We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend it”
Review of Maninarakorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maninarakorn Hotel
Ranked #156 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Would recommend it”
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I stayed at Maninarakorn Hotel with a friend during our trip to Chiang Mai. Since it was part of our package tour, I don't exactly know how much the room cost, but for the price of the package, I could say that it is reasonable for the quality we got. The room was very modern and has a little sitting area which I though was nice. Great location, near the famous night market. The staff were so helpful that we can't complain. If there's anything at all, I would say the beds weren't all that comfortable comparing to those big chain hotels like the Hilton or Marriott. All in all, I would still recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    258
    166
    69
    47
See reviews for
86
237
76
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

This hotel is great my only problems with it are that it was a bit further away from certain areas of he Chiang Mai where I could do shopping and the really nice restaurants. The hotel also has two sections, I'll call it the old section and the new section. The old section is where we were booked into, it isn't connected to the hotel and reminded me of old school apartments from the 70's ..... definitely not class but would have done an average traveler not planning on ever being in the room just fine. We were moved to a suite after asking for something in the actual hotel building. The room we had was a significant upgrade for just a few extra pounds. The hotel itself is pretty good very satisfied after being put in the new section and not the old section of the hotel.
The pool is not that great but it's secluded and comfortable. Not really a gym in there, but the overall hotel was a good experience. I'm sure for a few more pounds a night there might have been a few hotels closer to areas of town that were nicer but it was just fine.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattaya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

found everything very good. seems that air asia staff use this hotel, so i think they happy then i am too. would recommend this to anyone wishing to have a problem free stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sootymilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

This was my first time in Chiang Mai. I needed to stay in a hotel my first night before moving to a guesthouse. I found this hotel to meet my needs. It was clean, convenient, and in a great location. Night bazaar is within walking distance! My only two complaints are a weak internet signal in my room (201B) and a rather hard bed. Staff was wonderful!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azboy703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

First and foremost - DO NOT stay in the "deluxe terrace" rooms. They are old, dirty, dark, dank and smelly - mine overlooked a aromatic open sewer. They are on the second story in the ring around the main hotel in the pictures. I think they may have been apartments at one time. The furniture in them is of poor quality. The bathroom has a step down and low mantle so that those of us over 5ft 10" (178cm) get to enjoy cracking our skulls on the cinderblock. There is no closet, just a weird open area with a bar under a slanted part of the bedroom (I assume there is a set of stairs on the outside?).

Gee, for some reason they do not bother to show you photos of these wonderful rooms, but instead let you think the "deluxe terrace" rooms look just like the "deluxe room" inside the main part of the hotel.

Once I complained they changed my reservation to a deluxe room inside the main hotel, and charged me the upgrade fee.

The deluxe room inside the hotel was just like the one in the photo, +10 years of use! The hotel in general just seems worn out. FYI, the pool was: small, murky, cold.

And the staff. Ah, what to say about them. Unhelpful to the point of inept comes to mind. After being bait-and-switched into the upgrade I asked the people at the front desk about the best way to get to Wat Doi Suthep, y'know, the most famous attraction in the whole region. They acted like they had never heard of the place and had no clue of the best way to get there except to suggest the song taew that just happened to be sitting directly outside the hotel (do you want to guess how much more he wanted than I actually ended up paying?).

The only saving grace for this dung heap is the location. It is fairly near the areas of interest. But now that I know how easy it is to get around Chiang Mai, if/when I visit again I will stay anywhere in Old Town or West of the river. Walking around in the area is no problem (note, I am a healthy guy that enjoys walking).

The breakfast was pretty good and the wait staff very pleasant. (Just so you all know that I can give positive comments if they are warranted.)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kel3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

The hotel is located in a very central area. You can get to most of the tourist spots just walking (depending on the temperature) and you can find good restaurants around. There is also a shopping center for computer stuff around.

The lobby is tastefully decorated and the staff is amazing. They are always ready to help.
The room was large and clean, fully equipped. The only thing that was missing was a hang to put my beach short drying (after some time in the pool).
The internet worked fine and the computers on the lobby are an extra help (i have used them to empty my SD memory card).
The pool is on the main building, but some rooms are not. For me it was not a problem at all.

Overall my stay was pretty good and I recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I have stayed in many hotels in the centre of Chiang Mai and this is one of my favourites. It's in a fantastic location, situated close to both the old city and the night market. The hotels decor is lovely, very clean and modern with all the amenities one could ask for.

The pool is also lovely although there is a lack of beds but then there never seemed to be that many people wishing to lounge around there anyway. The sun does go off the pool area after lunchtime which is great for people that want to be in the shade or for children, for my however, I like to sunbathe, so I relaxed around the pool in the morning then went out and about in the afternoon, therefore this caused no real problem for me.

The staff are all very welcoming and always happy to help.

I found the aircon unit outside my room to be fairly noisy in the night time. Unfortunately for me it was my neighbours unit that was causing the noise and therefore I couldn't do anything about it. In the morning I explained the problem to reception and they moved me to another room right away which was much quieter. They were most helpful and very apologetic. We had 3 other rooms in the hotel and there was no problem with noise in any of them!!

Breakfast was lovely!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittii_lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#86 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#228 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#188 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#116 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Hotel M Chiang Mai
#70 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#107 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maninarakorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maninarakorn Hotel

Property: Maninarakorn Hotel
Address: 99 Sridonchai Road,Changklan Road | Changklan Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maninarakorn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maninarakorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maninarakorn Hotel Chiang Mai
Maninarakorn Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing