We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go there...you wont regret it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #18 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We stayed at this hotel on our honeymoon, and i can honestly say it more than exceeded our expectations.
From the moment we arrived we were picked up from the airport by 2 very kind and gentle thai characters who were very helpfull towards us.
The rooms are "AMAZING" the bed alone must be 7ft x 7ft squared it's huge and the room itself is very spacious, lovely modern features, quiet aircon, big bathroom with tv at end of bath, free toothpaste every day and complimentary water, beds turned for you every evening, they even sent us up a special cake with happy honeymoon on it, it's the small things that count.
The resort itself is lovely with a great spa (tad pricey though) nice breakfast (included) and a shuttle bus to and from the town.
All in all we had a wonderfull time here and can totally recommend this hotel to ANYONE, if you are only thinking of staying here well stop thinking and just book you wont be disappointed.

One bad thing, although not directly the hotels fault.. but the concierge girl who organises the tours (she worked for an outside company who set up in the hotel) we were totally unaware of prices of the tours, and this girl recommended we should go by taxi to the elephant camps and then pay in, we trusted her and went with it only to find out later that the taxi was in fact her husband and we were charged 4x times the going price (literally) from her rather than go to the local tour offices where it was a quarter of the price (we only seen all the tour vans when we got there which aroused our suspicions as to why we were the only ones in a car)... maybe sometimes we should not trust so easy in future with these things.

Dont let that put you off though this place is amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwayCouple_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2010

I really cannot fault this place. We had a wonderful stay and the rooms and bathrooms were absolutely divine, the cleanliness and service of the highest standards and the staff delightful. It's in a lovely spot on the riverbank. Had a superb massage in the spa. Didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Chiang Mai was our favourite stop - elephant riding & tigers!

The Ratilana is a truly breath taking resort. The decor is splendid and no expenses are spared - there is even a private river at the back of the resort where you can have the resort boat take you out for a romantic dinner (for a fee ofcourse...)

The buffett breakfast had a good variety (complimentary). We didn't venture outside of the hotel for eateries as there was not much around. The room service was not cheap for Thai standards and the buffett dinner at apprx. 500 baht per person was quite decent.

We organised all our touring at the hotel tour desk - probably double the price but definitely worth it and you get a personal driver for the entire day. A driver for the day and elephant safari tickets was 5000 baht for the two of us - it was definitely the best day of our trip.

The hotel room was spacious - electric lightening - we even had a water fall like feature in our bathroom - this resort is all about tranquliity!

The only Cons were the mosquitoes - we have a gap in our veranda door that was not able to be closed so we had up to 20 mosquitoes per night. We had two plug in repellants but in the end reception gave us their big mosquito repellant light and a zapper which gave us at last one night's sleep (on the last night!)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_little_precious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Ratilanna for 5 days in April. Ratilanna is a small, luxurious boutique resort located on the Mae Phim river in Chiang Mai. The hotel is located on the 'edge' of the city, far enough away from the old town to offer privacy but close enough for a short tuk-tuk or hotel shuttle ride.. The rooms and furnishings are spacious and luxurious. The resort grounds are beautifully done in Lanna Thai style with rich fabrics, gardens and water features incorporated into the entire property. lovely with many water features.
We selected the Riverview suite and were extremely pleased - one of the nicest suites we have ever stayed in with a view of the river and the pool/gardens. The suite was five rooms - small dinette area, large living room with flat screen, large bedroom with canopy bed and flat screen, spacious closet dressing room and large bathroom with jacuzzi tub, separate shower and water feature AND a flat screen over the bathtub. The room had a large balcony with daybed and swing.
The service was impeccable and friendly.
The Brazilian restaurant RIO was excellent. The river cafe for breakfast was good - same breakfast offerings each day, nothing special, but good. We ordered room service a couple of times and were very pleased.
We took advantage of the Spa and found the quality to be outstanding - and the spa is very beautiful.
We would definately return to Ratilanna on a return visit to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlpintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Very elegant beautiful resort, friendly helpful staff, very quiet as it is away from the center of town and therefore not as noisy. They provide transportation to all markets and area events to their guests.
The hotel Travel agency provided us with a wonderful informative driver, Alex, who really showed us the authentic Chaing mai Thai experience. We worth the $2000 bt he charged us.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank ladady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

This hotel is located on the Ping River about 15 minutes from the airport. It is NOT close (walking distance) to any other locations including the night market, b ut a 50 bht tukl-tuk away.
Rooms are very high end , we had both a "regular and a suite" the decor is some of the best I have seen in the world, porches are spacious with large sitting areas and even a swing!. TEakwood and interesting lamps etc, large comfortable beds and bedside "smart" controls for all the lights etc, (altbeit a bit hard to figure out!" The suites are enormous sitting areas and could easily sleep a few kids (not certain about this though)
Food- Marginal- The breakfast buffet is quite good as you can get freshlt prepared eggs/ waffles but the "spread" is not quite up to 5 star standards (4 plus) Pool food is limited and expensive and small portions and in fact "western:" with pizza and hamburgers- If I wanted this type of food I would have stayed in America!) Drinks are small too
Pool area has a large infinity pool but the staff are ot up to five star standards- the deck charis are dirty but soft and they give you one towel- when they have been used by others they are wet- at most hotels the staff will COVER the chair with a towel adn then give you and extra- this seemed to confused them as they have a one towle per guest rule (I guess better for the environment) Service is only if you walk over to the bar- or swim up (noone comes around and refills drinks or takes away direty dishes in a quick way-
Reservations were easy on expedia and agoda and 1/2 the price on the hotel website- The checkin was easy and they arranged a tour for us the first day right from the airport due to our early arrival
There are rooms overlooking the pool but theyre are also some not so great locations on the 1st level as these would have no view and be in the corners- ask for a higher flooor (we a were on level 3 but level one would have been unacceptable)
All in all it was vey quiet and relaxing and well worth the low price we paid- I might consider the Shamgri-la as a better location but did not go there. The oriental and four seasons are only for if youw ant ot be out of the city and stay there with infrequest trips to town

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RatiLanna, Front Office Manager at Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2010

Dear marikim,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. You have certainly given a detailed, non bias review of your experience which I am sure readers will appreciate.

It is only through feedback from our guests that we can constantly improve our service and facilities, we take your comments serious and will surly adress each point mentioned and we look forward to your return so that you can see the improvements for yourself.

Kind Regards,
Ellis de Ruiter
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

This was the second stop on our Honeymoon. We did mass amounts of research to figure out what hotel to stay out. I was glad I choose this one. When we got there we I was a little annoyed that we did not have the river view I requested. After a little back and fourth they upgraded us for an additional cost to a corner suite on the river. The room was great. The hotels staff was very friendly but DO NOT use the tour agent in the hotel. We asked her to send us some place we could walk around and go shopping. She had the driver drop us off on some random street. We were scared because the sidewalk was really small and there was no place to walk. We managed to find our way to the night bazzar but do not use them. The breakfast is great and the pool area is very relaxing and we got some great massages at the spa. The bell hop was more helpful in setting us up at this Itilian restaurant called Picco that was amazing....

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott33Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#22 of 402 in Chiang Mai
2,121 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.9 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 402 in Chiang Mai
2,560 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 402 in Chiang Mai
3,248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Address: 33 Chang Klan Road,Pa Daet, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £142 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of the Mae Ping River, Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai captures the essence of the destination's Lanna ancestry that subtly appears in its architecture and interior decor. Ratilanna Riverside Spa Chiang Mai is only minutes from the airport and the city's popular night bazaar offering the ultimate indulgence of a five-star urban sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Hotel Chiang Mai
Sofitel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing