We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and beautiful Hotel could not fault” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #18 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent and beautiful Hotel could not fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

The staff at this hotel are extremely pleasant and helpful at all times. We found the accomodation was very clean and luxurious. The swimming pool was wonderful and refreshing and we enjoyed every minute of our stay here. When my wife was unwell during our stay we were taken immediately by the hotel to a local chemist despite it being latre at night. We would reccomend this beautiful hotel to anyone thinking of stopping in Chiang Mai and we would love to return here.
Down side (small thing)the internal day trip desk is rather expensive as you would expect in comparison to arrangements you can make outside of the hotel. We would reccomend the riverside restaurant for good inexpensive food.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acornfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    173
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
146
368
27
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

My sister and I with our husbands stayed at the Ratilanna for 3 wonderful nights at the end of April and would love to have stayed longer. The resort itself was absolutely beautiful with river views,a lovely pool, tranquil water features, tropical plants and gorgeous little statues providing interest everywhere. We had booked 2 deluxe suites which were extremely spacious, furnished in teak and pure luxury ie. water features in the bathroom and dining areas, an enormous canopied bed, large lounge room with LCD TV(one of 3!) and balcony with swing, daybed and table and chairs. Buffet breakfast was delicious with plenty of choices and restaurants were fine. We found the staff to be wonderful - helpful, smiling and providing excellent service at all times.
The Ratilanna is located outside of the main town area but it is easy and cheap to get a tuk tuk/taxi into town and we found the quiet location refreshing after shopping or sightseeing activities. Not quite as many activities to do in Chiang Mai as in Bangkok or Phuket but would recommend this resort as a lovely, relaxing place for a holiday. We would definitely stay at Ratilanna next visit to Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buffsterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

We stayed at this hotel on our honeymoon, and i can honestly say it more than exceeded our expectations.
From the moment we arrived we were picked up from the airport by 2 very kind and gentle thai characters who were very helpfull towards us.
The rooms are "AMAZING" the bed alone must be 7ft x 7ft squared it's huge and the room itself is very spacious, lovely modern features, quiet aircon, big bathroom with tv at end of bath, free toothpaste every day and complimentary water, beds turned for you every evening, they even sent us up a special cake with happy honeymoon on it, it's the small things that count.
The resort itself is lovely with a great spa (tad pricey though) nice breakfast (included) and a shuttle bus to and from the town.
All in all we had a wonderfull time here and can totally recommend this hotel to ANYONE, if you are only thinking of staying here well stop thinking and just book you wont be disappointed.

One bad thing, although not directly the hotels fault.. but the concierge girl who organises the tours (she worked for an outside company who set up in the hotel) we were totally unaware of prices of the tours, and this girl recommended we should go by taxi to the elephant camps and then pay in, we trusted her and went with it only to find out later that the taxi was in fact her husband and we were charged 4x times the going price (literally) from her rather than go to the local tour offices where it was a quarter of the price (we only seen all the tour vans when we got there which aroused our suspicions as to why we were the only ones in a car)... maybe sometimes we should not trust so easy in future with these things.

Dont let that put you off though this place is amazing.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayCouple_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

I really cannot fault this place. We had a wonderful stay and the rooms and bathrooms were absolutely divine, the cleanliness and service of the highest standards and the staff delightful. It's in a lovely spot on the riverbank. Had a superb massage in the spa. Didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

Chiang Mai was our favourite stop - elephant riding & tigers!

The Ratilana is a truly breath taking resort. The decor is splendid and no expenses are spared - there is even a private river at the back of the resort where you can have the resort boat take you out for a romantic dinner (for a fee ofcourse...)

The buffett breakfast had a good variety (complimentary). We didn't venture outside of the hotel for eateries as there was not much around. The room service was not cheap for Thai standards and the buffett dinner at apprx. 500 baht per person was quite decent.

We organised all our touring at the hotel tour desk - probably double the price but definitely worth it and you get a personal driver for the entire day. A driver for the day and elephant safari tickets was 5000 baht for the two of us - it was definitely the best day of our trip.

The hotel room was spacious - electric lightening - we even had a water fall like feature in our bathroom - this resort is all about tranquliity!

The only Cons were the mosquitoes - we have a gap in our veranda door that was not able to be closed so we had up to 20 mosquitoes per night. We had two plug in repellants but in the end reception gave us their big mosquito repellant light and a zapper which gave us at last one night's sleep (on the last night!)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a_little_precious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Ratilanna for 5 days in April. Ratilanna is a small, luxurious boutique resort located on the Mae Phim river in Chiang Mai. The hotel is located on the 'edge' of the city, far enough away from the old town to offer privacy but close enough for a short tuk-tuk or hotel shuttle ride.. The rooms and furnishings are spacious and luxurious. The resort grounds are beautifully done in Lanna Thai style with rich fabrics, gardens and water features incorporated into the entire property. lovely with many water features.
We selected the Riverview suite and were extremely pleased - one of the nicest suites we have ever stayed in with a view of the river and the pool/gardens. The suite was five rooms - small dinette area, large living room with flat screen, large bedroom with canopy bed and flat screen, spacious closet dressing room and large bathroom with jacuzzi tub, separate shower and water feature AND a flat screen over the bathtub. The room had a large balcony with daybed and swing.
The service was impeccable and friendly.
The Brazilian restaurant RIO was excellent. The river cafe for breakfast was good - same breakfast offerings each day, nothing special, but good. We ordered room service a couple of times and were very pleased.
We took advantage of the Spa and found the quality to be outstanding - and the spa is very beautiful.
We would definately return to Ratilanna on a return visit to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlpintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

Very elegant beautiful resort, friendly helpful staff, very quiet as it is away from the center of town and therefore not as noisy. They provide transportation to all markets and area events to their guests.
The hotel Travel agency provided us with a wonderful informative driver, Alex, who really showed us the authentic Chaing mai Thai experience. We worth the $2000 bt he charged us.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ladady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 373 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 33 Chang Klan Road,Pa Daet, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of the Mae Ping River, Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai captures the essence of the destination's Lanna ancestry that subtly appears in its architecture and interior decor. Ratilanna Riverside Spa Chiang Mai is only minutes from the airport and the city's popular night bazaar offering the ultimate indulgence of a five-star urban sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Hotel Chiang Mai
Sofitel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing