We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff and facility- fantastic value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #11 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff and facility- fantastic value”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We just stayed 3 days at Rimping Village and definately will return. The staff and facility are fantastic and the short walk to the night market and restaurants makes for easy traveling without a vehicle. The rooms are not fancy- they are well maintained, clean, cool, very nice quality bedding and bed in our room.

Room Tip: Select the Deluxe room, that will get you in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiaTr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,516
    436
    69
    7
    6
See reviews for
539
948
93
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2011

After travelling through Thailand in budget hotels, we decided to treat ourselves to stay here as it was our last destination. It was well worth it.

The service here was the best I had experienced in this price range. Every time we walked past reception the staff greeted you happily and inquired about your day, genuinely interested and offered other activities or things to do.

An example of their service: on the first day they took our passports to photocopy but happened to accidently return the photocopy to us rather than keeping it. They left a note on our door explaining the mix up and requested we drop it off when able. To make up for this "terrible mistake" (which was no hassle at all for us) they offered us to use of a large airconditioned van for use for the day to tour the temples, tigers and what ever else we pleased for a 1/3 of the price. The driver took us all around the city all day and waited for us at each destination. We had the van the entire day, it was a great service and comfort.

Book all your tours/activities through the hotel they make it easy and recommend the best ones.

Area is really quaint i thought. There is a supermarket not far away, and walking to the left there are a few nice restaurants and "Love at First Bite" - go here for some lovely cakes and coffee (filled with locals) its great!

Cons: Bed is a bit hard, bathroom can get a little wet with the shower setup, location is a little out of the city but only a short walk

Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Chiang Mai

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Rimping Village is a very comfortable and Thai-style hotel. Hotel service is excellent, with nice and helpful hotel staff and room service. The food in the restaurant is delicious. I will definitely choose Rimping Village next time I go to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Service with a smile, gracious and warm people, wonderful breakfast and the best salt water pool! You will not be disappointed! Even booking a tour is not necessary when you can relax and enjoy this exotic boutique hotel. Convenient to Fah Lanna Massage and the night bazaar. I would not consider staying anywhere else in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Stay in the building adjacent to the pool for a shorter distance to the restaurant, bar, pool area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalocty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

The icing on the cake of our Chiang Mai visit was this quaint and charming little resort. The front office manager (Mr. Tommy) was waiting for us at the entrance of the train station. We were transported in style to the resort which was a 20 minute drive away.

One aspect that left a profound impact on all of us was the standard of service and personal touch by all the staff at Rimping Village. It is hard to put down in words the level of warmth and friendliness that we experienced at Rimping.

Our room tariff (THB 3200) included a complimentary breakfast. While the spread was reasonably large, the simplicity and elegance of the display of food was quite striking. They do not have too much food (quantity) on display and whatever they have is displayed on neat little plates with a net covering to keep away any fruit flies etc. The containers for keeping jam looked earthy and nice. The service, not to mention was outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toukley, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Not the usual comment you read or perhaps expect from this rated No.1 Hotel (??) but people are using YOUR comments to make choices based on them.
Yes it is a nice Hotel, but my partner and I both felt it sadly lacked any Thai ambience or feel. I will point out a few pointers for the readers, hope they help.
1. The shower head is ordinary. It was a removable one that was way to low and it could not be adjusted any higher. I am only 5"10, so any tall people you will have to either hold the shower head and shower with the other hand, or sit in the bath under the shower. It is also next to the vanity basin and there is no shower curtain, so watch your mess.
2. The Hotel is conveniently located for the night market (5-10 walk) but by day we found it is in a low key neighbourhood with no shops (coffee,cafe,money exchange,anything else you want to name) nearby.
3. Bedding is very hard
Not wanting to sound like sour grape I will say the staff are friendly and happy to help. (We all know this is customary)

Room Tip: We had Deluxe room in building next to reception. Cant honestly say its a good tip tho cause read my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matho67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during a weekend break from my volunteering programme in Bangkok. I have stayed in some beautiful hotels over the years but have to say the staff here are the most wonderful people I have ever come across - they simply can't do enough for you. They responded immediately to all my emails & provided information on all the trips & activities in Chiang Mai & arranged all the bookings in advance foe me. I have never posted a review before but felt compelled to in this instance as I am so grateful to them making my stay such a pleasure.

Room Tip: Room 421, is a corner room & much larger than some of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#12 of 375 in Chiang Mai
468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,123 reviews
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 375 in Chiang Mai
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Property: Rimping Village
Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing