We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet haven”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #12 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have just returned from a lovely four nights at Rimping Village where everything was wonderful - friendly staff, great meals and a deluxe room which was huge. We were only a short walk from the main city area, but far enough away for some peace and quiet.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Bernie and Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,191 of 2,152 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is a friendly comfortable boutique hotel in a good location. The service is TOP - we had come from the Sheraton in Bangkok and found that the service here was on par with the Sheraton for professionalism, but somehow better as it was super-friendly as well. Every guest's experience really matters to them - these are the kind of people who could run training programmes for the five star places! On top of this they go the extra mile without charging - free internet access and airport pick up for example. This place is a real bargain - even the breakfasts are included - delicious with a wide choice available.
The location is good. It is in the middle of a calm residential area, so you are not bothered by noise, but it is only five minutes walk from some nice lively restaurants on the river, and about five minutes walk from the main gate. Tuk tuks are very cheap in Chiang Mai, and they were always easily available if you did not feel like walking.
I would like to go back to Chiang Mai because there is so much to do there and in the surrounding area. I would have no hesitation about the hotel I will go to - even with a bigger budget you can't do much better than Rimping Village.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex642003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Excellent accommodation with the friendly obliging staff willing at all times to ensuring that our comfort and well being was maintained .Great meals nice cold grog.from 4 happy Australians in room 112 .

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

we stayed here for two nights. the place is excellent and very clean. relatively close to the market (about a 10 minutes walk, which we didn't mind). Service was superb.

Room Tip: get delux rooms, not near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

As soon as we arrived we were greeted by all staff and treated exceptionally. They organised everything for us; Massages, Spa Treatments, Group Tours and Private tours. Great breakfasts and nice accommodations. We truly loved our stay here and will definitely stay at Rimping Village when we return to Chaing Mai.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petroff60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We loved our stay at Rimping Village. The rooms are comfortable, the pool lovely, breakfast excellent but the biggest perk was the staff. They front desk staff is so caring and friendly. They gave us great recommendations for activities and dining.

The night market was an easy walk or a short Tuk-tuk ride.

We loved the Eagle Flight zip lining, super fun with great staff!

Only criticism is that we were charged 200 baht each way for airport/hotel transportation. Not a huge sum but we expected this to be included since we stayed 3 nights. They said we didn't qualify for this since we booked through Agoda.

Do your shopping at the night market here rather then Bangkok. The prices and quality were better.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We spent four nights in an upstairs deluxe room which was situated in the “new wing”.

The complimentary pickup and drop off was in their flashy Mercedes van. Very impressive. Although they were late for our pickup and I had to phone them.

We ate at their restaurant one night and the food was very delicious and reasonably priced – the Jungle Curry was excellent, the best we had in Thailand. Breakfast eggs were cooked to order and hot.

WIFI was good. Hotel is close walking distance to Rimping Village & supermarket for supplies. Hotel staff organised a red taxi/tuk tuk and driver for us to go to Doi Suthep one day and on another we used the same driver to go to the shopping villages/umbrella factory etc at a fair and reasonable cost. They also organised a group tour for us to Doi Inthanon. Room was quiet and we had a sunny balcony for getting things dry.

The shower which is over the bath was terrible. The shower rose was only about three feet off the ground so you had to sit in the bath to shower or shower one handed and hold the nozzle in the other. Water leaked all over side of the bath and onto the floor so we needed to create a dam wall with the face washer!

Although I was happy with the price and quiet location, I would probably consider staying closer to the night market and old city if I were to return to Chiang Mai, to save tuk tuk rides, long walks in the heat, and be closer to some attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodean63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 402 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#5 of 402 in Chiang Mai
892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#31 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £52 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing