We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room in wing of hotel was terrible”
Review of Maninarakorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maninarakorn Hotel
Ranked #148 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Room in wing of hotel was terrible”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I want to preface this by saying that I think the rooms in the main hotel were way better then the rooms where we were, this review is only for the out building where we were. The hotel lobby seemed really nice and we were excited when we first arrived. We had booked this hotel based on images that must have been from the main building rooms. Our room was nothing like it had been portrayed and was very old and outdated. The bed was so squeaky and hard I literally couldn't sleep all night, and I'm not really that picky on beds. I also saw a few red ants in the bed and woke up with bug bites. We had booked and paid for three nights but couldn't handle more then one in the terrible bed so we switched hotels.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kianamccrackin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    264
    175
    70
    48
See reviews for
88
246
82
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed at the Maninarakorn in November 2013, booked a room in the 'residence' rather than the tower block as I prefer the seperate lounge area.
Room consists of a small sitting room with sofa coffee table TV fridge etcwith tea and coffee making facilities, a bedroom large enough for 2 people with a good sized bed, both rooms have their own A/C units which worked fine. Bathroom is off a short corridor between these 2 rooms and is a 'wet room'.
Breakfast was a buffet with a good selection of western and Thai food as well as plenty of fruit and breads.
Pool is quite narrow but long enough to swim in (although quite cold). There is a Jaccuzzi as well but I have visited this hotel over the last 4 years and have yet to visit when this is working, likewise the saunas. For some reason the management have now decided to open the restaurant out onto the pool terrace which doesn't really work as you have people sitting eating their lunch at a table very close to others trying to 'catch a few rays' or swim, not really ideal for either group.
I have always found the staff at the hotel friendly and helpful and this visit was no exception.
Location mid way between the old city and night market is great and as the Hotel is set back in a deep courtyard there is no road noise to disturb you.
All in all good value for money and I will be visiting again.

Room Tip: Modern rooms use the tower block, seperate lounge and bedroom use the residence
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We chose this hotel at the last minute and were very pleased with our choice.

The room was huge – a separate living room and bedroom, complete with fridge and microwave, which made it feel more like an appartment than a hotel room. The furniture and the décor are slightly run down, but nothing that a lick of paint wouldn't cure. There were nice touches in the room, such as local pictures on the walls which made it feel welcoming.

We chose the hotel as it had a pool. The pool itself is located outside the restaurant, so at breakfast you can watch people swimming past! It is only a small pool, with about 8 seats around and so sometimes it was hard to get a seat by the pool. The pool was cold (it is in the shade) but very refreshing! It is worth using the pool in the morning to get some sun.

The breakfast was of a very good standard, with lots of fresh fruit, cereals, curries and pastries.

The location of the hotel is its one drawback – it is slightly further from the sites than some of the others. It is still within in walking distance, but in hot weather, you really notice it! Good location for the night market at least.

The best thing about this hotel though is the staff – they were incredibly helpful. We needed to find out some information about a running race happening in the local area, and the reception staff rang the man we needed to speak to and found out all the information we needed and even ordered a taxi for us to ensure we got the race on time.

All in all, a really great hotel for the price – I would definitely recommend staying there!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardwkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had read the reviews and decided to book rooms in the main hotel which were a bit pricier but had nothing to complain about at all, nice large room with all mod cons, tea and coffee, fridge and usual stuff. Comfy bed and and very good breakfast. Nice touch with the free drink from the coffee shop each day of your stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel is completely average. The food is OK, the rooms are OK. There isn't anything that I would say was exceptionally good or exceptionally bad.

I would agree with the other reviews - stay in the main hotel not the wings. We stayed in the wing for the first two nights and it was pretty grim. We swiftly moved to a room in the main hotel for only 250B more per night and it was worth it. We went from bad to average.

Don't bother using the pool, it's freezing, full of chemicals and very small. The gym also leaves a lot to be desired.

The service is pretty bad. The staff don't speak very good English and it's so much effort trying to explain things to them we gave up trying to complain about our dripping aircon or booking a taxi.

The location is good, right in between the Night Bazaar and the old town. The price is also very reasonable if you haggle the prices down, they're happy to negotiate.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryborough, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was our second trip to Maninarakorn. Last time we stayed at this hotel about 1 year ago we were in the old residence suite and were less than impressed by the room.
We decided to stay in the new section and had a suite room. So worth the extra dollars. Very large with lounge area and bedroom area with own safe and good sized bathroom, plus kitchenette. Very quiet and comfortable though the bed was a little on the hard side. We had a large television which swivelled between the bedroom area and the lounge area.
The breakfast room is now by the pool area and much nicer than previous. Breakfast was quite good with a good variety, bacon on the poor side often cold. The egg chef excellent.
Complimentary internet connection poor to bad. Always dropping out and very slow and log in every time which is not as easy on tablet etc.
My biggest gripe is the temperature of the hot water always just warm and the temperature in December was not so warm so needed hotter water, same as last year.
We had a buffet lunch one day for the convenience. Great value for money and very fresh and tasty!!!!!
We stayed at this hotel again for the position as it is close to both the old city and the night market. Also is just tucked off the road so no road noise. Most of the the cities attractions are within walking distance from this hotel.
Staff friendly and helpful!.

Room Tip: The new building is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed on the top floor on the residence side - there is no lift so there is a lot of stairs to get up. The room was more like an apartment in size which was good. The room was cleaned daily. On the negative wifi reception was pretty variable and as others have said the water in the shower was pretty tepid which is a major annoyance. I stayed for five nights and the hotel is equidistant from the night market and chiang Mai Central - access to the airport is pretty easy by tuk tuk or taxi. The maninarakorn is not an expensive hotel so on balance it was good value and I enjoyed staying there.

Room Tip: Others have said to avoid the residence side - I stayed there and it was good value for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.8 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#198 of 386 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
1.8 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 386 in Chiang Mai
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#155 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#51 of 386 in Chiang Mai
894 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#83 of 386 in Chiang Mai
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#75 of 386 in Chiang Mai
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maninarakorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maninarakorn Hotel

Property: Maninarakorn Hotel
Address: 99 Sridonchai Road,Changklan Road | Changklan Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maninarakorn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maninarakorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maninarakorn Hotel Chiang Mai
Maninarakorn Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing