We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“okay if you are older or German [ Or whever the owner is from]” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thapae Gate Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thapae Gate Lodge
Ranked #165 of 710 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“okay if you are older or German [ Or whever the owner is from]”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

The Thai staff were great and non-discriminating, but the owner runs it more like a famiky home, and unless you speak his language or are young you won't get much more thsn the odd smile out of him.

4 nigts we slept on hard beds and udes pillows that smelled like sweat, but hey for the price we didnt mind too much. Location is a little far from the busy city market, but 20-30 minutes of walking and you're there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    51
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
6
63
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

This guest house serves incredible breakfasts - we ate here every morning of our stay in Chiang Mai. Other than that, I can't really recommend it. Maybe there were different staff on duty than when other reviewers visited, because I found them incredibly inattentive. We often had to hunt them down to get service, and even then, they didn't seem that eager to help. Several of them didn't speak much/any English, which wouldn't bother me that much, except that they seemed really reluctant to go find someone else who could actually communicate with us. The rooms were fine, but smelled a bit funny. On our last night, we were awoken in the early morning by the guys next door who had brought a couple of prostitutes back to the guest house and were engaging in cacophonous coitus. The staff were obviously unhappy when I complained, but they didn't apologize or do anything about it.

Come for the breakfast, not for the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRR304007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We booked a double room for 3 nights with a fan and 1 night with AC. The rooms are decorated simply but it is nice and clean, as is the bathroom. The fan room we had was a bit dark and our toilet leaked a little (not sewage, only water) but these were minor problems. The fan rooms get a bit hot so I would recommend the AC rooms, they also let in more natural light.

The only problem is that the rooms have glass shutters and you can hear literally everything that goes on around you. Please be aware that this is not a party Guesthouse, it's very quiet and a few families stay there too. One night we were woken up for 2 guys coming back at 3am drunk, if this happens just let the staff know.

Location is very good as it's around a 10 minute walk to the gate to the Old City, but on the way there are many shops, restaurants, pharmacies, convenience stores, street food and so on. I'd also recommend the Italian Restaurant, Pum Pui, just round the corner.

The staff are friendly and will give you a map on arrival, they also offer a lot of excursions and day trips. We took the Mae Tang day trip for 1000 Baht each which was really good and included lunch, but they also offer elephant trips and transport to Laos if you're heading in that direction.

If you stay here, make sure you have the breakfasts. They are a little more expensive than other places but you will NOT be disappointed - they offer fry ups, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast with passion fruit jam, various fruit juices, coffees and teas, cakes and more.

There's also good wifi with lots of tables and chairs to lounge around on. Very comfortable and welcoming, this would be my first choice to stay in again if I head back to Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Go for AC rooms! It makes all the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Thapae Gate Lodge is in a great location. The food is delicious, and the staff is very friendly and they all speak very good English. The lounge is a great place to relax and surf the web or read a book. It's a five minute walk to Sunday walking street at Thapae gate. There is a great massage place on the same soi called Great Bamboo Massage that is really good quality, and there is a Dutchman who rents motorbikes nearby who is also friendly. I dropped the bike and he was really cool about it - haha.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

reasonable prices, good location. a little noisy from a bar next door, music kept us up for a lot of the night. however, staff is very friendly, good food, and walkable to Sunday walking street. they were also very accommodating in finding us reasonably priced tours and taxis when needed. room was great, sink was on the balcony which worked well for travelling with a friend. room was decorated nicely and had a tv, air con, and good storage space.

Room Tip: n/a only stayed in one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prophetessk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Excellent place for a great and wonderful breakfast. Amazing choices. A must for everyone to try this just for that.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AxelSchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We found the staff really friendly and helpful. The room is a decent size for the price (500THB for air con & a fan) and clean. The bathroom set up is a little weird, we dubbed it a 'Show-let' Shower which on the wall in the toliet. The sink was outside on the balcony.

The location is great, right on the edge of the Old Town, close to the Temples & restaurants. It's about a 15 minute walk from The Night Bazaar and it's easy to pick up Songthaew on the main road nearby to reach any sights that are further afield.

There is a club nearby that pumps the music out until about 4am so I'd recommend earplugs, otherwise fine if you are on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room away from the roadside may reduce the 'club' noise somewhat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CloudPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.4 mi away
A-Nine Place, Chiang Mai Boutique House
0.5 mi away
Yourhouse Guesthouse
Yourhouse Guesthouse
#173 of 710 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nonni Guesthouse
Nonni Guesthouse
#35 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
#147 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.5 mi away
M.D. House
M.D. House
#188 of 710 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#25 of 786 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapae Gate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapae Gate Lodge

Property: Thapae Gate Lodge
Address: Moonmuang Rd. Soi 2, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Thapae Gate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapae Gate Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing