We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming oasis in the city”
Review of Amata Lanna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amata Lanna
Ranked #13 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming oasis in the city”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We loved loved loved the Amata Lanna! It's a charming little place, not far from the hustle of the city. It's a small boutique hotel, there are maybe 12 or so rooms around a beautiful courtyard, separated from the street by a stone wall.

The free breakfast was fabulous... one of the best omelets I've ever had and super fresh fruit. Everyone at the hotel was kind and gracious. The manager followed our cab to the airport to give us the pillow we accidentally left behind! So sweet!

I highly recommend staying in this gem if you decide to visit Chiand Mai.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    51
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
140
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
164 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

To begin with, this is the almost perfect place and if no cars would pass, you would just feel like in heaven. It' s only the car noise that took you back to reality if you were outside in the lovely kept compound.
However, once the heavy wooden carved room door was closed, you could retire in a quiet, tastefully decorated room with a most comfortable bed and just about the most beautiful bathroom we have ever had in a hotel, with jaccuzi and rain shower. High quality towels and toiletries.

Fresh roses and orchids were provided both in bed and bathroom. The cherry on the cake however, was Yuh, the soul of this place!!! Through her discret way of being around and just reading every wish from your lips, she and the lovely staff manage everything, from taxi arrangements, phone calls to trip suggestions or restaurant tips. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she deserves a distinction for real Thaï hospitality.

The tasteful breakfast with plenty of vegetables and fresh fruit was served around the small, yet nice swimming pool under white umbrellas on the wooden terrace accompanied by the sounds of relaxing music.
Real warm serene, family like atmosphere in good location near the peer for river cruise departure.
We intend to go back next year and stay even longer than the 2 nights we could only stay this time.
Highly recommend it for people who appreciate tasteful interiors and are ready to pay for quality.

Room Tip: All of the 12 rooms are located to the front side of the street behind a brick wall. At night time n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This beautiful 12 room hotel was a breath of fresh air! Located within a 5 minute walking distance to the night market, several massage places and great restaurants. Taxi from airport was 120 BAHTS. We were greeted with cold mango juice and personally brought to our room and shown around. The structure, details and decor in every corner were traditional thai. Fresh Roses in our room everyday, a heaping bouquet of real orchids by the tub. A peak through window from room to bathroom if wanted. Rainhead shower, Extremely clean, Free water and Free Wifi were great! The included breakfast was nothing short of spectacular. Set by the pool, there were a selection of fresh cut fruits, yummy chinese deep fried bread, sweet sticky mango rice and a menu to order from, free of charge including toast, bacon, eggs etc etc. The only con was the bed was extremely hard which is a personal preference. We were always greeted by name. As we were on our honeymoon, we couldn't have chosen a more beautiful spot to spend our 3 nights. Make sure to book in advance as 12 rooms sell out quickly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unbelizable11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were enchanted with this perfect small hotel; it is an oasis of calm but within walking distance to the night market and center of Chang Mai. Its not often that I would describe a hotel a beautiful, but this one is. The traditional Thai architecture on the outside is carried over to ther decoration of the rooms.We were made to feel so welcome by all the staff. We very much enjoyed Chang Mai, there is so much to see and do, and local restaurants within walking distance that we enjoyed included the Whole Earth, and Lemongrass. Do visit the Saturday (or Sunday) walking streets - much better than the night market!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is a true boutique hotel with just 12 lovely rooms and the delightful Toy and Yu on hand to cater for your every whim. We spent three nights there and returned for one night after a northern trip which was like coming home. The rooms were very lovely and the air con worked well. We found it a little difficult to find a corner to relax with a book, but we were out a lot of the time, also the beds were quite firm. However it was such a sweet place and everything we needed was at hand or nearby. We ate at the excellent Italian on the corner opposite the Anantara, we ate at the Anantara and the Good (or was it whole) Earth. Toy sent us to The Gallery which was not a success. We would definitely return.
NB Before you flog out there remember that the museum is closed on a Monday and Tuesday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EleHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, Uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A real gem close to Night market. A proper family run hotel with friendly staff and service and great breakfast . The nearby road is busy in the daytime but is fine at night .
good recommendations from the owner for local trips and where to buy things. The hotel works with a good driver guide - Yut - who speaks good English which adds a lot to the experience.
We went specially for the Chiang Mai flower festival and the hotel is perfectly located for the start of that at the Nawarat Bridge.

Room Tip: Away from the road possibly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldkaleidoscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here in January. The hotel is perfect. Nice Jacuzzi in the room. Romantic setting. Perfect breakfast. Perfect coffee. You can ask what you want. Very friendly people. Only in daytime you can hear some traffic. We booked a three day tour to the northern mountains at the hotel-reception. Our private guide Yut was perfect, had a nice car and spoke English very well. We met several hilltribe people (very impressive) and visited all the highlights in the north. Well, our visit to Chiang Mai and the mountains were just top top top.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fep E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,811 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#44 of 381 in Chiang Mai
911 reviews
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amata Lanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Lanna

Property: Amata Lanna
Address: 222/2 Chareanprated Rd. | T. Changkarn, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amata Lanna 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amata Lanna Chiangmai, a place rich in the art from the ancient kingdom of Lanna. The traditional buildings are designed with teakwood to reflect the beauty of the Lanna culture. Amata Lanna's courtyard and 12 uniquely designed antique suites provide an intimate and cozy atmosphere which transports you back to a time of the flourishing cultural heritage. The boutique hotel is situated in the heart of Chiangmai, the capital of ancient Lanna. It is only 10 minutes from the airport and in the walking distance to many tourist attractions, i.e. the night market, the Mae Ping River, and the ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Amata Lanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing