We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable rooms and near of everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thapae Gate Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thapae Gate Lodge
Ranked #172 of 717 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Confortable rooms and near of everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

This place is really a great deal for cheap rooms, clean and just a few minutes by walking from Night Bazaar and Old City. The restaurant is not the best one, but you are just close to everything and the girl from the reception is really helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    51
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
6
63
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

location and rooms are quite nice, even is the water pressure is a bit weird, but its okay. My problem was that the hardest mattress in Thailand was placed in my room so I could not get much sleep because it hurts my bones so much. So if you are slim or skinny, you should go for another choice.
Service is okay but not great. the room we reserved was not available (we wanted room in the wood house but only got one in the main building as the reservation was forgotten) and the staff which does the service in the restaurant is the same as for the reception so it might be, if the Restaurant is full that you cannot check out - you need to point to the staff that you really need to catch your flight now :)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaeferchen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

Clean, quiet, reasonable location.
The water pressure seems to have a mind of it's own, the toilet when flushed sound like some body is drowning a bag of lizards.
The owner uses the place as his front room with his friends. And the staff are not so friendly, but I suppose that you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuey-dent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamphun
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Got SCAMMED here big time! Wanted to pay for monthly contract. Staff member was posing as a cashier and took the money. I demanded to have a receipt, but she tried to ignore me. When the boss lady came, she didn't give a [-], could be in it too. and the cashier just lied to my face, telling I never gave money! How shamelss can this guest house be! Disgusting!!!

And there is lot better places to stay in chiang mai, cheaper and better rooms and HONEST staff too. No reason to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Done2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

I get to know about this guesthouse through a travel guide book and also information through internet. The location was ok and the guesthouse was basic and value for money. The night market was like 7-10 mins walk from the guesthouse and shops like 7-eleven, massage, laundry etc just along hte same soi. The service was good and the owners, Mr Olaf and Ms Fong will to assist you whenever you need their help.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddyTbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

We ended up here by mistake (we wanted to go further north, to Soi 6 or Soi 8) but the tuk tuk dropped us here. Nothing worth mentioning, except that the wifi worked perfectñy and reached our room (C7 on the 2nd floor). Paid 350 THB for it (with fan). Didn't have any problems with the bars outside because it's low season, but can imagine there's probably lost of noise in high season. Wouldn't recommend it. It doesn't have a pool, but paying 100 THB/day you can go to the pool of the hotel right in front.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmhbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta/Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

This hostel on the surface is nice. I booked a standard room on the 3rd floor. Paid 350baht per night for 3 nights. The owners are German and Thai. The wife is sweet, the husband isn't. Shower/Toilet combo. Sink is outside on the balcony. This hostel is located directly across the street from Top North. The beds are tough..that's to be expected. I suggest aircon room for 100baht more.
PROS-Bright airy rooms, hot water, restaurant on site with very good food and lush garden area, cable tv in the room, GREAT LOCATION!!! Kuddos to GIL<<he's a very under appreciated worker. God bless him!
CONS-VERY SPOTTY 'FREE' INTERNET(they turn off the internet at night), the water in the sink is recycled and if you run the water long enough you'll catch some green gunk that comes out. It's hit or miss..but it happened to me when I was brushing my teeth. I thought i was seeing things. Theres no breakfast(not even light breakfast) included, so expect to pay to eat onsite.

I'd stay here again, but not extended stay. If i were German I'd definitely come back, but i'm from the states...so probably not.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goMalago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#115 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin House at Tapae
Twin House at Tapae
#150 of 807 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
R & N House
R & N House
#188 of 807 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chada House
Chada House
#208 of 807 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thailand Guest House
Thailand Guest House
#255 of 717 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#17 of 717 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapae Gate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapae Gate Lodge

Property: Thapae Gate Lodge
Address: Moonmuang Rd. Soi 2, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 717 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Thapae Gate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapae Gate Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing