We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and good value”
Review of Maninarakorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maninarakorn Hotel
Ranked #172 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 15 May 2010

My first trip to Chiang Mai and would love to return again. People here are more friendly as compared to Bangkok. Staff at front desk, housekeeping and restaurant are all very nice. However, as my room was situated in the main building, it is very modern , bright clean and comfy. My friends stayed at the old wing (terrace) and the rooms looked ok and spacious. But the furnitures looked antique. Overall with this rates, one cannot complain and compare with a 5 star hotel. Breakfast buffet was good too. Walking distance to the Night Bazaar and to the countless massage centres. Must try the Le Best Massage, they are professional and clean. Those who likes fast food, Starbucks, McDonalds and Burger King are nearby. I will return to Maninarakorn Hotel, should I visit Chaing Mai again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jourykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2010

Overall the Maninarakorn Hotel in the lovely Chiang Mai, was the best hotel we stayed in during our 25 days in Thailand. When I first read reviews about this hotel on Trip Advisor I was a bit concerned about the mixed opinions - so I followed advice and booked to stay in a deluxe room in the main hotel which paid off big time!!

The room was lovely :) - Clean and bright with a huge 7ft very comfortable bed and everything else you could need. Overall the hotel is well maintained with friendly staff and it is in a good location with everything nearby. Our one and only issue was the shower could have been cleaner & could have worked a bit better but this was a small issue really.

The breakfast was buffet style i.e. help yourself to whatever you want with good choice & decent food. Swimming pool was a little small but nice enough and there was free internet use in the hotel lobby - The Maninarakorn Hotel really feels like a 4 star experience and the best bit . . . All this for £28 per night - WOW

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journeywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

We stayed for Songkran and hotel was great location and convenient to go anywhere, walk to night bazaar and restaurants. If booking sightseeing there's a great travel agency across the street, I think his name was Ken. Breakfast was good and nice staff there, we really enjoyed the pool and sauna. Overall a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

The "residence" rooms are good size with living room (we stayed there our fist night since hotel was not available). There were many stairs to take (I felt bad for the guy who helped us with our luggage), and the room has more of a simple apartment feeling rather than a hotel. The rest of the nights we were at the "hotel" room which was simple and clean.

During our stay there was some law school student convention, so they were really noisy running up and down the hallways, but that's not the hotels fault.

The hotel has a free internet and wireless in the lobby which was great. The staff was always willing to help out, and they have safe boxes available right behind the reception desk. The free breakfast was really good too!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2heart2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights got a really good deal through the hotel's website we paid 1500 baht per night incl tax & breakfast (about £33) the rooms were lovely and clean and spacious. Breakfast is OK not the best we had. Front of house staff were very friendly particularly the doorman. There is also free internet. The location is very good too just a few minutes away from the night market. Went to a really great Indian restaurant at the night market - next to the Irish pub.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights, and really liked it. after reading some of the reviews on here, we stayed in the main hotel. we had a deluxe room which was really spacious with a huge bed, and spotlessley clean.

The pool was nice, but a little small, if you want to sunbathe by the pool, you have to make sure you go in the morning as the pool is shaded by the rest of the building in the afternoon. The pool was also amazingly cold, im amazed they managed to get it so cold when the air temerature was over 30 degrees! but its actually quite refreshing!

We had a massage, which was good but not great, the 'spa' was not very spa like and the spa staff were not very friendly.

the hotel is ideally located, just a short walk to thapee gate and the night bazaars.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharronAMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

As many people said, the room in "Terrace Wing" was disappointing. It doesn't look like a hotel room at all, is more like an old-fashioned concrete apartment than a hotel(And yes, they call it "Residence", and it's not worth to pay 1,200THB for it). You don't see any pictures of it on this hotel's website, I thought I was conned as I saw my room.... And the swimming pool was tiny tiny! there are only 6 sunbeds, and after 1p.m. the pool is in shadow so sunbathing is not available.. And around this hotel there's no bar or pub or anything.
But the doorman was very helpful, breakfast was fine, my room was spacious and clean, actually I had a good night sleep. but I don't think I would stay here again..

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coconutchutney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.8 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#185 of 394 in Chiang Mai
43 reviews
1.8 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 394 in Chiang Mai
688 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 394 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#90 of 394 in Chiang Mai
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#114 of 394 in Chiang Mai
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#151 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maninarakorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maninarakorn Hotel

Address: 99 Sridonchai Road,Changklan Road | Changklan Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £15 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maninarakorn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maninarakorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maninarakorn Hotel Chiang Mai
Maninarakorn Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing