was quite poor with no whiskey or vodka on the inclusive list and no Rose wine as in other hotels although this is being quite picky I know.
The beauty of this hotel made up for its shortcomings and I would definitely recommend it for singles and couples to stay whilst seeing the many fascinating sights of Chiang Mai. If you are looking for evening entertainment then stay elsewhere but this hotel definitely suited us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElainePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Really enjoyed our stopover of 5 nights here. A little further away from the action but a short, cheap ride to the centre. Gorgeous grounds and pool overlooking a river. Such a relaxing environment. Get yourself a driver for a day or two for a private tour. Really worth it.

Room Tip: Be aware when booking tours. There are many elephant tours. Most use terrible cruelty not visible to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royaljp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Ratings:
Environment/style: 4.5 star
Pool: 4 star
Maintenance: 2 star
Shower/water systems: 2 star
Breakfast: 3.5 star
Dinner: 2.5 star (drinks Not incl.)
Tour recommended: 2 star
Services: 4 star

Overall impression: 2.5 star

Comments:
Similar to most other comments - shower system is broken (water becomes cold or very hot always, and it is broken at 2nd night which requires repair), dinner/breakfast is average, ATV tour (ATV Extreme) recommended is poorly operated.

Good are the room and style which are very traditional Thai.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kiu Tat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed at the Ratilanna Riverside Resort for three days in early March while on tour of Northern Thailand. By far the best hotel that tour group stayed at. Large beautiful rooms with teak furniture and flooring. Loved the huge soaker tub with waterfall and TV in bathroom. It was so peaceful to relax on the balcony lounge bed.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Have posted some photos of the room, etc. because 'traveler' photos sometimes more helpful than the polished ones hotel sometimes post. We rented a delux room, and yes you can rent a decent place for 1/3rd the price, but your money goes 3x as far when you 'upgrade.' The balcony on this room was as big as many hotel rooms I've stayed. The included buffet breakfast is amazing - all the standard breakfast food, plus what one would consider lunch/dinner (see eg posted). Service was great - little secluded but that's not all bad and a Tuk Tuk ride is cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.9 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,074 reviews
1.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Address: 33 Chang Klan Road,Pa Daet, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £150 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of the Mae Ping River, Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai captures the essence of the destination's Lanna ancestry that subtly appears in its architecture and interior decor. Ratilanna Riverside Spa Chiang Mai is only minutes from the airport and the city's popular night bazaar offering the ultimate indulgence of a five-star urban sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Hotel Chiang Mai
Sofitel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing