We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs and filth under beauty”
Review of Amata Lanna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amata Lanna
Ranked #15 of 788 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is indeed a beautiful hotel with private garden and lovely architecture but BEWARE. My wife and I now have bedbugs in our clothes. the rooms appear clean until you look closer under the bed and dresser or in corners. When we took a filthy towel to the desk after looking under the bed for lost articles upon checkout, no manager, no speak English. Probably going to throw everything away when we get home so our house will not be infested. BEWARE!

Room Tip: Avoid room 108 or stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cherrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

We have travelled around the world and have to say that for a hotel that is located in the heart of everything, this is truely a little bit of paradise. The owner has gone to great lengths to create a beautiful, warm and inviting atmosphere with lovely gardens, an adequate pool that is beautiful all lit up at night, outdoor dining and gorgeous decor! The rooms are beautiful and very well maintained, spotless and equipped with everything. Upon our arrival, we were greated by one of her hosts, Yu who was so kind and made us feel right at home. In the morning, we awoke to the owner at her own little cooking station and had such a lovely breakfast...home made omelette's, etc. On the menu it mentions "porridge" but be aware that this is not porridge but an amazing broth soup with little pork meatballs...yes different for breakfast but an absolute must as the flavour is wonderful. In the evening, we were able to take a short walk to the night market and this was one of the better markets in Chiang Mai with great deals to be had. If you are looking for a quaint boutique type place run by owners who treat you like family, then this is the place to go! At one point, I needed to go to the hospital as I was having pain and the owner's son, Paul, took my husband and I by car and accompanied us into the hospital, helped explain and then waited. We couldn't believe that I was seen immediately and out the door with medicine within twenty minutes...all for $35.00! Anyway, just go...you won't be disappointed. Also, Yu's husband Yut can take you on some tours if you ask her and we exercised this option and had a great time.

Room Tip: Beautiful, Clean, Great Service! Truely five star!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed here for just 2 short nights - I wish it had been more. The Lanna design and decor is beautiful. The hotel itself small - but immaculate and homely. Much is made in other reviews about the noisy road, and this is true, but as somebody who is very sound sensitive, I can assure you that this small annoyance is worthwhile! The rooms are generous in size and very comforting.

The only bothersome aspect of the stay was the erratically leaking air-conditioner - but the room was so good that I preferred to put up with the odd drop of water than be moved.

I often rave about staff in Thailand, but here they've taken the cake! My 5 year old daughter ate almost every meal and spent just about every hour with them over these 2 days. The one young lady even took my daughter shopping for a suitably "Thai" outfit. There are few employees here, but they are very efficient, warm and caring.

I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Being on the ground floor is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank falangkiinok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Staff incredibly friendly, nice facilities with very limited rooms, only. Small pool rather for cooling down than for swimming. Street a bit noisy in case you are sensitive to noise (earplugs?). Bedroom and particularely bathroom clean and nice with statues, antique furniture etc. - very nice! Breakfast included but very limited offer - but it is good in a nutshell. Wifi for free.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18monthsAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Good hotel, great service, beautiful authentic Thai-style rooms. The hotel is designed as an oasis and the staff is extremely helpful. The hotel is located a walking distance from the Night Bazzar, and Ping river, with all its nearby coffee shops and restaurants. The only downside is that it's a boutique-style hotel situated near the road, and there was a bit of a noise from the traffic, but not too much - bearable!
Definitely recommended for your stay in Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vadim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

This is an oasis which is less than 5 minutes by taxi away from the hustle and bustle of the night bazaar and bar area of Chiangmai. Located on a small squarish plot, it consists of only 12 rooms each of which has a traditional Thai name and not a number. The rooms are on either the ground floor or the second floor forming two sides overlooking a swimming pool. At another side of the pool is a simple reception which also serves drinks and coffee. There are no restaurants on site although breakfast is served by the poolside. Above the reception area is a reading lounge with ample reading materials, comfortable seats and a PC station with free internet and printing facilities.

Like the rest of the place, the room was done in the traditional Thai style. It was spacious with a huge 4-poster bed, plentiful seating area, wardrobe with personal electronic safe and a flat-screen TV. The bathroom and toilet was impressive. The floor and the walls were nicely tiled. There was a jacuzzi as well as a shower area with rain shower-head. After a long day out in town, it was most relaxing to soak in the jacuzzi.

One gets the impression that every item in the room has been carefully picked by the owner as if she were doing up her own room.

The road outside tends to get a tad noisy during the day. But at night, it was real quiet and peaceful.

If you are tired of the usual big hotels and want to experience something traditional on a small scale without paying sky-high prices, this is the place for you. It is a place where you automatically lower your voice and slow down your pace. The staff are always polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack_CCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We have just arrived back from spending a week in Chiang Mai. We found this hotel on Agoda and booked it because the price ws good. It is a good location, just near the River and The Chedi so only a few minutes walk to the Night Bazaar. The rooms are nice, traditional, clean and comfortable. There is a safe, free wifi etc. What makes this place is the staff. The main receptionist, lead member, whos name we didnt get was absolutely wonderful, always making sure we were ok. I had to work each day but she assisted my partner in booking spas, taxis, trips each day. I cant recommend this place enough. Its not big and fancy but its family run, comfortable and good value.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerNick20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 389 in Chiang Mai
2,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#42 of 389 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 389 in Chiang Mai
2,440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amata Lanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Lanna

Address: 222/2 Chareanprated Rd. | T. Changkarn, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 788 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £73 - £1,227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amata Lanna 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amata Lanna Chiangmai, a place rich in the art from the ancient kingdom of Lanna. The traditional buildings are designed with teakwood to reflect the beauty of the Lanna culture. Amata Lanna's courtyard and 12 uniquely designed antique suites provide an intimate and cozy atmosphere which transports you back to a time of the flourishing cultural heritage. The boutique hotel is situated in the heart of Chiangmai, the capital of ancient Lanna. It is only 10 minutes from the airport and in the walking distance to many tourist attractions, i.e. the night market, the Mae Ping River, and the ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amata Lanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing