We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise awaits you as you enter”
Review of Amata Lanna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amata Lanna
Ranked #13 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprise awaits you as you enter”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This beautiful small boutique property, has the most wonderful charm and character. We were greeted by lovely & friendly staff, and after welcome drink shown to our room, what an amazing place to start our holiday in South East Asia. Hotel offers a very nice breakfast, served around the small but lovely pool. Every member of staff greets you with a smile. Hotel only serves breakfast but very good choice of local restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieB908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    51
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
140
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for 12 nights in feb 2014..fantastic place..so clean..tranquil
..breakfasts were fantastic so fresh ..staff amazing..very romantic rooms spa ..canles ..4 poster beds..no problems with flys or mosquitos zo none..only lovely gekos

Room Tip: Nice quiet b and b type
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leo7lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This is easily the nicest place we stayed in Thailand. In fact, it is probably the nicest place we have ever stayed, anywhere!

As it is only a small boutique hotel, they play to their strengths. The staff were unbelievably kind, happy and helpful. Anything that we required was dealt with instantly and always with a smile. The room was exquisite and the courtyard terrace/ pool area was utter tranquility.

Upon arrival we were told to relax and treat it like our home. The day trips, taxis etc. were all sorted out for us by the staff. It is only a short walk to the night market and not that much further into the city walls.

This is one memory of our honeymoon that will last with us forever.

Thank you to everyone at Amata Lanna for making us feel welcome and happy.

(Just a quick note to anyone checking the location on the trip advisor map - it's incorrect. Look at the website or Facebook page for an accurate location) :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We've stayed at Amata Lanna for a few days on August 2013 and this was the best hotel experience we've ever had :)
Amata Lanna is a quite small hotel (less than 10 rooms if I can remember) so you feel just like home ! breakfast is a delight with fresh fruits every day. All the staff is particularly nice and takes care of you as if you were family.
The pool is very well maintained (no leaves etc.) while the inside vegetation is very luxurious

Thanks a lot to all the staff for making us feel like in a little paradise !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mélanie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We loved this hotel and stayed here for 5 days during our stay in Chiang Mai. The rooms are big, spacious and clean. The wood on the floors and furniture really gives the hotel a warm feeling. There is a pool, but its barely used. The breakfast is quite nice, but we were turned off a little by the amount of flies and mosquitos hanging around the eating area. I think this hotel does have a mosquito problem, but the hotel provides in-room solutions via plug in. Great location, 5-10 minute walk from Chiang Mai night markets and the shopping centre and only a 2 minute walk from an AMAZING massage parlour.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickolas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We loved loved loved the Amata Lanna! It's a charming little place, not far from the hustle of the city. It's a small boutique hotel, there are maybe 12 or so rooms around a beautiful courtyard, separated from the street by a stone wall.

The free breakfast was fabulous... one of the best omelets I've ever had and super fresh fruit. Everyone at the hotel was kind and gracious. The manager followed our cab to the airport to give us the pillow we accidentally left behind! So sweet!

I highly recommend staying in this gem if you decide to visit Chiand Mai.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
164 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

To begin with, this is the almost perfect place and if no cars would pass, you would just feel like in heaven. It' s only the car noise that took you back to reality if you were outside in the lovely kept compound.
However, once the heavy wooden carved room door was closed, you could retire in a quiet, tastefully decorated room with a most comfortable bed and just about the most beautiful bathroom we have ever had in a hotel, with jaccuzi and rain shower. High quality towels and toiletries.

Fresh roses and orchids were provided both in bed and bathroom. The cherry on the cake however, was Yuh, the soul of this place!!! Through her discret way of being around and just reading every wish from your lips, she and the lovely staff manage everything, from taxi arrangements, phone calls to trip suggestions or restaurant tips. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she deserves a distinction for real Thaï hospitality.

The tasteful breakfast with plenty of vegetables and fresh fruit was served around the small, yet nice swimming pool under white umbrellas on the wooden terrace accompanied by the sounds of relaxing music.
Real warm serene, family like atmosphere in good location near the peer for river cruise departure.
We intend to go back next year and stay even longer than the 2 nights we could only stay this time.
Highly recommend it for people who appreciate tasteful interiors and are ready to pay for quality.

Room Tip: All of the 12 rooms are located to the front side of the street behind a brick wall. At night time n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#42 of 381 in Chiang Mai
912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amata Lanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Lanna

Property: Amata Lanna
Address: 222/2 Chareanprated Rd. | T. Changkarn, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amata Lanna 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amata Lanna Chiangmai, a place rich in the art from the ancient kingdom of Lanna. The traditional buildings are designed with teakwood to reflect the beauty of the Lanna culture. Amata Lanna's courtyard and 12 uniquely designed antique suites provide an intimate and cozy atmosphere which transports you back to a time of the flourishing cultural heritage. The boutique hotel is situated in the heart of Chiangmai, the capital of ancient Lanna. It is only 10 minutes from the airport and in the walking distance to many tourist attractions, i.e. the night market, the Mae Ping River, and the ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Amata Lanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing