We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is second to none!”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #11 of 382 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Service is second to none!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

If you travel to Chiang Mai this hotel is a must. It provides every bit of comfort for your journey and the service is excellent! The quality service is the foremost memory i take away from my stay at Rimping Village. Its a nice quiet area but also close to town, particularly the night markets. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the buffet breakfast is tasty and filling. Thankyou to all the staff there for making our stay pleasant and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,532
    444
    70
    7
    6
See reviews for
546
957
98
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

After reading the reports of other TA travelers we booked 4 nights at Rimping Village and were happy we did!
Although this is not a 5 star resort, we found the personal service from the staff to be at 5 star level! The word "no" was not in their vocabulary and they went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay.
The included breakfast each morning was very good and we enjoyed having coffee outside on the patio by the beautiful large tree!
We will book this hotel again on our next visit to Chiang Mai!

Joe and Nam
Las Vegas, NV

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sportsitejoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maclean, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Rimping village is in a great location, close to the night markets, cafés and restaurants, but removed enough to be quiet at night. The staff are wonderful, the rooms are just great. Breakfast is outstanding, what more can we say? Rimping is rated highly on trip advisor and deserves it. We will stay here again and again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce_and_Megan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We were picked up at the airport in a luxury Mercedes Van and taken to the hotel where we were warmly welcomed with smiling faces, cool drinks and face cloths.
Our room was quite large and the bed provided a very solid nights rest. The breakfasts are plentiful. You can get unlimited amounts of everything you like from cereal to juice to eggs to pad Thai to French toast. The breakfast is a great time to stock up for the day.
But above the nice room and great breakfasts are all of the staff. Each one went out of their way to help or make valuable suggestions. One day we hired a songtheaw and the desk called to see how everything was going and if we would be at our destinations before closing time. That is something I have never experienced in any of our world travels.
Our hats go off to Rimping village staff for friendliness, efficient service, valuable advice, care and concern and above all else, their kind and positive attitudes.
We would definitely return here and highly recommend this property to others. It is worth a 5 star if only for the tranquility and hospitable surroundings in the middle of a bustling city.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LarryStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We spent 3 nights at this little hotel. At first we thought it was pretty modest and we figured we might not be very satisfied. Were our initial impressions wrong.

First of all, the place is quite pretty and although set near a busy part of town, it was quite serene. Our room was small and a little dark, and we could have used a desk for work, but it was quiet and the bed was comfortable.

Breakfasts were included and they were very good. Each day the options changed but included fruit, juice, eggs, French toast, pancakes and an assortment of meats. My husband loved eating the sticky rice with mango while one morning, I enjoyed pad Thai! We were able to work out by the pool, which was very pleasant and comfortable.

But, the biggest surprise was the service orientation of the English speaking staff. Nothing was out of the question. Everyone always had a smile on their face. When my husband had a desire for Korean food, they did research and found us a true Korean restaurant in town! They asked about our various daily adventures. And when we said we would leave at 5:30 am for the airport, they suggested a wake up call at 5 am, and asked what they should pack for our breakfast! Other more expensive Thai hotels didn't even bother to unlock the doors so we could leave on our last morning!

This is a delightful little gem, and very reasonably priced. I may rethink my view of Thai service after this visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai,inadia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were 3 couples on our 10 day trip to Thailand .
Rimping Village was suggested to us by our travel agent .Yes the Hotel is really good in terms of service, cleanliness etc., but the rooms are'nt really anything to rave about .Location wise it is not far from the night market.Its nearer to the river and there is a quiet place to relax alongside the river & the bridge (five minutes walk from the Hotel).
We also enjoyed the zipline which the staff at the Hotel guided us.It was indeed great fun & adventure.
All in all a quiet stay and this Hotel would surely be recommended for family & elderly people.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maish-u64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado City, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our stay was very pleasant due to the never-ending efforts of the attentive staff. The grounds of the hotel are kept spotless. Our Superior room was clean, safe, and comfortable, but nothing special. The buffet breakfast was varied each day and we enjoyed eating on the outdoor patio having a nice view of the pool. Breakfast also included eggs made to order.

It was the staff's attention to their guest services which makes this hotel a stand-out. Whether they were flagging down a tuk-tuk and arranging the fare, transporting us to the airport in a timely manner in a luxury vehicle, or supplying guest towels for an outing to the elephant preserve, the hotel staff have their guests well-being in mind. Staff were well equipped to answer every question we had about the area attractions. While the room itself was very basic, I would recommend a stay at this hotel because of their high quality staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 382 in Chiang Mai
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 382 in Chiang Mai
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 382 in Chiang Mai
2,354 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 382 in Chiang Mai
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Property: Rimping Village
Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing